Serious problem with Disk Directors Suite 10

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by GRiT2005, Apr 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GRiT2005

GRiT2005 Registered Member

I am new to using Disk Directors Suite 10 i only purchased it a couple of weeks ago, there are three PC's in my home one of which has a RAID 0 array. After purchasing this product i tried to change my Drive letter assignments on my RAID array, as my Windows volume had ended up as D:\.

This happened after i had a problem with a dual Windows boot of XP Home and X64 Edition, where Home had to be clean installed. Apart from the headaches of a now unbootable x64 Edition, my Home XP install changed the drive letter assignments placing x64 Edition as C:\ it's self as D:\.

Anyway when i tried use Disk Directors Suite 10 to change the drive letter assignments (something Windows Disk Management would not let me do), i got an error saying

"GetDriveLayout: CreateFile fail !
    Access is Denied"

Now i know i should have paid proper attention to this warning, but while playing around with it somehow i selected to commit the changes on exiting the program. This left my system dead on the next reboot, Windows XP Home would start booting get almost as far as the Login and then hang!
    I tried booting to the Media Builder Disk i had created to try and change the drive letter assignments back but it seemed that they had not been changed? In the end i had to just wipe my system lose my data, and bought Ghost to make sure it does not happen again. As this is my first experience of anything outside of Disk Management my confidence in this product is now very shaky, is this sort of thing common, and does this product work properly with RAID 0? And if anyone knows why did this happen?

2. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello GRiT2005,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.