Seeking Newbie-type instructions

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by daverose808, Mar 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. daverose808

daverose808 Registered Member

Hi.
    I am a newbie.
    I just paid for and downloaded the newest acronis true image from acronis's website and am ready to use it. but it is very confusing for someone like me.

Could someone please direct me to instructions that have been designed for newbies, where no previous knowledge is expected?

I just bought a laptop, didnt like all the bloatware preinstalled, so i reinstalled the operating system (XP MCE) from the CD that came with the machine.

Then i set up everything the way i like it. I want to create a dvd of exactly what i have now, so that at any time in the future, i can reinstall the operating system, pop in the dvd and bring me back to where i am now.

i would also like to be able to use this same dvd on my wife's laptop when it is delivered, after i reinstall its own operating system. will that be possible? or, does microsoft somehow prevent that when its a different machine?

please help!

2. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Hello Dave,

Welcome to the Acronis True Image Forum :D.

Make sure that you create an image of the whole disk, not just the C: partition, by ticking the checkbox next to the Disk Number (usually Disk 1). This will ensure that the laptop's Master Boot Record is included in the image. When the time comes to restore the image, again make sure that you select the whole disk for the restore.

Please check out <Acronis True Image 9.0 Online FAQ #27> plus this <previous reply> for details on how to save images onto DVDs.

Firstly, there would be no point in reinstalling your wife's laptop's operating system (OS). It will be overwritten with the OS, applications and data from you own laptop when you restore the image contained on the DVD(s).