scheduled tasks don't start

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by blueskies, May 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blueskies

    blueskies Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    I have a Windows XP SP3 where the scheduled task doesn't start. The system is usually logged in with the user who created the task but it's in standby early in the morning.

    Any suggestions on how to remedy this?

    TrueImage Home v9
     
  2. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Try this link: Click

    Perhaps it helps...
     
  3. J-Mac

    J-Mac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    99
    Similar problem here using Acronis TI Home 11. I have two tasks scheduled, and after creating them they run as scheduled for a few weeks. Then invariably one doesn't run anymore. I can run it manually but it won't run as scheduled.

    Both are setup identically, just one is imaging my C: drive and the other - with the exact same settings - is imaging my D: drive. Destination is the same for both: another internal HDD that I use exclusively for backups.

    It is not one drive or the other that this happens to. It has occurred to both at different times. It is almost as if there is a calendar-like setting where I entered an end date for the schedule, but there is no such setting.

    Any ideas? If this should be posted in its own thread let me know and I'll repost it. This thread looked close enough, though.

    BTW, the link in the previous post says to delete the schedhlp.exe and schedul2.exe files in the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2 and replace them with new downloaded files - but the link for the ZIP archive with the replacement files is a dead link, so be careful.

    I am running ATI 11 on a desktop PC with Windows XP Pro, SP2.

    I appreciate any help with this.

    Thank you.

    Jim
     
  4. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, the thread is old. The same as Ti-Version9 from blueskies.
    But this shows that Acronis has new scheduler files you can get via PM or download.

    @J-Mac
    1. Are there any error messages in the eventlog of Ti?
    2. Do you backup into a backup location?
     
  5. J-Mac

    J-Mac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    99
    I didn't see a download location for the new scheduler files. If you know...

    No. When a scheduled job doesn't run - doesn't even start - no log is created. Are there other logs I am not seeing? (Found all in C:\Docs and Settings\All Users|Application Data\...) Nothing in the Windows XP Event Log either for failed scheduled jobs.

    Yes. And it says "No name required..." for the backup file because it is in a Backup Location. When I set them up, they always run for a few weeks. Then either one or the other fails - just stop running, even though the task shows and is configured the same.

    I've been using ATI since V.8. I have had ATI8, 9, 10, and 11 now. All had more than their share of problems as I'm sure you know, but this is the first time I can remember failed schedule tasks like this. Didn't happen in Windows Task Scheduler that I can remember unless I messed it up.

    Thanks!

    Jim
     
  6. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    @J-Mac
    1. to get scheduler files you can:
    a) wait here a week until 'Acronis Support' answers
    b) to use the 'live chat' option on Acronis website

    2. there is the windows 'eventviewer'-log where you can see something. But you have check this already.

    3. I assume that there are already TIB files in the 'backup location', right?
    Move them all (except of the CFG-file) to another folder on your hdd.
    Only the CFG file is left in backup location.
    Then start the task once more... and give us the result.
     
  7. J-Mac

    J-Mac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    99
    MrMorse,

    Actually the cfg file is all that's there now. Acronis has often failed to write to external USB drives since ATI 10. Not sure why. I posted about it here and apparently a lot of users see that also, and some of the more experienced members had some possible reasons for it. Anyway I just stopped trying to write to external USB drives after three different drives - brand new WD and Seagate - failed on two different computers.

    Currently what I do is backup to an internal SATA drive and then move the TIB files to an external drive. So in most cases ATI is writing to a backup location with only the acronis_backup_place.cfg file in it. Although, when I have a drive being imaged on Thursday and another on Friday, I haven't always moved the Thursday image file yet when the Friday image is scheduled to run. I'll have to check and see if I can find a correlation there. I know that it isn't the size limit. Plus if that were the case then ATI would start and log the error before exiting, right? These failures are without any evidence that the task ever even starts.

    Thanks!

    Jim

    EDIT: I should clarify that above, the comment about the USB drives - I mean that the writing to the drives by Acronis fail, not the drives!
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Jim,

    Please download Acronis Scheduler, which is a special utility to update the scheduler service. The link is available here

    Extract the downloaded file, run install.bat and wait for the process to be completed. The utility will automatically update the service. Reboot the computer and re-create the tasks. The issue should be resolved.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  9. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    @J-Mac
    Thank you for the comprehensive explanation.

    Try the files from Oleg.

    But one addition question I have:

    You say that the USB drives failed even though you use different hdds.
    Question: Did you use ever the same USB-enclosure for the hdds?

    I know that there are controller chips which are not compatible with most PCs.
    That's the reason I have chosen an enclosure which most compatibilty.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.