Scan (Smart and Custom) stalls at 58-59%

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Bellavance, Apr 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Everytime I run Scan, it stalls around 58-59% on my Win 7 64bit i7-860 computer, with one SSD Drive and a RAID Drive.

    Is there a way to get past this?
     
  2. mbuc310

    mbuc310 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ, USA
    What file/folder is it scanning? It may be scanning a large zip file, or the like, which takes much more time.
    Matt
     
  3. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Once I saw rt.jar

    Can such a file take hours to scan?
     
  4. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    yes
    i suggest you to run a custom scan, logging all files to see the scan progress.
     
  5. ananael

    ananael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Your rt.jar is probably part of Java JRE/SDK. It is archive containing thousands of files. Anyway, it shouldn't take so long if everything works properly.
     
  6. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    I've started a scan with logging, but it's now been stuck on the same rt.jar file for hours. Should I stop the scan? What will I learn from the log?
     
  7. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    I get a lot of messages like this in the log:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.6.0_16\lib\rt.jar » ZIP » sun/util/resources/CurrencyNames_el_CY.class - decompression could not complete (possible reasons: insufficient free memory or disk space, or a problem with temp folders)

    What does this mean?
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  9. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    This happens to dozens and dozens of files ... never had this problem with Avast.
     
  10. Nick0

    Nick0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    this is most likley a problem with the permissions to c:\windows\temp.

    Please delete the c:\windows\temp folder itself. - safe to do so.

    then create a new folder, inside of c:\windows and call it "temp".

    Ensure your account has full access to this folder using permissions, but it should do by default when you create the folder anyway.

    RE-try the scan, it should not show any decompression errors, and therefore complete in the proper time.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.