Scanning certain file freezes computer

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Ryulong, Mar 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ryulong

    Ryulong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    I've been encountering an issue with running a Full Scan on my computer with Prevx 3.0. Every time the scan gets up to XPSSVCS.DLL every other program other than Prevx 3.0 freezes. This includes explorer (the clock stops updating) and I have had to manually shut down my notebook (holding the power button for several seconds) as it freezes everything if I try to abort the scan.

    Nothing appears to be wrong with my notebook otherwise. The forced shut down forced me to uninstall Symantec Endpoint Protection which I received as a student of my university (a couple years ago) but in the Deep Scan and in every other virus scanner I've run, nothing is coming up. I'm running a Kapersky Online scan right now and all it's picked up is my IRC client which it has labeled "not-a-virus:Client-IRC.Win32.mIRC.g". I'm not encountering any other issues with my computer otherwise. Just that when I perform the Full Scan, it more or less crashes my computer (no data lost other than the aforementioned Symantec Endpoint Protection).

    I'll edit this post if the Kapersky scan comes up with anything different.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This could help! Left over files from .NET Framework 3.5 Service Pack 1 http://support.microsoft.com/kb/951847/en-us and this http://www.microsoft.com/communitie...date&tid=55f7835b-1e4e-4531-be2b-c6b75ae0a984



    HTH,

    TH
     
  3. Ryulong

    Ryulong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    It seems that I have multiple versions of this file on my computer. The question is that I do not know which one is the one that is causing Prevx to freeze my entire computer up nor do I really want to test it right now.
    Code:
    C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ntprint.inf_05612b59\Amd64\XPSSVCS.DLL
    C:\Windows\System32\spool\drivers\x64\3\XPSSVCS.DLL
    C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_ntprint.inf_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6002.18005_none_990ab19170321dba\Amd64\XPSSVCS.DLL
    C:\Windows\System32\xpssvcs.dll
    C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-printing-reach_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6001.18000_none_828b15e1ca8f736d\xpssvcs.dll
    C:\Windows\SysWOW64\xpssvcs.dll
    C:\Windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-printing-reach_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6001.18000_none_266c7a5e12320237\xpssvcs.dll
    C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ntprint.inf_65d6295d\Amd64\XPSSVCS.DLL
    C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_ntprint.inf_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6001.18000_none_971f38857310526e\Amd64\XPSSVCS.DLL
    C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ntprint.inf_d8ddb2bf\Amd64\XPSSVCS.DLL
    
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Then I would think the best thing to do is contact there customer service inbox: http://info.prevx.com/service.asp with the info provided here and the link to this thread!

    TH
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you possibly send us a scan log by running a normal "Scan My PC Now" scan and then clicking Tools > Save Scan Results and send the log to report@prevxresearch.com? I'm not quite sure as to how the scanner would freeze your PC, but I think a scan log will at least shed some light as to the source of the issue.

    Let me know if you find anything else! :)
     
  6. Ryulong

    Ryulong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Well, in a Full System Scan I attempted tonight, it turns out that C:\Windows\System32\spool\drivers\x64\3\XPSSVCS.DLL is the instance of the file that is causing the problems. I was running the scanner, it got up to this, and everything shut down. And after I forced the computer to shut down and restarted, it turns out I had to replace my Firefox places file or whatever it's called. I'll run a normal scan and send the results to that e-mail.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.