self protection ?

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by LonnyRJones, Jul 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LonnyRJones

    LonnyRJones Spyware Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Posts:
    61
    Hi Peter/everyone

    I'm seeing a symptom which so far I cannot get confirmed by others
    newest version of avg anti-spy with its shield off
    If a tool (or i do so with regedit) delete the hklm\~\run key
    cpu usage spikes to 90 plus, fluctuates wildly, almost nothing can run until avgas.exe is ended
    guard.exe 53.73
    avgas.exe 28.36

    guard.exe 49.25
    avgas.exe 29.85

    guard.exe 25.76
    avgas.exe 69.70

    The reason i bring it up is because there are a couple removal tools that delete and rebuild the run key
     
  2. Blendersww

    Blendersww Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I get same results Lonny,

    Shield & auto-updater = OFF.
    Start with windows = ON.

    Killed HKLM\....\Run key & I'm maxed out on CPU.

    Leme see what happens if I disable the startup or exit avgas.exe before nuking run key.
     
  3. Blendersww

    Blendersww Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Yep.

    Had to kill avgas process to restore run key.
    Must disable its startup if you need to delete/rebuild run key.

    I have not tested on HKCU\~\run key
     
  4. LonnyRJones

    LonnyRJones Spyware Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Posts:
    61
    Thank you BlenderSww
    hey i know you (from everywhere) :)
     
  5. jwbirdsong

    jwbirdsong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Denver CO
    I am one of the other who could NOT confirm this last night.

    Apparently the crappie we were using does NOT hang out in the hklm\~\run key.
    I don't believe we has suspision of the *\run key being the issue last night.

    I now get same results when using CF or other to restore the key with AVGAS running.

    Just a FWIW post.
     
  6. NonSuch

    NonSuch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    26
    Well, this is a fine state of affairs. :mad:

    Hello, all. :D So, what's the best workaround for this?
     
  7. LonnyRJones

    LonnyRJones Spyware Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Posts:
    61
    Not a problem now that we now it
    either tools work around it or we tell users to exit Avg (or both) prior to fix's
     
  8. NonSuch

    NonSuch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    26
    Thanks, Lonny. :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.