Seriously? Secure Zone Full but can't access it now

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cdldt, Jul 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cdldt

    cdldt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    I'm running True Image 2009. During my daily backup last night, my Secure Zone ran out of space. No problem I thought, I'll just go in and manually delete some backups. Except I can't access the Secure Zone at all - there isn't even a tab in "Manage and Restore".

    Is there any way to access the backups stored in the Secure Zone, so that I can delete the ones I want to, or am I just crazy for wanting to do such a thing.
     
  2. cdldt

    cdldt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Great. I can now see the Secure Zone, yet instead of seeing 3 months worth of backups, I instead see 3 random files called "File archive". The Secure Zone is still being shown as full, but it's anyone's guess as to whether or not it actually contains any backups. I click on Browse for backup, and after a couple of minutes of hanging it eventually opens, and doesn't list my backups, so I suppose they're gone.

    Thanks Acronis, your program has failed to achieve even it's most basic function - RELIABLY BACKUP MY COMPUTER.

    It's beyond belief just how broken True Image 2009 is. I suppose it will be fixed in True Image 2010. Then the bugs that you introduce there will be fixed in True Image 2011. It never ends. Why don't you just FIX the bugs for your paying customers instead of expecting them to cough up more dough every year for an even more broken version. Sorry for the rant, but I'm sick of this crap with TI. What the hell have Acronis done to this once great backup solution?

    Edit: Well, it looks like the backups are still there, but they've lost their name and are just called "Disk archive(x)". I guess I'll have to delete every backup now.

    Edit2: After deleting every backup, everything seems to be working again.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2009
  3. jrnuke

    jrnuke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Russia
    I always wondered why one will use Secure Zone? It's a simple partition with hidden status, it won't "secure" anything. Only worth using if you don't have a DVD drive and use Startup manager instead of bootable media.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cdldt,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image Home 2009!

    In the latest builds of Acronis True Image Home 2009 the Acronis Secure Zone is no longer hidden from the user.

    Starting from Acronis True Image Home 2009 Build 9788 or higher (US Edition only) Acronis Secure Zone can be browsed through Windows Explorer.

    The following operations can be done with the backup archives in Acronis Secure Zone when browsing it through Windows Explorer:
    - Mount
    - Restore
    - Validate
    - Update
    - Remove

    (!) Acronis Secure Zone is synced in Windows Explorer only when Acronis True Image Home 2009 is started. Thus, there can be discrepancy with the real situation. For example, if you delete Acronis Secure Zone, its icon will stay in Windows Explorer until Acronis True Image Home 2009 is started.

    If there is Acronis Secure Zone created with Acronis True Image Home 2009 Build 9709 or lower, it will become available in Windows Explorer after updating to Acronis True Image Home 2009 Build 9788 or higher.

    Thank you.
    Daniel Pustovoy
     
  5. cdldt

    cdldt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    What about UK customers (such as myself) who only have access to build 9770? Do we, also as paying customers, get access to updates anymore? I can manually type in the URL for the 9796_s_en update, but will this work with a UK key or not? And what is the difference?

    Edit: I downloaded build 9796 by guessing the URL and installed it without trouble.

    I wanted to use Secure Zone simply because it's "tidier". I only want my backups to be seen when I need them, I only want to see True Image when I need it - the rest of the time I want it to stay in the background out of the way. Am I right in thinking that Secure Zone is simply broken and more trouble than it's worth? It seems that most of my issues are a result of Secure Zone.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.