Settings for Minimum Pop-ups? (ProSecurity & Comodo FP)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by manfredo, Aug 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. manfredo

    manfredo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,

    What's the exact settings for ProSecurity and Comodo Firewall Pro
    so I can get as MINIMUM pop-ups as possible? I read somewhere that
    with these two you'll end up with much lesser pop-ups than the others.

    I have used "Rules Generation Wizard" (PS) and "Scan for Known
    Application" (CFP), and then train them both in "Learning Mode"
    for 2 hours (ALL my frequent appz launched), but still got quite some
    pop-ups regarding those "already recognized" app.

    This is annoying, because what I want is.. when I ALLOW, for example,
    Firefox then no pop-ups complaining about Firefox showing up no more.
    Can I do that? How to set it up on those two applications?

    Thanks in advance,
    manfredo
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Comodo Firewall has no learning mode for its Application Behavior Analysis, so either you answer the pop-ups, or disabling parts of it or the entire feature.

    As for ProSecurity, I think it does have a learning mode, try right-clicking the systray icon and look there.
     
  3. manfredo

    manfredo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the head-up.

    Sorry if I mislead by the earlier post, but I have done the Learning Mode already.
    And I've also done all the 'handshakes' for those two apps.
    The pop-ups keep coming up.

    I want to know the settings to "only-one-OK-for-one-app", is there any?

    Btw, Comodo has Learning Mode in "Component Monitor" tab.

    Thanks,
    manfredo
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    How long? Run it longer.
    For Comodo, disable its Application Behavior Analysis and set the alert frequency to Very Low.
    Correct, but its Application Behavior Analysis doesnt have learning mode.
     
  5. manfredo

    manfredo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Hi again, WSFuser.

    I run it only for 2 hours, but I think it covers all apps I can get.
    One thing, do I need to run Learning Mode when I'm connected
    to the Internet? Wouldn't it make my system vulnerable then?

    Thanks for the Comodo tips :)

    manfredo
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Run learning mode, and use your computer as you normally would (including web surfing) and maybe reboot a couple times. After several hours or maybe a day then turn off learning mode.

    Also if you dont like many pop-ups, maybe you should consider a different HIPS like Cyberhawk/Threatfire or a sandbox like DefenceWall.
     
  7. manfredo

    manfredo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks again WSFuser, for the nice inputs.
    I ended up disable the Network protection by ProSecurity.
    It helps, since Comodo is already there for this task.

    manfredo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.