Scientific Linux 6 Alpha 1 Released

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Trespasser, Dec 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Yes, Scientific Linux 6 Alpha 1 was released today...all 4.2+ gigabytes of it. In 32 and 64bit versions. Here's the README from their download site....

    *******************************************************************
    We have released the first ALPHA release of Scientific Linux 6.

    The release is at

    http://ftp.scientificlinux.org/linux/scientific/6rolling/

    DVD and Net Install iso downloads are at

    These directories contain 2 DVD install images and 1 network install image and the SHA1SUM checksum file.

    SL-6-$arch-DVD1.iso
    SL-6-$arch-DVD2.iso
    SL-6-$arch-boot.iso

    http://ftp.scientificlinux.org/linux/scientific/6rolling/i386/iso/
    http://ftp.scientificlinux.org/linux/scientific/6rolling/x86_64/iso/


    KNOWN ISSUES:

    Packages that haven't been built, and aren't in the release.
    Ruby
    ekiga
    foomatic
    guile
    hivex
    kdepim-runtime
    linuxdoc-tools
    perl-GSSAPI
    perl-Sys-Virt
    perl-Test-MockObject
    python-sqlalchemy
    TurboGears2
    virt-top

    We do not have all of the updates that RedHat has released. We do have
    some, but not all.

    Currently the installer says there is only a "minimal" install available at
    the package selection. But if you go into "Customize now" is shows that a
    normal desktop install is selected. We plan on fixing this.

    There are no specialized pictures shown during the install. Just the one
    that you see through the whole time. We are attempting to get this fixed.

    UPDATES have NOT been tested. Please only do NEW installs with this ALPHA
    release. Do not expect to upgrade this ALPHA release in the future.

    CHANGES PLANNED FOR ALPHA 2

    We are planning on SL6 Alpha 2 to be released next friday - 10 December
    Expected Updates for Alpha 2
    - Ruby will be in the release
    - Release Notes will be better
    - revisor will have all the patches and config files for people to start
    building their own sites.
    - Hopefully all of the rest of the trouble rpm's will be in the release.
    **************************************************************************
    As you can see they plan on releasing Alpha 2 this coming Friday (Dec. 10th). A final release obviously isn't far off.

    Later...
     
  2. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Just updated the test box this morning so far so good, last build was up and running for 18+ days with no issue before this one. Let's hope it keeps it up

    /edit/ Oops thought this was the rolling thread, my bad.
    Anyway I am using the 6 Rolling release and as stated it's fairly stable, I had some issues with Virtualbox that I couldn't figure out but I will see if I they are present now.
     
  3. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Dan,
    How are you receiving updates via the Scientific Linux 6 Rolling release? I reinstalled it yesterday (the 1.7 gig version) but the repos seem to be down. Did you change the repo links in the /etc/yum.repos.d folder? If so, what did you add to make them functional?

    BTW, here's a link to add rpmforge (red hat 6) to your repo list (if running 32bit)....

    http://apt.sw.be/redhat/el6/en/i386/dag/RPMS/rpmforge-release-0.5.2-2.el6.rf.i686.rpm

    and the 64bit link...

    http://apt.sw.be/redhat/el6/en/x86_64/dag/RPMS/rpmforge-release-0.5.2-2.el6.rf.x86_64.rpm

    Dag already has Wine and VLC added but they seem to be lacking some dependencies.

    Thanks. :).

    Later...
     
  4. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Dan,
    Nevermind. It finally dawned on me that you had downloaded and installed Scientific Linux 6 Alpha 1. I'm a little thick sometimes. :).

    The Alpha 2 is suppose to be released tomorrow (Dec. 10th) and depending upon the release notes (whether you can upgrade from it to the final) I may download and try it....yes, all 4.2+ gigabytes of it. Man, that's a BIG download.

    Later...
     
  5. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I have been "Roling" since it was first available with workstation at well work, and it has constantly updated throughout the process with no issues.

    BUT, I just got a new SSD for my thinkpad and wanted to try SL6 on it, installed the original rolling release, the 1st one, which I have on dvd and it wouldn't update. The repos were set wrong, so I had to switch the /os/ in the sl.repo file to either before or after the architecture, I'm at work now and don't remember.

    Oh wait, I am AT WORK now... DOUGHT! Thanks god it's friday....

