Securezone Questions

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by nicholschris, Mar 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nicholschris

    nicholschris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    1. How can I delete an image saved to the securezone?
    2. What happens when the securezone runs out of space? Are older images overwritten? I ask because I've setup a scheduled backup and I really don't want older images overwritten.

    Thanks much!
    Chris
     
  2. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    1 - The only way is to delete/remove the Secure Zone itself.
    2 - I believe the rules on how TI deletes old images are listed in the Users Guide.
     
  3. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hi Chris,

    If you don't want to have your old images overwritten, than Secure Zone is definitely not your choice, since automatic deletion when space is required for new images is exactly its way of operating.

    I would suggest a second internal HD or an external one (that's may own order of preference) to store images, with selective copying to DVD before approaching to HD full.
     
  4. paultwang

    paultwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Since when does TI delete old images automatically in SZ ?
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    From the TI9 User Guide:

    The backups saved to Acronis Secure Zone are deleted automatically if required. Acronis True Image uses the following scheme to clean up Acronis Secure Zone:

    • If there is not enough free space in the zone to create a backup, then Acronis True Image deletes the oldest full backup with all subsequent incremental/differential backups.

    • If there is only one full backup (with subsequent incremental/differential backups) left and a full backup is in progress, then the old full backup and incremental/differential backups are deleted.

    • Otherwise, (only one full backup left, and an incremental/differential backup is in progress) you will get a message about space error. In that case you will have to either re-create the full backup or increase the Acronis Secure Zone.

    I don't know if previous versions behaved this way.
     
  6. paultwang

    paultwang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    That's exactly my backup scheme. One full backup and the rest are incrementals. No wonder it doesn't automatically delete old images.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.