Seeking No HIPS FW that is IPv6-capable

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by bellgamin, Jul 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I am seeking a FW, free or non-free, that meets the following criteria:
    (a) Is IPv6- capable
    (b) Has no HIPS component
    (c) Is stand-alone (not part of a suite)
    (d) Is NOT L'n'S or Ft Knox or Comodo

    >> Does anyone know of such a FW?

    P.S. I have a sinking feeling that such a FW does not exist. :p
     
  2. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Windows Firewall in Windows 7? LOL :D
     
  3. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    I don't think it exists either. What about one where you can disable the HIPS component?
     
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    @skudo- I should have mentioned -- I'm running Win XP.

    @Scoobs- The FW+HIPS combos that I know of all provide for their HIPS-type component to be disabled. But AFAIK, their HIPS component still gets loaded & "dragged along" with the firewall component-- it just doesn't do anything.. Excess baggage. Dead weight.

    >>>Does anyone know of a FW+HIPS combination where -- if the HIPS component is disabled -- it TOTALLY doesn't get loaded?
     
  5. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    I suspected that was your thinking. Is this for Win XP?
     
  6. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
  7. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    537
    Location:
    Europa

    ZA FREE (i think a,b,c,d criteria are there).

    Rules
     
  8. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    537
    Location:
    Europa
    I think Ashampoo Firewall Free(IPV6 not sure but maybe)( (xp, 2000) is ok, but as i know, this product is not longer supported

    Rules.
     
  9. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Does it just install the "free" firewall. Or does it install ZA pro with functions disabled(but still installed)?
    For a (almost) 45MB download, if it is just the free firewall, then it is certainly bloated.


    - Stem
     
  10. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    537
    Location:
    Europa
    I don't have it installed right now, but i download the installer and extract-it, the 44 mo package contains mainly both x64 and x86 support, all the KB x64 and x86 and for xp.

    So i think it does not install the Pro features, just linked them on the main interface if you want to upgrade.

    I also checked the installer of the pro version 52.7 mo and when extracted is slightly different than the free.

    But maybe i'm totally wrongo_O

    Rules.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2011
  11. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Rules,

    Thanks for the info.
    I know, I should check myself, I will when time.

    - Stem
     
  12. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hello bellgamin,

    A good standalone packet filter is difficult to find for windows. There where a couple of projects some time ago, but they just disappeared, probably lack of interest.

    I am curious as to why you filter out the above firewalls?

    Regards,

    - Stem
     
  13. Gobbler

    Gobbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Posts:
    270
    What about Windows 7 Firewall Control? It supports Xp, has no HIPS, it is not part of a suite and is IPv6 capable.:)
     
  14. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    private firewall. but it has HIPS :(

    i recently (yesterday) started using it and starting to like it. I almost get a feeling that no HIPS/firewall is installed (in terms of performance). It feels so light on my system.

    Though, I am not sure about its anti-logging capabilities...
     
  15. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hola Stem-sensei,

    In answer to your question -- it's just a matter of personal hang-ups.

    QUESTION for You: Why do I even need IPv6? Is it here yet? Or just a thing for the distant future? Or what?
     
  16. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    No problem.
    It is here. Just some large ISPs dont want to implement (which holds things up), usual excuse is "we have plenty of IP numbers left".
    It will take quite a while for a "wake up".

    By the way, have you thought of linux re: IPtables <runs away quickly to hide>


    - Stem
     
  17. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Bill, what happened with you and PrivateFirewall? It conflicting with another app you're using?

    (I had issues with PF and Zemana in the past...and perhaps SpyShelter too (but I can't recall for certain) even with HIPS disabled.)
     
  18. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Maybe use xp firewall with ipv6 enabled
    http://www.localtech.us/ipv6_xp.htm
    and something like defencewall firewall which i gather is some sort of application firewall?
    Another option maybe is to possibly use avast internet security(regquires xp service pack 2) ,which does give you the opportunity to just install the firewall part.I know you didnt want "all the baggage" that comes along with a suite but avast is more modular than other suite options i guess.
    EDIT....
    Sorry Bellgamin...I should have checked before posting.Apparently avast firewall doesnt support ipv6
    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=79821.0
     

    Attached Files:

  19. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Me & PFW are still holding hands & strolling down Lover's Lane. Thus my *Main Image* remains PFW + an AV.

    However, I am a security addict so I like to test different set-ups, especially when interesting apps come into view.

    Lately I have become very interested in EXE Radar PRO (ERP) - an exciting new antiexecutable with a bit of behavior analysis built in. If I run ERP, that reduces the need for a HIPS. Ergo, I am setting up a *test image* with ERP + an AV, & I am seeking a stripped down FW to go with that combo.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2011
  20. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Thank you, Bill, for your reply. :cool:
    (Keep us apprised of your findings. They are always thought provoking.)
     
  21. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I read the link you provided. It's rather too convoluted for my miniscule level of expertise, but it sure gave me some exercise for my slumbering brain cells. o_O
     
  22. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Lol..
    Rather you than me ,I don't understand a word of it either ,but it looks good ;)
    ellison
     
  23. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    Zone Alarm free I believe meets the requirements..
     
  24. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Correct Zone Alarm is the only one left that I know about.
    The strange thing about Zone Alarm Free is it runs very light and smooth on some systems, but other systems it runs heavy and bloated.

    Might want to give it a try and see.

    Thanks.:D
     
  25. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    Is there a way to use IP tables on Win-XP without installing a lot of excess stuff? IPv6 is the one problem that will eventually force me away from Kerio 2.1.5.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Overkill
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    742
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.