Screen Shots of Vista 5506

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Aug 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Article
     
  2. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    I might be a negative party pooper, and probably am, but I just don't like the look of Vista much. They've concentrated on pretty looks, and consequently Vista seems like it'll be a HUGE resource hog. It's an operating system - not a fancy program! I think functionality over "glass" would be preffered.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    A lot of people are into skins for operating systems. Windowblinds and such. And there are those of us who prefer simplicity.
    Nothing wrong with either opinion that I can see. And, you will be able to get Vista without the fancy graphics.
     
  4. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    Will Vista have a Windows-95 esque skin, or an XP-type skin or what?
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
  6. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Well, you're not the only one, kdm. Maybe I didn't have the best graphics driver when I tried Vista but it just seemed kinda thick and "klunky" in its look and layout. I am also a big Windowblinds fan and have Object Desktop on my home machine, so I have nothing against glass/plastic/ or other alpha blending effects. I just kind of of figured, "this has GOT to get better with age", and decided I'd have another look around RC1 if I can.
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    another WindowBlinds fan here. i wonder if i can disable Aero and use WB. would it save me resources? that would be nice.

    on a separate note, i was expecting a bit more screenies from teh article.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.