ScreenShots Editing Software

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Aug 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I am currently using MWsnap on my pC to capture ScreenShots. I want a free software that I can use to add texts, arrowed lines etc on these snapshots( and possibly to capture screenshots as well though this function is not must as I can use MWsnap). MS paint has no such editing option. Tried ScrrenHunter free and HoverSnap but they have no such option. Also used FastStone screen capture but did noy like it. Must be easy to use.
    Any suggestions.
    Thanks.
     
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I'm not sure there is a free program which will do all that.

    It would seem that you need a screen capture program to do the capturing. Then open it in a image ediing program and do the add-ons.

    I use PrintScreen http://www.Gadwin.com for screen capture as a tif file (file type selectable--see note). Then do all my editing/additions in an image editing (I use PhotoImpact) but PhotoFiltre or Picassa should work--both are free. You can see some samples listed in my signature below. Note: after final edit, tif file resaved as jpg or gif for smallest filesize.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2006
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    You can add all sorts of cursors - and a few frames and also rotate with MWsnap. You can't add text though.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    That,s the main thing I want.
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Not a go for me. U have to register there and then get a key and then every 6 months u have to change the key.
     
  7. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Try GIMP, it's a freeware image editing tool.
    So grab your screens, open & edit them in GIMP, save your work.. All done :)

    Here's a couple of screenshots from the application.
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    thanks, i will give it a try.
     
  9. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Why not give FastStone Screenshot Capture a try? :cool:
    It's also free. :D

    • A small floating Capture Panel that can be dragged anywhere or minimized to the Windows tray area
    • Resource friendly - uses a very small amount of memory, especially when minimized to the Windows tray area
    • Global hotkeys to activate the program's capture capabilities anytime, anywhere
    • Efficient tools to capture windows, objects, full screen, rectangle/freehand-selected regions and scrolling areas
    • Capture web pages in Microsoft Internet Explorer, FireFox and Opera
    • Option to specify destination (internal editor, clipboard or file) where the captured image will be sent
    • Screen color picker
    • Text/Arrowed line/Highlight/Watermark annotation
    • Resize, crop, zoom in/out
    • Undo/Redo
    • Save as BMP, JPEG, JPEG2000, PNG, GIF, TIFF, TGA
    • Send captured images in e-mails
    • Screen Magnifier
    • Multi-monitor support
    • Option to run when Windows starts
    • And many more ...
     
  10. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas
    What didn't you like about FastStone? It does exactly what you want it to do.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    :oops: Oops!, overlooked that. Sorry aigle.
    Maybe you need to know the program a bit more to judge it to its value. :)
     
  12. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    OK, I tried it again and of course it has many options and the one I am looking for. I don,t like its, interface. But it,s not so big deal.
    The only deficiency I felt is that there is no function for auto save image to a selected file/ folder. I will have to combilne it with MW snap.
     
  13. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas
    Go to settings, and on the left is the option you are looking for.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    So i was using the old version. Thanks. I think I will still prefer to cimbine it with MW snap( it takes about 4 MB memory running in background while FastStone Capture about 11 MB). I don,t take snapshots frequently so MWSnap will work most of time for me9 while running in background) and if I need more I can launch FS Capture on demand.

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 8, 2006
  15. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Just installed the new version and it,s looking really nice. It is taking even less than 2 MB of ram while running in background. I think MW snap wil go.:D
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi cthorpe! Is there a way to open already saved images in the FastStone editor? I think may be no.
     
  17. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    How do you rotate the arrow tool on an image in FastStone screen capture please ?
     
  18. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't think it's possible to open an existing image in the editor :(. However, it looks like the FastStone Image Viewer has all the same tools as the Capture program, and it is freeware as well.

    Once you draw the line, you can drag either end to make the arrow point wherever you want.
     
  19. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Thank you cthorpe, I did first try grabbing the red arrow at both ends to rotate and it didn't work. I must have missed the small black markers by a tiny fraction. Working as designed now
     
  20. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks. But I think there are mnay other image viwers that are free and might be better, but I am not sure they have the option of adding texts or arrows etc.

    Any ideas?
     
  21. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    One more free Screen Capture tool:
    - Ace Winscreen

    Edit: There's a paid version too.
    If you really want a great one and you're willing to pay for it, I can highly recommend SnagIt. :thumb:

    Maybe you'll find a free one fitting your needs. ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2006
  22. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Not exactly true. :D
    So Mouser only demands a little effort from your part to receive it for free. :cool:
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I just installed faststone capture and image viewer.
     
  24. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Ok, I got it. Are u using it ? How much memort it takes while working in background?
    Can u compare it to FastStone Capture?
     
  25. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    No, I'm not using it, since I already have two paid ones, namely SnagIt and HyperSnap-DX. SnagIt being my favourite. :D

    Somebody else will have to fill in your questions, although I really like FastStone's Viewer & Photo Image Resizer. All of it free. :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.