    It seems to need to be after the architecture:
    Code:
    [sl]
    name=Scientific Linux $releasever - $basearch
    baseurl=http://ftp.scientificlinux.org/linux/scientific/6rolling/$basearch/os/
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-redhat-beta file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-sl file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-dawson
    So, in short you can use the original rolling to go to the latest Alpha, with few minor tweaks.
    I have ATRPMS and EPEL in my repos right now.
    epel.repo
    Code:
    [epel]
    name=Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux 6 - $basearch
    #baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/6/$basearch
    baseurl=http://mirror.clarkson.edu/epel/beta/6/x86_64/
    mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=epel-6&arch=$basearch
    failovermethod=priority
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL-6
    
    [epel-debuginfo]
    name=Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux 6 - $basearch - Debug
    #baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/6/$basearch/debug
    mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=epel-debug-6&arch=$basearch
    failovermethod=priority
    enabled=0
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL-6
    gpgcheck=1
    
    [epel-source]
    name=Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux 6 - $basearch - Source
    #baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/6/SRPMS
    mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=epel-source-6&arch=$basearch
    failovermethod=priority
    enabled=0
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL-6
    gpgcheck=1
    ATRPMS.repo
    Code:
    [atrpms]
    name=SL6 $releasever - $basearch - ATrpms
    #baseurl=http://dl.atrpms.net/sl$releasever-$basearch/atrpms/stable
    baseurl=http://dl.atrpms.net/sl6-x86_64/atrpms/stable/
    gpgkey=http://ATrpms.net/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
    gpgcheck=1
    Use at your own risk :)
     
  6. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    :). Funny.

    Thanks, Dan, for the repo info.

    Later....
     
  7. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    You're probably already on top of this, but, if not, here's Scientific's updates repo....

    [sl-updates]
    name=Scientific Linux $releasever - $basearch
    baseurl=http://ftp.scientificlinux.org/linux/scientific/6rolling/$basearch/updates/
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-redhat-beta file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-sl file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-dawson

    You were correct...you can update to the latest version, which, at present, is Scientific Alpha 2 (released just a short while ago). Once I changed out the repo info I shortly had 387 packages waiting on me. One of the nice things about this upgrade is both my bootup and shutdown themes are these cool looking Red Hat 6 ones.

    Thanks again for your help.

    Later...
     
  8. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    yeah I have that one, the updates came through a few days ago before the respin was available if you had previously installed the SL Alpha, as I have, then you can yum add the "new" packages. I honestly love the fact that the default install is so tiny. so I am going to try to stick with the Alpha until the release version then see how the upgrade to it goes. If all goes well, then it will stick on the lappy(as it has replaced Arch on this SSD at the moment)
     
  9. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Just a heads up. according to mailing list Alpha 3 should hit tomorrow. :D
     
  10. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I'm wondering how many Alphas they're planning on putting out before the Beta or Final shows up.

    According to what I've read in an article over at DistroWatch CentOS 6 might be a long time in coming. Some bickering is going on. On the other hand, Scientific 6 seems to "rolling" along quite nicely and RPMForge already has VLC (1.1.5) and Wine (1.37) in its repos. I do wish they'd add Devede and Abiword. If they did I might even totally switch from Ubuntu (especially with the state of Unity). I tried a daily build (12-15-2010) of Natty yesterday and it was just terrible. After I installed the 3-D driver and rebooted it couldn't even make it to Desktop. To be perfectly honest I think going with Unity is a really bad idea. This is going to hurt Ubuntu's popularity with present and future users.

    Later...
     
  11. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Trespasser,

    Re. Abiword etc. I wonder if this may help. Watch the priorities with Epel as mentioned in the thread for CentOS.

    https://www.centos.org/modules/newb...d=18998&forum=38&post_id=70305#forumpost70305

    http://rpm.pbone.net/

    Fedora 6 archive.fedoraproject.org/fedora/linux/extras/6/x86_64/abiword-2.4.6-1.fc6.x86_64.rpm
    Fedora 6 archive.fedoraproject.org/fedora/linux/extras/6/i386/abiword-2.4.6-1.fc6.i386.rpm

    Edit. No problems. Just installed it after installing epel repo. I set the priorities for the repo to 13 (priority=13) so as not to have conflicts with rpmforge (dag).
    You will see that over 1400 packages were excluded due to priorities protection.
    It's fine here on CentOS 5.5. (Abiword that is - albeit not the latest version).

    17:36:47 : 1460 packages excluded due to repository priority protections
    <<<<<CUT>>>>>>
    17:41:48 : Retrieving GPG key from file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL
    17:41:48 : Importing GPG key 0x217521F6 "Fedora EPEL <epel@fedoraproject.org>" from /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL
    17:41:58 : Key imported successfully
    <<<<<CUT>>>>>>
    17:42:08 : Running Transaction
    17:42:54 : Installed:
    17:42:54 : --> 1:abiword-2.6.4-8.el5.2.i386
    17:42:54 : Dependency Installed:
    17:42:55 : --> enchant-1.3.0-1.el5.rf.i386
    17:42:55 : --> fontpackages-filesystem-1.44-1.el5.1.noarch
    17:42:55 : --> 1:libabiword-2.6.4-8.el5.2.i386
    17:42:55 : --> loudmouth-1.4.3-1.el5.rf.i386
    17:42:55 : --> lyx-fonts-1.6.8-1.el5.i386
    17:42:55 : --> wv-1.2.4-1.el5.rf.i386
    17:43:00 : Setup Yum : Transaction Set

    abiword.png


    I will just wait for CentOS 6 and then triple boot.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  12. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    My guess on _why_ the Alphas is because for some reason, I didn't read to far into it, they couldn't get some packages to compile. They build them in different environments(Fedora mainly) and are trying to ensure that there are not that many bugs. I know I wouldn't want the LHC creating a blackhole in SUI because someone didn't check against a build environment :p
     
  13. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Well, I downloaded Scientific Linux 6 Alpha 3. Disc 1 is 4.2 gigs and disc 2 is 240 MBs in size. BTW, you need both of them. I thought I could get by with disc 1 but right after I customized my install it told me I needed both discs. So I had to ask my wife to surrender her Desktop for a few minutes while I downloaded disc 2, did a checksum, then burned it to a CD.

