Screen Shots of Vista 5506

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Aug 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,876
    Location:
    Texas
    Article
     
  2. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    I might be a negative party pooper, and probably am, but I just don't like the look of Vista much. They've concentrated on pretty looks, and consequently Vista seems like it'll be a HUGE resource hog. It's an operating system - not a fancy program! I think functionality over "glass" would be preffered.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,876
    Location:
    Texas
    A lot of people are into skins for operating systems. Windowblinds and such. And there are those of us who prefer simplicity.
    Nothing wrong with either opinion that I can see. And, you will be able to get Vista without the fancy graphics.
     
  4. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    Will Vista have a Windows-95 esque skin, or an XP-type skin or what?
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,876
    Location:
    Texas
  6. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Well, you're not the only one, kdm. Maybe I didn't have the best graphics driver when I tried Vista but it just seemed kinda thick and "klunky" in its look and layout. I am also a big Windowblinds fan and have Object Desktop on my home machine, so I have nothing against glass/plastic/ or other alpha blending effects. I just kind of of figured, "this has GOT to get better with age", and decided I'd have another look around RC1 if I can.
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    another WindowBlinds fan here. i wonder if i can disable Aero and use WB. would it save me resources? that would be nice.

    on a separate note, i was expecting a bit more screenies from teh article.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.