Serial ATA Drives

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rclarke, Apr 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rclarke

    rclarke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I have a new Dell with a Serial ATA drive as the system drive. My question is whether Acronis supports serial drives specifically when I might need to restore the system drive.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello rclarke,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis System Restore Software.

    Could you please tell what SATA controller you use? Also you may download free trial version of Acronis True Image 8.0 from our site, create Acronis Bootable CD, boot from it and check whether you drives are recognized correctly.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. rclarke

    rclarke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    In the devices list it says Intel 82801FR which I assume is integrated into the motherboard.
     
  4. MiniMax

    MiniMax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    566
  5. Jumping

    Jumping Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    If its a new Dell it probably will work ok.

    I backedup/restored ok on a Dell Optiplex GX280 the other day.

    Still as soon as you mention any problems with Proliant DL360 its total silence....
     
  6. rclarke

    rclarke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I downloaded the trial today and created a boot CD. When I booted from the CD Acronis recognized both of my SATA drives (BTW-Norton Ghost does not).

    Based on this, I expect the rest of my testing to go smoothly.

    Ron
     
  7. VPTECH

    VPTECH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    I have all servers from the HP ML and DL lines and acronis has never had a issue with them. All we do is image from network.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello rclarke,

    I am glad to tell you that we have implemented the support of your controller into Acronis True Image (latest builds). Your test proved that everything will work fine on your system and you will be able to back up and restore your system successfully.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  9. gwilki

    gwilki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Ron

    With all respect to Ilya, it is not sufficient to use the trial version, nor to accept that TI supports your controller.

    I can create and image of my sata drive, and send it to my second sata drive. I have a controller that TI supports. However, the image is ALWAYS corrupt. I am not the only one on this list having the same problem.

    This is not a TI issue. It is a SATA controller issue. Large files do not behave when moving from one sata to another. You can check this out using a checksum utility. I suggest that you play with some large files before relying on TI to be capable of restoring your system when you need it.

    Grant
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Grant,

    I do appreciate your notice. But if there is a problem with corrupted images it is usually the hardware problem that can be prooved with the help of checksum utility as you said. Consequently, you should be eligible to change the device that is not working properly for the same that does work.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  11. gwilki

    gwilki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Hi Ilya

    First, I would like to thank you for all the time and attention you put into the issues of the users of this list. This kind of support is unfortunately not the norm in the pc world.

    As to your comment, in an ideal world, you would be right. Unfortunately, this is the real world. I've been dealing with Asus tech support for months on this issue. I have sent them comments from Seagate and SiliconImage that put the problem squarely onto the way in which Asus has integrated the SI3112A controller onto the A7N8x Deluxe motherboard. I have sent them messages from this group and from Pcbanter that show how other motherboard manufacturers have addressed the problem with BIOS updates. All for NOTHING. Asus clearly does not give a damn. They blame your software, Ghost, my cables, my drives - everything but accept responsibility for the issue.

    I thought that I had gotten around the corrupt image problem by installing an IDE drive and creating my images onto it. Doing this, the images check out ok, but I still cannot explore them. TI tells me that it cannot create the new volume.

    I've spent more hours than I can afford on this so, reluctantly, I've gone back to Ghost. It had the same corruption problem, since as I've said, it was hardware related. But, with Ghost I can verify the image, AND explore it. So, I am more comfortable that I will be able to restore from it than from the TI image that I cannot explore.

    I will continue to install the new builds of TI in the hopes that, one day TI will be able to do the job for me. In the meantime, though, I cannot count on it as my backup plan.

    Grant
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Dear Grant,

    The problem with inability to explore the image is usually not connected with the "corrupted image" problem. Let us solve it and this will let you to use Acronis True Image.

    Could you please send the description of what happens when you try to explore the image? Also please indicate in the letter whether there is a delay before you get the error message. If you don't get any response from Acronis Support Team within 48 hours please let me knwo your Acronis request # which will be sent to you in autoreply. I will find the reason for the delay.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2005
  13. gwilki

    gwilki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Hi Ilya

    I sent the question to tech support on April 30. My number is 231509. We swapped a few messages, in which they asked me to send some screen shots, and to make a registry edit. I did all that, and then sent a log file. On May 1, I rec'd a message from Michael Levchenko saying it had been turned over to the Development Team. I've heard nothing since then.

    Grant
     
  14. gwilki

    gwilki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Hi again, Ilya

    Ignore my previous message, please. Michael replied today, and sent me a registry key. I entered the key into the registry, and all is well.

    Thanks again for your help.

    Grant
     
  15. gwilki

    gwilki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Well, Ilya, I spoke to soon. The registry fix that Support sent me did allow me to explore the images. Unfortunately, it changed the drive letters on two of my drives, and made it impossible for me to see my usb jump drive at all. Because it changed drive letters, hundreds of links and shortcuts no longer worked.

    I've deleted the registry fix, and written back to support. I've heard nothing back.

    Grant
     
  16. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Are you using Windows XP? Go to Computer Management, click on Disk Management, and change the drive letters back to what they are supposed to be. Takes all of 2 minutes.
     
  17. gwilki

    gwilki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    That would be a fine idea, except every time I start up, they change back.

    The quick fix was to use a restore point before I first changed the registry.

    One other problem with the registry fix was that xp would not recognize my usb jump drive when I plugged it in. Weird.

    Support has assured me that they have gone back to the drawing board.

    grant
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Grant,

    The problem you encountered is currently being investigated by our Development Team. Michael will contact you as soon as the fix is found.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  19. gwilki

    gwilki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Thanks again, Ilya. I'll hold tight to see what they come up with.

    Grant
     
  20. djheim

    djheim Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I have an xps with Intel(R) 82801FR SATA AHCI Controller, but TI wont load the drivers for me. What did you do during the process of burning your boot disc that was "special"? Did you manually load the drivers or anything? YOur help is apprec. Thx.
     
  21. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.