Setting up Scanning in Getright

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by ThaDraGun, Dec 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Im using NOD 2.5 and getright pro 6.1 on WinXP Pro with Service Pack 2

    What are the proper settings to have NOD automatically scan a file once it is done downloading?? I have it set up as when done: "C:\Program Files\ESET\nod32.exe"

    The only problem with this is that it opens up the NOD scan twice. Both at the same time.. and so it scans the file twice.

    is there some kind of command or something I need to enter in aswell?


    >>> I just updated to NOD version 2.7 and that didnt help any either. :(
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2006
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    my guess is that you would need to enter some parameters (see here), but i dont know where u would enter them. getright only has one location bar for the AV executable; theres no separate one for additional commands.

    i wouldnt worry about it though. nod32 will scan your downloads.
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    This should do the trick:

    C:\Program Files\ESET\nod32.exe

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Proactive Services

    Proactive Services Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Petersfield, Hampshire, UK
    I use the following:
    "C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32.exe" /selfcheck+ /list+ /scroll+ /quit- /pattern+ /heur+ /scanfile+ /scanboot- /scanmbr- /scanmem- /arch+ /sfx+ /pack+ /mailbox- /adware /unsafe /ah /prompt /all
     
  5. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    For GetRight I use
    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32.exe" "/config=GetRight" /scheduled /break- /scanmbr- /scanboot- /scanmem-
    and have an on-demand profile called 'GetRight' that I configure as it pleases me.

    Using this method the scan is almost instant even on quite large files and when set for heavy scanning.

    Cheers :)
     
  6. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    Re "scanning twice":-I think it may be an idiosyncrasy with the latest version of GetRight,Ive just updated to the latest version(released Dec 9th I think)and it does the same thing,two scan windows,with Kav,it didn't before I updated!
     
  7. Fubie

    Fubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Rogersville, MO, USA
    It is a bug in Getright and not just with NOD. Apparently it was a snafu in the code for calling any AV program. Read http://getright.invisionzone.com/index.php?showtopic=958 to find out more about it. But to cut to the chase the next release of Getright should have a fix in place.
     
  8. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I downloaded an update for Getright about a week ago. The problem is fixed now. Not sure what version I have now I think it's GetRight 6.1+
     
  9. profhsg

    profhsg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    I'm still having the problem, so I've switched to another download program till they fix it. BTW, the latest version on the Getright web site has the program dated Dec. 9, 2006 which is before the problem was discovered.

    One more thing, NOD32 user. If you're invoking your Get Right profile via the command that comes after the NOD32 executable, do you need all those command line switches that follow?

    Thanks.
     
  10. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    This is the update I got for Getright 6.1. It's not a full installer, it just updates the files.

    http://www.get-right.com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2007
  11. Fubie

    Fubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Rogersville, MO, USA
    Go to this page on the Getright forums to download the executable patch for either the standard Getright or Getright Pro.
     
  12. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    I use the extra switches in the command line to specify any mandatory configuration for the task - command line takes priority over the profile.

    Cheers :)
     
  13. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Just wondering.. is there any command so that the NOD window will automatically close if there are no viruses? Having to hit Quit everytime is kinda annoying.
     
  14. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Using /quit+ will make the On-Demand Scanner close when completed, see here or check the help file.

    Also using the profile method I posted above it automatically closes.

    Cheers :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.