Security issue

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Stephanos G., Jun 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Hosts file

    i believe spybot put an entry "127.0.0.1 babe.the-killer.bz" into your hosts file as part of its immunization.
    For some reason my internet connection looks to be connected to this address.
    Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

    • aa.gif
      aa.gif
      File size:
      6.1 KB
      Views:
      1,218
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2005
  2. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Look the spybot screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

    • a1.gif
      a1.gif
      File size:
      10.4 KB
      Views:
      1,218
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Stepanos,

    From what you are describing and since babe.the-killer.bz is the first entry of Spybot's Hosts file....it's a good possibility your Hosts file needs properly modified. Would you take a look at your Hosts file and tell me if the entry 127.0.0.1 localhost is there....and if so....is it before or after 127.0.0.1 babe.the-killer.bz

    Sample Hosts file with Spybot's first entry:
     
  4. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    127.0.0.1 localhost is not there (hosts files on spybot)
    Is it the right place (spybot) to search for it?
     
  5. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    I understand what u mean, i have to add "127.0.0.1 localhost" above the babe.the-killer.bz line. How can i do this?
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I would suggest you open that Spybot Hosts file in notepad to add the proper loopack entry into it's proper place.

    Code:
    [B]127.0.0.1  localhost[/B]
    [I]# Start of entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy
    127.0.0.1	babe.the-killer.bz
    127.0.0.1	babe.k-lined.com
    127.0.0.1	did.i-used.cc
    127.0.0.1	coolwwwsearch.com[/I]
    
    Properly formatted Hosts file:
     
  7. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
  8. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Also the hosts file is only for IE? Not and for firefox?
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I'll assume 2000 or XP since you are showing Generic Host Process :doubt:

    From the MVPS Hosts file link....Blocking Unwanted Parasites with a Hosts File

     
  10. dog

    dog Guest

    You have to disable your DNS Client, in NT Services.

    Start -> Run -> Type services.msc

    Locate DNS Client ... Stop the service ... then set it to Disable.

    ~WinXP instructions~
     
  11. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Thanks, i have disabled it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.