Security Center Reports the ESS AV is Turned Off

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Holden4th, Aug 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Holden4th

    Holden4th Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Every second day Windows Security Centre sends me a message that says "Eset Smart Security 3.0 reports that it is turned off". A quick check with ESS itself gives me a different message and that everything is OK. So what gives with this message? I'm running XPSP2 Home with Windows Firewall disabled. At a guess I'd say that ESS isn't reporting correctly to Windows Security Centre.

    Has anyone experienced similar messages?
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

  3. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Happened to me several times - mostly restarting windows fixed the problem. Mine was caused by regrun checking for bootkits at boot up, fixed now

    Ruben
     
  4. The One

    The One Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Posts:
    246
    strange.
    It really never happened here as well
     
  5. Holden4th

    Holden4th Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    The Windir fix given has a syntax error

    this is what it said on the other post

    REN %WINDIR%\SYSTEM32\WBEM\REPOSITORY %WINDIR%\SYSTEM32\WBEM\REP.OLD

    Any ideas to fix this?
     
  6. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    I usually disable the "Security Center" as it doesn't do anything else than annoy me.
     
  7. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    A syntax error? That's strange...

    Try doing the same, but through Windows GUI instead from the prompt:

    Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Services->stop the Windows Management Instrumentation service.
    goto c:\windows\system32\wbem folder, there should be a "repository" folder. Rename it as you like. Restart.
    As I said, this is the same as posted by Blackspear, but the other way 'round...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.