Screen Capture software

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ArchAngel_8, Jan 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ArchAngel_8

    ArchAngel_8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Posts:
    89
    Location:
    US
    Hey .... All :D Anybody have suggestions for a screen capture program that is free/cheep or if it cost $ that is worth the $$ for someone who rarely uses it, (So far..LOL :D) Its not that I'm a "cheep'o" but I spend enough on security and system maitanence, that I would like to save a little in this area.... Thanks ...
     
  2. Uguel707

    Uguel707 Graphic Artist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,999
    Location:
    San Diego
  3. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I agree. MWSnap has served my needs well.
     
  4. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Ditto. I have very simple needs from a screen capture program - and MWSnap fulfills all of them admirably - and easily. Pete
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

  6. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    Well you can also give a look at Irfranview .. it's free and does a whole lot of things.
     
  7. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Gadwin Printscreen is another screen capture program that is easy to use and free.


    http://www.Gadwin.com
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I use hoversnap which is free and it works very well and is easy to use.And while you are at the link check out regseeker also free and it works well also.
    http://www.hoverdesk.net/freeware.htm
     
  9. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    This hasn't been mentioned yet (too obvious?) :)
    Just press the PrintScrn key on your keyboard to take a snapshot of the entire screen (the image is copied to the clipboard, so you can then just load a graphics program such as Paint or Photoshop and press Ctrl+V to paste the image). The key is somewhat a 'leftover' of the old DOS days when pressing the key would send the data straight to your dot matrix printer.
    To capture just the current window, use Alt+PrintScrn.
     
  10. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    Actually, I use the Print Scrn button myself. Usually, I paste the contents from there into IrfanView, just because it produces much better GIF or PNG images than Paint can, but still it is quite good enough. Virtually all the screen images I've posted in my help threads here were GIFs saved by IrfanView from simply Print Scrn saves.
     
  11. ArchAngel_8

    ArchAngel_8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Posts:
    89
    Location:
    US
    :D Hey everybody .. Thanks for the links and info/suggestions. I will go check them out! Later..... :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.