Scanning in safe mode??

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by drameet, Oct 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drameet

    drameet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I m using NOD 32 AV version 3.29 beta 2 on Win XP SP2!! It doesent allow scanning in safe mode?? Whenever i try to start it in safe mode it says communication with kernel failed?? I have tried this in a couple of other systems using the same and the same error? how to scan in safe mode then??
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
  2. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    where you got 2.9 beta?
     
  3. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    (if you have NOD32 ver. 2.X)what file do you run ? nod32kui.exe or nod32.exe ? if you run nod32kui.exe then thats normal you get that error msg because in safe mode nod32 kernel is not running. To scan in safe mode you should run nod32.exe instead of nod32kui.exe
    (if you have NOD32 ver 3) to scan on safe mode you should run ecls.exe (command line scanner via command prompt / run menu)
     
  4. drameet

    drameet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Thank u sir for replying!! i checked the esset program directory it doesnt have any of the files u mention though it has a file called ecmd. when i double click it nothing happens!!! I try to run it fropm RUN nothing happens!! i opened command promp! It says it is esset command line scanner!
    no command given!! Then i tried scan/clean it says error performing action!!Plz help
     
  5. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    which version of nod32 do you use ? if you use version 3 try to uninstall then install rc1 (latest) which include ecls.exe (command line scanner)
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    ecls.exe was added in ESS/EAV RC1 and it should run in safe mode fine
     
  7. drameet

    drameet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    ok i will install the latest one!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.