setting up a virtual network

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by kensaundm31, Oct 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kensaundm31

    kensaundm31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    Hi,

    I have invested in study materials for Server2003 and i thought it would be a good idea to setup a network, so i could learn by doing.

    Is this possible?

    What is the best virtual host software, vmware, hyper-v?
     
  2. kensaundm31

    kensaundm31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    Well i installed vmware and installed MS Server 2003 on a virtual machine.

    I'm wondering now whether you can create virtual clients, and seperate machines for dns, dhcp for the 2003 sever within vmware.
     
  3. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    A nice way to test this is to get vmWare ESX. If memory serves, it was free for a time, might be still.

    This method allows you to host more than one virtual machine on a computer. You manage the vm's from a console. Using this method, you can host say 3 machines, play with it more indepth than putting an OS on a box then putting vmWare on it. This is the avenue I would look at if I were you.

    You might be able to find a trial version of GSX as well. Been a few years since I messed with this stuff, so the versions might be much different now, but the premise likely remains the same.

    Sul.
     
  4. kensaundm31

    kensaundm31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    Thanks Sully. I'll have a look at the esx version.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.