Self-Hosting VPN - Basic Questions

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by diego898, Mar 29, 2017.

1. diego898

diego898 Registered Member

I am trying to improve my security/privacy on the internet. My "threat model" isn't necessarily the NSA/CIA, etc. I just want to make it "hard"/"annoying" for the government to unnecessarily spy on me (dont make it easy). What I would like is to not be a product while online. I don't use facebook, for example, and I use the excellent ublock origin on medium blocking mode, I have privacy bader and HTTPS Everywhere installed. My point is - I am trying, little by little.

In light of recent political developments, I am interested in a VPN. I have some basic sys admin knowledge, and so the thought of setting up my own server isn't to bad. I have been looking at streisand and algo, and after reading around, think I will be going with algo to start. In shopping around for a VPS provider, I came across the $5 showdown and conclude that right now, Linode is the best bang-for-my-buck.

Most of the advice I see is of the type: "set it up when you need it, and take it down when you're done". I am interested in using it all the time however, at school, work, home, traveling, etc. My questions are:
    • Is there a downside to using it all the time?
      • This blog post on algo has a section "streisand is no better" where they mention: "That’s a hefty footprint and it’s too complicated for any reasonable person to secure. If you set up an individual server just for yourself, you’d never know if or when an attacker compromised it."
      • I dont understand that criticism, as isn't that exactly what I will be doing with algo?
      • How do I mitigate that risk using the self-hosting approach?
    • For regular internet usage with occasional downloading, is the $5 a month plan reasonable for constant usage? Some of have said yes, some have said no, some have said yes but except to pay network overages, etc.