setting up pfSense on wireless 7 laptop

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Palancar, Feb 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Palancar

Palancar Registered Member

I realize that pfsense is really designed for dedicated hardware with multiple nics, etc... Also, I am a newbie with pfsense. If I can work this through I will.

History: I am trying to use pfsense in a VirtualBox VM with the intention of removing all connectivity from the windows 7 host once pfsense is running properly. Then if successful I will employ linux VM's that will be running and connecting through pfsense's connectivity. Why? We started a project to see if we can use TrueCrypt with a 7 hidden OS running. However; we want to remove 7's ability to communicate with the outside world. 7 will only host the VM's so that we can utilize the hidden OS feature. My final piece will be to move the hidden OS (circumventing code restrictions) to a non traditional position on the hard drive to further conceal its existence. That is the goal anyway. Please limit our discussion on this thread to PFSENSE. The other thread running can still deal with any non-Pfsense particulars.

I have Pfsense 2.0.3 installed (VirtualBox VM) but NOT configured past console view. It uses less resources than the latest version. It loads and finds wan and lan. I defined/changed lan to 192.168.1.15 and wan is 10.0.XXX (DHCP). When I start pfsense with my vpn tunnel and the 7 host OS fully connected it finds wan and lan as shown above. In console view I can select 13 - upgrade from console and it finds the files and will start to download them so it is seeing the internet at this point. I stopped the upgrade and only briefly selected that option to investigate if there was a connection.

I may be going about this all wrong. When I try and start pfsense with my internet connection down it hangs at NTP client time. That is common until I do some editing according to a few posts that I have read.