Security Essentials 2010 Infection

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by chris18, Aug 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chris18

chris18 Registered Member

Just recently two family members have had their laptops infected with the Security Essentials 2010 trojan.

Both are working behind a router and have basic firewall and anti-virus protection i.e free versions I believe.

Despite all my best efforts I was unable to clear the infection. I was unable to boot into safe mode or run cmd. In the end on one machine I had to do a complete reinstall of windows XP. The other machine, running Vista, is still infected as I am not in the vicinity to look at it. Neither of the users is particularly computer savvy which makes giving help over the phone very difficult. I should mention I'm not a complete novice but trojan infections isn't something I have much experience with.

On both machines the children/grandchildren had been the last users so I am assuming the most likely source of the infection could be social networking or file sharing.

There is a lot of information around about how to clear the infection manually but these all assume that it's possible to actually get into the system, not so in either case all I kept getting was the initial warning messages.

I would appreciate any help/advice to pass on as to the likely source of the infection and steps I can suggest be taken to prevent it again.

Also is there any way, other than a complete reinstall whereby the infection can be cleared if as in the remaining case it's not possible to get into the system.

Thanks in anticipation.

2. codylucas16

codylucas16 Registered Member

3. chris18

Hi, thanks for the reply.

As I said, the problem is I don't know how to bypass the infection so as to connect to the internet to download or do anything else, all I get is the rogue front screen about scanning for infections.