SearchForIt

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by rerun2, Aug 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rerun2

    rerun2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Posts:
    338
    Is it possible for spyware to remove the protection in spywareblaster? I ask because I had just updated Spybot on my work computer and i did a scan with it. To my surprise it found SearchForIt. So I had Spybot fix it. After I wondered to myself if SpwareBlaster should have prevented SearchForIt from getting on the computer (as I also have it installed on my work computer). And to my greater surprise all items were protected in Spywareblaster except for one... SearchForIt. Under Spybot recovery the reg entry is under activex compatibility. I will copy the entire entry if needed. I dont know if a sample can be recovered but if one is needed i will do my best :) .

    Perhaps the issue is how Spybot fixed it and removed protection from Spywareblaster as well. o_O

    Continue the great work javacool.
     
  2. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    The latest Spybot release is flagging an entry that the SpywareBlaster program placed in the registry dealing with SearchForIt.

    This Wilders link---> Spybot Update 8/30/04 False Positive?
     
  4. rerun2

    rerun2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Posts:
    338
    Oh those nasty FPs get me all the time :)
    Thank you everyone for straightening it out.
     
  5. Deke

    Deke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the heads up on this. I thought my usually bulletproof sysem had let something invade me.

    Thanks Again.
     
  6. Deke

    Deke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    Texas
    I can't for the life of me set to ignore the SearchForIt entry as you can see in the image. What am I missing.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Deke

    Deke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    Texas
    I found it in the Ignore section but why couldn't I do it through the Items found window?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You can via rightclick on SearchForit.

    Gerard
     
  9. Deke

    Deke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    Texas
    If you are talking about through SB the first above image is a right click and the option is greyed out.
     
  10. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Deke,

    Concerning your first pic....with Spybot you need to click on the plu(+) sign next to SearchForIt and right click the actual reg entry that it found ?
     
  11. sicam

    sicam Guest

    Personally i have opted for disabling Spybot untill i get a valid answer from the author,since i had askedd for more info with respect to other cases as well
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.