Service pack 2! Are you having problem's with it?

Discussion in 'polls' started by NICK ADSL UK, Aug 28, 2004.

?

Have you had any problem's installing service pack 2?

  1. YES

    19 vote(s)
    15.4%
  2. NO

    97 vote(s)
    78.9%
  3. I'M NOT SURE

    7 vote(s)
    5.7%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Service pack 2! Are you having problem's with it?

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hi friends :)
    Would all of you who have installed the service pack 2 please indicate in this poll if you have had any problem's and also any SPECIFIC SOFTWARE that is not working with it. Many thanks
    __________________
     
  2. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I've had no problems with SP2, and all my programs are working fine.
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    The only firm thing I've seen on my PC's is that WEP on the wireless branch of my LAN is no longer working. Hardware in question is Netgear HE102 AP and HA311 adapters. Native drivers date from 2002. Have tried both the Netgear and native Windows Wireless Zero configurators. Neither work - get association with the AP, but cannot communicate. System runs fine as an open/WEP disabled system. Still waiting on action from Netgear (initial response was nothing will be done). Have seen a few other reports related to wireless issues, although it definitely does seem hit and miss on this. In my case, it's two PC's, same config, both display the problem.

    Blue
     
  4. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    2 minor things so far a Dr Watson comes up..postmortum lol...what a name? anyhow i figured it was due to an recent application i installed Tweak app !! so i got rid of it and of went Dr Watson..thankgod !! ..I hear other ppl right click on there explorer folders and he pops up ?? havnt had that yet?...Also ... the other thing bugging me the most is My msn messenger on reboots at times sets it back to default Font and a box with saving chat?... so that's a bit anoying but nothing major here yet?...TOUCH WOOD! o_O :D
     
  5. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The mi2g Intelligence Unit has said that hundreds of small, medium and large corporations and academic institutions as well as government departments that have installed the SP2 update on Windows XP machines either directly or within restricted test environments have been reporting problems with their security software suites

    http://m2.com/m2\m2web.nsf/pv/85256...792E?OpenDocument&PubWrapper=Telecomworldwire
     
  6. nullend_vod

    nullend_vod Guest

    im having problems installing it on my acer ferrari 3200 laptop :( for some reason when it is in the "preparing to install" phase, it just ends with the message "failed to install service pack 2"... anyone with similar problems?
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,738
    Location:
    Texas
    Not yet anyway.
     
  8. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    My school has not applied SP2 yet, most probably because my school is using a anti-virus program that is incompatible with SP2. That anti-virus program is Mcafee Viruscan Enterprise 7.0
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
  10. dog

    dog Guest

    The install of Sp2 went smooth for me. The only hicup was that it knocked out my NIC card and internal ADSL modem ... the issue was resolved by reinstalling those drivers. ;)

    I haven't experienced any software conflicts ... except Norton Speed Disk ( and I'm not sure it is related to Sp2 in anyway.)

    Installation of Sp2 is along process ... roughly an hour (w/ all previous patches), but it was rather painless. ;)

    dog - *puppy*
     
  11. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    I have installed service pack 2 about 4 days ago and all progerammes as well as my system are running very well and stable at the moment on my xp pro system. :D :D
    I would just like to say about outpost pro 2.1 and the blue screen of death, I for one have not seen this issue with outpost and service pack 2, both of them seem to run very well together on my system. :D

    Your friend

    THE MUL
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    When I installed sp2 I already knew that my version of nero ultra 6 wouldn't work so I can't count that. I had to reinstall sp2 due to a screw up by me. I had processguard on and it stopped some drivers from installing so I turned it off did a restore to before sp2 and reinstalled and it now works flawlessly.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2004
  13. Marja

    Marja Honestly, I'm not a bot!!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    In the Vast Fields of My Mind
    So, I guess it's OK to put it on then! I am going to wait til my CD gets here so I don't mess anything up.

    Are you using the default firewall too? I thought that messed with other security apps?

    Marja
     
  14. a_problem

    a_problem Guest

    Attempted to install SP2 on top of SP1 using the Microsoft SP2 disc. After about 10 min backing data to the hard drive, I got a message saying that the program was UNABLE TO READ FROM OR WRITE TO THE DATABASE.
     
  15. nod32_9

    nod32_9 Guest

    Find another PC. Search for edb.log (about 1MB). Copy it to a floppy and put edb.log in C:\WINDOWS\security. This will overwrite your existing data. Reboot and reload SP2.
     
  16. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Until now, don't...
     
  17. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    No problems installing over up-to-date SP1 (from the CD, which arrived this past Friday).

    So far no visible after-effect problems. One program (Graphics Workshop Pro) mysteriously started crashing last night when performing certain operations, even after fresh reboots. I know it uses memory in oddball ways sometimes, so I just chalked that up to the new execution-control security thing in SP2. But it was just as mysteriously back to normal today.
     
  18. Cyber Surfer

    Cyber Surfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    So far I have upgraded three computers to Service Pack 2 with no problems. Could it be that Microsoft has a winner this time? :rolleyes:
     
  19. RJ100

    RJ100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    So far so good with SP2. No conflicts to report.

    Last month I was a little stressed as to how SP2 was going to mingle
    with Panda AV/firewall. No issues at all. In the security centre it even
    tells you that your current configuration is alive and well.

    I also thought I'd see a major strain on the memory usage but that hasn't
    been the case at all. *puppy*

    Btw, I ordered the free CD from M$ and the formatted letter said
    please allow 4 - 6 weeks for delivery. Well it landed on my doorstep
    in less that a week. :eek: Scarrrry Stuff :)

    Take care
     
  20. mr burns

    mr burns Guest

    since sp2 install, my start-up and shut down speeds are horrific. it takes so much longer. also on one or two occasions, after my desktop appears, the pc freezes.
    i'm not too impressed so far.
     
  21. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    From what we've been hearing so far, it sounds like about a week, give or take, is typical delivery time. Might be different, of course, for users in more exotic or remote locations -- how's the guys in Antarctica doing? ;)
     
  22. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :eek: pure evill i tell you pure evill satan made it im convinced its evill need exorcisim
     
  23. smiddy

    smiddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    aww god not service pack 2 When i first installed everything was fine except my version of styles xp wouldnt work anymore and i cant update it without re subscibing it also loves to eat all my ram and Destroy perfomance

    Smiddy :cool:
     
  24. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Install failed twice on one of my PC's last night. I give up. :mad: Received error message to the effect that "...could not find file".
     
  25. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Usually you can click ignore or something to that effect, and it will go straight past it, I had one machine do the same with about 10 files, it runs perfectly with SP2...

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.