serious bug found in ATI2009 Rescue Disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by superdoug3, Jul 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. superdoug3

    superdoug3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Posts:
    33
    the Rescue Disk CD for Acronis Home 2009 has a serious bug in it.
    When Acronis Home 2009 posts a full disk backup to a partition (inside of a folder) the Rescue Disk CD thinks that the backup file tib is in a different partition. see accompagning 3 txt files

    A second bug with ATI2009 Home Rescue Disk, is only found with VISTA 32 Home Premium edition. I have a partition 3 levels down inside of a folder and ATI2009 Home rescue disk has limited vision, it can only see 2 levels down. Again see the 3 txt files attached.

    NOTE: this bug does NOT appear on Acronis Back Up and Recover WorkStation Rescue Disk.
    Unfortuneately the 2 Rescue Disks are not interchanable, i.e. a TIB file created by ATI2009 Home can not be rescued by Acronis Back Up and Recover Workstation Rescue Disk.

    Unfortunatly, if I can not be happy with the ATI2009 Rescue Disk, I will have to make do for now, until the bug is fixed, see how Acronis Back Up and Recover Workstation Rescue Disk is programmed
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 12, 2009
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Please clarify what you mean by:
    1. ".. full disk backup to a partition (inside of a folder)"
    2. "..have a partition 3 levels down inside of a folder"

    From what I know, a partition has to do with the physical disk division .. folders do not come into play here. Therefore you cannot have one "inside a folder".
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have not tested TI with mounted partitions, but I would be surprised if TI's Full Mode version (which is is Linux-based) would even see the link.

    It doesn't surprise me that TI sees the image on a different partition as long as the "different" partition is the one that was mounted in Windows. If that's where TI sees the image, then it's where it should be.

    I'm not understanding this. Are you saying that a Vista created NTFS partition can be seen down only two levels while one with XP (?) can be seen three levels down? You're also talking about the rescue disc, which is Linux-based. How are you determining this to be a Vista problem?

    If that's the case, then Acronis has provided support for mounted partition links.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    XP, Vista, Windows 7 and (most likely) future versions of Windows can mount a partition to an empty NTFS folder instead of using a drive letter.
     
  5. superdoug3

    superdoug3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Posts:
    33
    MudCrab explained 'partitions inside of NTFS folders' try Manage > disk manager in XP Home and you will see 'partitions inside of folders' is your second choice.

    Yes ATI2009 Home Rescue disk acts differently in Vista than in XP.

    With all the issues using partitions inside of folders, I have decided to abandon this approach and just use a naming convention, not as sweet but hopefully it is workable

    Futher Acronis issues.
    I did a Backup of full disk to a partition and I want to restore, but the ATI2009 Rescue Disk tells me I need to restore to a whole hard drive, not just to partition C; I can not find help on forum or Acronis help. I have a 640 GB primary drive, I want more than 1 partition on it. I tried using Acronis 2009 Backup and Recovery Workstn 10 rescue disk, with the same limitation found, can not restore to anything less than the whole primary hard drive. What gives

    Also, when I use Explorer in Vista, the partitions with TIB files on them are no longer accessible to Vista Explorer. Tells me 'inaccessible' And after waiting for 30 minutes, now they are accessible, I can not explain the gremlins

    I am so frustrated with finding a backup software that actually works as advertised for simple needs. I have tried at least 6 different products. All I want is Ghost, but the lastest version does not work in Vista. Using Ghost Recovery disk for Ghost 14, I got my first ever blue screen of death while using XP. Something like 'dividing by xxxxxxx, your hardware is at risk, computer shut down' I have been using Ghost 2003 in XP for years and very happy, now I want to use Ghost V14 in Vista but the Rescue disk is not working.

    Just give me Ghost that works in Vista. I really like ATI2009 Home, but the Restore of Image does not work for me as well as Ghost does in XP
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2009
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Thanks ... I don't ever see myself using that. And trying to combine that with the idiosyncrasies of True Image is like an accident waiting to happen. :D .

    With True Image you have to stay simple to keep out of trouble :D

    Superdoug check into Easeus Partition Master and see if it has what you need.
     
  7. superdoug3

    superdoug3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Posts:
    33
    well dwnnrdty,
    obviously, even though I tried my best, I am no where clear in specifying my problem with ATI2009 Home software. Partitioning is handled well by Partition Magic V8 and by XP disk manager. My issue is finding backup software that work more or less like Ghost 2003, but that actually works in Vista 32 bit.
    Easeus Partition Master is only for Partition issues.
    Specifications
    1. create a full partition image file, that I can store inside of a partition on a USB drive.
    2. restore this image file to drive C and not require the whole primary drive to be 1 partition on the restore
    3. work both these operations in both XP Home and Vista 32 Home Premium
    4. include differential back up of individual files as ATI2009 Home supposedly does.

    I think that this is simple task to do, but ATI2009 Home has not been successful
     
  8. superdoug3

    superdoug3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Posts:
    33
    MY BAD;
    do to inexperience and serious Old Fart syndrome ( I am over 60 yo) I checked MBR for my restore thinking I may as well restore everything. ATI2009 Home knew enough to force me to restore whole disk. Once I unchecked MBR I was able to restore a single partition on my drive 0.
    Still testing, but SLOWLY learning to like ATI2009 Home

    My other option was a BARTPE with ImageX on it. Anyone experienced in this ?
    I was going to develop BAT files to handle the command line interface.
     
  9. superdoug3

    superdoug3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Posts:
    33
    RESOLVED, mix up on my part
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.