security center in xp

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by DavidCo, Aug 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    My xp does not detect Nod32 any more (like others here) and it does not detect other AV's either.
    Googling showed up an issue that seems to revole around framedyn.dll
    The library might be missing or the Windows Path environment variable may be at fault.
    The fixes seemed to get hit and miss (try this, then that)
    Any gurus here about to advise?
    :)
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello . This has already been discussed here
     
  3. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Yes it has been discussed but not resolved in all cases.
    What I found were links refering to SB S & D, other anti-spyware, pdf creators, printers, quicktime and AV's.
    Re-applying SP2 would reset (I think) the Path environment variable.
    But then you would have to re-apply patches that came after SP2 :eek:

    I think I will experiment with some of the tips & trick that I found, maybe:doubt:
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    What about post 13 in the link I gave you before anything else ? :D :D ;)
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    The only known solution is to reinstall Windows Service Pack 2; this is an issue with Windows, not NOD32.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Blackspear
    Yes it is an issue with windows.:)

    HiTech_boy
    I did and now I have (via my place of work, they pay yearly):cool:

    Referred to KB 319114
    My framedyn is in correct place (maybe corrupt) but my path is incorrect.
    Should be %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\wbem
    But is %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;

    Some people have found that even if the path is correct, cutting and pasting the correct path back in has helpedo_O
    Others have had the uppercase w (W) in wbem as I have and by changing case has solved their problemo_O
    The semi-colon at the end of 'my' string indicates that an application has in the past added a string and when uninstalled left the semi-colon behind.

    As far as AV's go there are several mentions of the above tips & tricks that have solved the Security Center issue.

    The above is the only reason I posted as I turned off MS notification a long time ago, being quite happy that NOD was working.:D

    In actuality I was searching for a fix for my pdf creation tool that complained about framedyn.dll being missing when I noticed the Security Center + AV comments.

    Being Windows of course it will probably have nothing to do with my problem.
     
  7. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Ta-Da
     

    Attached Files:

  8. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry I did not complete my last post, but dinner called:)
    It was framedyn, sort of, but definitely Windows.
    I would not hack about without finding a logical reason for the hacks working and being b****y minded I kept searching until I found it. Hence my o_O o_O above.

    Here is the thread - post No 4

    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=2458

    Security Centre and pdf creation now works as does 'ping'

    Perhaps this might help someone else who has been tearing their hair out like me.
    :D
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I am glad you managed to fix this problem :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.