    The Alpha 3 installed about 200 less files than the pre-alpha (1.7 gigs) that I had been using previously. Nice. It operates smoothly. I like it so far even though it doesn't list our home wireless network printer in Printing. I'll figure it out eventually.

    With reference to Devede that I made in a previous post...it installs very easily. All you need to do is download this tar.b2 file...

    http://www.rastersoft.com/descargas/devede-3.16.9.tar.bz2

    install RPMForge's repo data...

    http://apt.sw.be/redhat/el6/en/i386/dag/RPMS/rpmforge-release-0.5.2-2.el6.rf.i686.rpm

    then install mplayer, mencoder, vcdimager, and dvdauthor. After that unzip the devede tar.bz2 file, cd to that folder, then as root type ./install.sh. You'll then find Devede listed under Sound & Video ready to use. Works great. All I need to find now is pygame for el6.

    Later...
     
  14. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    So none of you use the yum priorities plugin, alternatively the protect base plugin ?
    I would have thought that to be rather important, especially when adding a repo like epel, which apparently 'does not play nice' with the Dag rpmforge repo. These packages have been added to SL afaik.
    o_O

    PS. I don't think they have built the abiword pkg. at epel for SL 6 alphas yet. Looks like they are only available for SL 5x
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  15. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    In my experience yum priorities is pretty much useless. But then again I only use ATrpm, EPEL and Virtual box repos.
     
  16. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    i would rather be on the safe side and do what CentOS recommend in their wiki. Never had a
    problem with conflicts or dependencies.

     
  17. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    In my experience I have had more issues with my one use of Yum priorities than all the other times without.
    1 out of 100 at least... But what works for you, works for you.

    The only other time I used anything remotely close without having to screw around to install most things was with APT pinning, when I was interested in Ubuntu. As I was just testing out the new kernels it was fine for that issue. Everyday use, not so much.
     
  18. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Sure, as long as all is hunky dory for both of us I'm happy. :)

    Regards
     
  19. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Ocky,
    I installed yum-priorities but I don't see any entry in the menu or yum-package manager to use it. So, how do you use it? This is in Scientific Linux 6 Alpha 3, btw.

    Thanks. :).

    Later...
     
  20. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    You will need to enable plugins in your /etc/yum.conf file.

    [main]
    cachedir=/var/cache/yum
    keepcache=0
    debuglevel=2
    logfile=/var/log/yum.log
    distroverpkg=redhat-release
    tolerant=1
    exactarch=1
    obsoletes=1
    gpgcheck=1
    plugins=1

    # Note: yum-RHN-plugin doesn't honor this.
    metadata_expire=1h

    # Default.
    # installonly_limit = 3

    # PUT YOUR REPOS HERE OR IN separate files named file.repo
    # in /etc/yum.repos.d


    Regards
     
  21. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Ocky,
    Thanks for the info. As always you're a big help. Unfortunately CloneZilla screwed up my Scientific 6 Alpha 3 image (it will not boot up to Desktop) which means I'll have to reinstall...:'( . Too bad...for I had everything working nicely. PySolFC works...Devede works...Bleachbit works. The only thing I lack is finding a source/repo for AbiWord (2.8.x) and a gtk-orphan equivalent.

    Thanks again. :thumb: .
    Later....
     
  22. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Just to update...thank goodness for the rescue choice on the Scientific 6 install disc. It allowed me to mount sysimage in the installed but non-booting system. Then all I needed to do was type "grub-install /dev/sda". After that, Scientific Linux 6 was back to normal.

    BTW, Ocky, plugins, in yum.conf, is already enabled yet I still don't see any way to prioritize my repos. Oh well. No big deal, really.

    Thanks once again.

    Later...
     
  23. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    In the repo files, for instance you posted previously;

    Just add priority=1; for epel repo priority=13; for rpmforge priority=10 for example. All 3rd party repos should have lower priority settings. 1 is highest priority 99 is lowest priority.
     
  24. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Well...now I'm embarrassed :)-[ ). I never noticed "priority" at the end of that repo entry. I was expecting a gui or a listing within the package manager.

    This info will be useful in controlling ATRPMS (which I don't presently have enabled).

    Thanks, Ocky. :).

    Later....
     
  25. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Sorry, I should have been more explicit - it needs to be added to the repo file(s). Open as administrator with gedit and add for each repo file ensuring 3rd party repos have a lower priority than base, updates etc. I had it marked in bold as it wasn't originally there.
    Apologies. Glad to see you are up and running with SL again.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.