Scheduled Tasks

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by huangzhengliang, Nov 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. huangzhengliang

    huangzhengliang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Hey
    What happens if I don't put anything (switches) in the command line?
    Thx.
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Without command-line options, a program typically runs with its default settings or it displays a help screen.

    Regards

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. huangzhengliang

    huangzhengliang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Also, I don't see all files on my computer being scanned. For example, there's many folder in 'Program Files' but only the AdAware SE Personal folder gets scanned. Why is this?
    Thx.
     
  4. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    It could be that your list includes only viruses found and error messages. If you are using a command line, use the /list+ to show all the files, and /list- to show only the viruses and errors. If you do not use this setting, then NOD32 assumes /list-.

    This is the same thing as going to NOD32 Control Center --> NOD32 --> Run NOD32 --> Setup --> list all files.
     
  5. huangzhengliang

    huangzhengliang Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Yeah. It seems only error messages show up for /list- for me as NOD32 hasn't detected a virus yet.
     
  6. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Al or h...liang: I have always been confused about the use of External App/Command Line switches Versus using My Profile for Everything IF set-up with Blackspears Settings. I can only deduce that it is Convenience for Repeat Installs/Re-installs and resulting Set-up steps because you can Cut and Paste the Switches each time. Is that the real logic Versus a Functional Advantage? Thanks!
     
  7. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I am not sure, to be honest. One thing that I have always wished for, however, is the ability to have a profile=... command line switch. That way, I could just use the GUI to create the scan settings and save it to a profile, instead of having to use 50 flags.
     
  8. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Thanks, Al. Maybe Blackspear will comment on the question since Run External App/Switches steps are in his "Famous Settings "Sticky". Yours sounds like a BS or Marcos question.
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Way over my head :blink: this is a Marcos or Developer question.

    Cheers :D
     
  10. KrackerJack

    KrackerJack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Are we talking purely command line switches for Task Scheduler or putting the switches in the Scheduler/Planner and letting NOD32 take care of the timing?

    If the latter, the Scheduler/Planner has the option of specifying a profile.

    Cheers
     
  11. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    ....I have always wished for, however, is the ability to have a profile=... command line switch.,,,,,,instead of having to use 50 flags.

    Al will clarify, I know, if he means "Every Profile should be Define-able by Cmd Line Switches", but will someone clarify my first question as to "why the interest" in Cmd Line Switches in "Schedule: Run an External App" Versus configuring My Profile with BS settings and using Just "My Profile" for Scheduled Scans, Context Menu Scans, Clean Mode, etc. I'm not aware of a "Better" Scan with Switches, so what's the rationale? Set-up ease only (i.e.) Al's mention of "50 flags"? Thanks.
     
  12. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    To be honest, I used to know the reason a year or two ago, but I have forgotten what it was. :ninja:
     
  13. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    For scheduled scans, some users wanted the ability to have the scan window launch and show them the progress (the reason for knowing command line switches) versus checking the log files after having a "silent" scan.

    To each their own. :)
     
  14. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Try playing around with /config=

    For example, I have configured my download manager with the following exactly:
    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32.exe" "/config=GetRight" /scheduled /break- /scanmbr- /scanboot- /scanmem-
    I think it is possible to use /scanfile+ instead of /scheduled but I haven't compared all of the differences - I'm sure that there are some.

    Cheers :)
     
  15. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    I'd probably require a lot of mad-scientist drugs to absorb Command Line Switch use but Thanks to Rumpstah for answering a very old, unimportant but nuisance-type question for me about "Why the Interest in Switches" in an understandable format. Al, good luck with NOD32' s suggestion & post if you do any good.
     
  16. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Hey, thanks Rumpstah, NOD32 User, and COSMO26! All of those posts helped answer my questions. I think the quotes were what I was missing from the /profile=... switch. I will have to try it out.
     
  17. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    /config=

    You're welcome.

    Cheers :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.