Security centre showing EAV when uninstalled

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by eezdva, Jul 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eezdva

    eezdva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    EAV is still showing in the security centre in vista.

    First I though it was no problem but when installing a trial of another security software it asked me to deinstall NOD32 V4 though I "removed" it. What can be done about that?
     
  2. SamSa

    SamSa Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    47
    Uninstall ESET and then do the following: (please note: some of these files/folders/drivers/ may not be there, which is OK)

    Boot into Safe mode

    1. Delete files and folder

    Folders:
    C:\Program Files\ESET
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET
    C:\ProgamData\ESET (vista)

    Registry keys:
    -HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ESET
    -HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ESET

    2. Go to Window's Services and disable ESET Services
    a. ESET Service
    b. ESET Http Server

    3. Go to Device Manager and disable drivers for ESET.

    a. In Device Manager, go to View on the menu bar and select "Show Hidden devices". This opens up "Non-Pug and Play Drivers" in devices manager .
    b. Disable "ehdrv" and "epfwtdir" drivers.

    Boot back into normal mode and download "Windows Installer CleanUp Utility:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;290301

    Run this program and make sure ESET is gone from the list.


    Cheers,

    SamSa
     
  3. eezdva

    eezdva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Aha. Thank you very much . I will try that out. I did all of them besides step 3 . Maybe that will do the trick. Thanks again. Will let you know if it worked.
     
  4. eezdva

    eezdva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Ok that didn't work either. Any other suggestions?
     
  5. SamSa

    SamSa Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    47
    Did you run the Windows Cleanup Utility?
     
  6. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Security centrum often bugs around. To 'reset' it you have to do the following..

    Open a command prompt as administrator. (in the start menu search bar, search for 'cmd' then open this with right click 'run as administrator')
    Typ the following lines in the command prompt:

    net stop winmgmt
    cd /d %windir%\system32\wbem
    ren repository repository.old
    net start winmgmt


    When this works you can remove the following folder: C:\Windows\System32\wbem\repository.old (old repository folder which we renamed with the commands)
     
  7. eezdva

    eezdva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    179

    Can I do this with Eset installed or do I need to deinstall it again :)

    And the 4 lines :


    net stop winmgmt
    cd /d %windir%\system32\wbem
    ren repository repository.old
    net start winmgmt


    Do I need to put them alltogether in the CMD ?

    Dank je :)
     
  8. eezdva

    eezdva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    179

    Ok that worked...Thank you very much. Eset is gone from the SC
     
  9. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well if you still had ESET installed it should display that you have ESET running. But I guess you uninstalled it now and nothing shows up at the SC? So thats good to hear!
     
  10. eezdva

    eezdva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Yeah, I had conflict with it installed. Hope everything works fine now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.