Security: Is XP With Protection as Secure as Linux Mint?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by chinook9, Feb 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chinook9

chinook9 Registered Member

I have been using a variety of security software for a few years now.

I just built a new XP machine which I made dual-boot with Linux Mint Helena and Windows XP. I thought when I built it I would use Linux most of the time, but I find myself using XP because I'm so comfortable with the protection I have on it. My XP protections are as follows:

1. Hardware firewall
    2. DefenseWall Firewall
    3. Panda Cloud Anti-Virus
    4. MalWareBytes Antimalware (sometimes realtime and always on demand scanning)
    4. Sandboxie for Firefox 3.6 with with WOT, NoScript,and KeyScrambler
    5. KeePass (and Roboform) for my password
    6. Separate sandbox for any financial transactions.

All of the above works well together and I feel very well protected.

With Linux Mint, I turned on the firewall, Otherwise my only protection is that malware writers spend almost all of their time exploiting Windows XP.

Am I better protected with the Windows XP setup or Linux Mint? I definitely feel more protected in XP.

2. wat0114

wat0114 Guest

Well, you've got a small army of anti-malware products to protect XP, so you're maybe, maybe not better protected with it than Mint, but at an expense of system resources. IMO, you could surf worry-free in Mint and enjoy a snappier, more responsive system.

3. ad67

ad67 Registered Member

Not really a "small army of anti-malware products", I use a similar config, and in my experience not much of a resource hit.

Hardware firewall would be applicable to any OS you were running.
    I use MalWareBytes Antimalware strictly on-demand when I am installing a new program.
    I use Avira free and I have never noticed any resource hit (must be some, but it is not noticeable.)