Serious Backdoor in Apple QuickTime Pwns Computers

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Doritoes, Aug 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Doritoes

    Doritoes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Posts:
    56
    Apple QuickTime backdoor creates code-execution peril

    Does anyone on Wilders actually use QuickTime?
     
  2. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667


    I may have it on some old computers...
     
  3. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Now, granted, I haven't used iTunes in some time. But, I believe that if you have iTunes, and you watch videos that either stream from their service or that you bought on iTunes, Quicktime is the default player. So, a lot of people have it, probably even many here.
     
  4. Soujirou

    Soujirou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    62
    I have it on my computer since I use iTunes. When I uninstalled Quicktime, iTunes refused to open, and I could not reinstall Quicktime separately. So I had to reinstall iTunes. What a hassle.
     
  5. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    No Apple software for me..! I've always used the codec pack instead.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.