SecureAPlus Essentials & Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bellgamin, Oct 21, 2021.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,546
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Far, far too many pop ups for me. I had SA+ set to Automatic mode and I was regularly annoyed by pop ups while installing (or uninstalling) certain programs. I even set it to allow all until system restart and STILL got annoying pop ups.

    At least with VoodooShield I could set it to Install mode, or even shut it down if and or when I wanted.

    Far too annoying!!

    Edit: No thanks, I do not want any support from the dev's, thanks. This program is just not for me.
     
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,613
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Reference: @moredhelfinland comment #12 above, concerning 2 false positives, at HERE. That post revealed a possible discrepency between two AVs of the 10 AVs used by SA+, versus those same two AVs on the VirusTotal website. I didn't have a definite answer for that issue so I asked about it on SA+'s support forum. Here is a quote of my post at that forum...
    Today, that issue was replied to by the SA+ support forum's user name "Clem", a SecureAPlus Helpdesk Engineer. You can read Clem's exact reply at HERE. I strongly urge you to read Clem's reply in his own words.

    IMO, Clem's use of words like "could be" & "may not be" cause his reply to seem a tiny bit conjectural. If so, it's easy to understand why. Namely, the support technicians at SA+ obviously know a LOT about their own AV engines, frequency of signature updates, scanning methodology, etc. However, it seems unlikely that they would have access to the same depth of information concerning the scanning factors & practices being followed at VT.

    For what it's worth, here is my own personal understanding of Clem's reply:

    The reason why two antiviruses (AVS) at SA+ gave different scan results than the same two AVs on Virus Total (VT) could be that VT may not be using the same engines as those that are used by SA+.

    SA+'s AV engine's "VMs" (Virtual Machines ??) do get the latest signature databases. However, the scanning of the files sent to SA+'s VMs (Virtual Machines ??), by users of SA+, will always lag behind. Reason: a lot of users send files for scanning so there are plenty of files to scan and it takes our servers time to scan them.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2021
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,546
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I can't view that topic without logging in and tonight I just do not feel like it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2021
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,613
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I get where you're coming from, Krusty. I'm in the same boat. I'm up waaay past my bedtime here in Hawaii.

    I didn't quote Clem because I don't have his permission to do so, & I *think* Wilders forums have a rule about that as pertains to quoting e-mail. I'm not sure if that same rule would apply in this case but I'm too sleepy to look it up.
     
  5. moredhelfinland

    moredhelfinland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Finland
    @bellgamin
    Thanks.
    For me, maybe it's better to disable SAP UAV engine altogether and use some dedicated antivirus with it. Something like F-Secure AV could be one.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,546
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  7. moredhelfinland

    moredhelfinland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Location:
    Finland
    I dunno why they do file check in their own "VM" which is already obsolete? Is it better way to do VT check like VoodooShield and even Hibit Startup Monitor can do that and some other freewares.
    If they "lag" behind, like they say, then its better disable UAV and use some other dedicated AV with SAP. Certificate and Thumb check is cool, tho.
     
  8. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,613
    Location:
    Hawaii
    AFAIK, Voodoo Shield (VS) no longer does a Virus Total check. I *think* VS leaves it up to the user to do an antivirus check

    I agree with you that UAV needs improvement. For one thing, UAV uploads are often VERY slow plus they time-out every so often. In my case, I do leave UAV running -- for whatever it's worth -- but I also check with Virus Total whenever SA+ pops-up an alert. Thus far, I have never found a disagreement between findings of Virus Total versus findings of a majority of UAV's 10 antiviruses.

    I do hope that @GrDukeMalden comments on this matter. When it come to VS & SA+, he is far more knowledgeable than I am.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2021
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,613
    Location:
    Hawaii
    SA+'s User Interface -- List of AV engines used by SA+'s Universal AV
    ScreenHunter_01 Nov. 02 08.35.gif
     
  10. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    VPN city
    I haven't noticed any performance impact from having them all on. It's best just to leave them all on.

    Voodooshield and SAP have both stopped rating with virustotal. They just give you a button to click in the prompt to check instead. Because of VT's rules about not using them as a comparison machine.

    If a file is completely unknown to virustotal, SAP's whitelist AND voodoo's whitelist. Upload it to virus total, and if nothing is found, wait about 3 to 5 hours, up to a whole 24 hours and then do a rescan on VT to see if it's bad. I've played with a few malware samples that were scanned as clean by everything on VT and they were still VERY malicious.
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,546
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  12. Oldie1950

    Oldie1950 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2022
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Deutschland
    Hello, I have a question about SecureAPlus Pro (German Version). There is a "Vertraut aufgrund digitaler Signatur" (Trusted due to digital signature) setting. What is the effect of disabling this setting? Higher level of security?
    I don't understand the note "Allow application with valid digital signature to be trusted if its certificate"


    I would be grateful for an explanation of the setting. Please excuse my bad english.
     
  13. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,613
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Digital signatures can be faked. Disabling "trust due to digital signature" will prevent faked signatures from being automatically allowed by Secure A Plus. Secure A Plus will then scan the file with its other tools (antivirus etc). As a result, you will get more alerts from Secure A Plus. Therefore, any "increased security" will depend largely on YOU.

    By the way, if you use a paid version of Secure A Plus, it will allow you to specify that all digital signatures must be fingerprinted by Secure A Plus. In that case, enabling Secure A Plus to automatically accept fingerprinted digital signatures will be largely "safe" and, thus, will reduce alerts that you must deal with.

    Paid versions also include a list of exactly which companies' digital signatures are to be "allowed" based on fingerprinted digital signatures. In my case, I carefully went through that list and deleted companies that I had never heard of &/or that I do not trust because of their geographic area of origin.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    P.S. Your English is MUCH better than my German. Welcome to Wilders forums! :-*:thumb::thumb:
     
  14. Oldie1950

    Oldie1950 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2022
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Deutschland
    @bellgamin
    Thank you for the friendly welcome and the explanations of the functions of SecureAPlus Pro. The explanations helped me a lot.
     
  15. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,613
    Location:
    Hawaii
    @Oldie1950 -- I hope you enjoy Secure A+. It is a combination whitelist, anti-executable (default deny), & antivirus. I haven't used Secure A+ in a while but I know it gives good protection. By the way, their support forum is at THIS url. For faster support, email them at secureaplus @ secureage.com.
     
  16. polly77

    polly77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Hi anyone know if disabling everything.exe and the service still has secureage running properly for viruses ans allow/deny?Thks
     
  17. Oldie1950

    Oldie1950 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2022
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Deutschland
  18. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2022
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.