Scan (Smart and Custom) stalls at 58-59%

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Bellavance, Apr 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Everytime I run Scan, it stalls around 58-59% on my Win 7 64bit i7-860 computer, with one SSD Drive and a RAID Drive.

    Is there a way to get past this?
     
  2. mbuc310

    mbuc310 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ, USA
    What file/folder is it scanning? It may be scanning a large zip file, or the like, which takes much more time.
    Matt
     
  3. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Once I saw rt.jar

    Can such a file take hours to scan?
     
  4. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    yes
    i suggest you to run a custom scan, logging all files to see the scan progress.
     
  5. ananael

    ananael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Your rt.jar is probably part of Java JRE/SDK. It is archive containing thousands of files. Anyway, it shouldn't take so long if everything works properly.
     
  6. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    I've started a scan with logging, but it's now been stuck on the same rt.jar file for hours. Should I stop the scan? What will I learn from the log?
     
  7. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    I get a lot of messages like this in the log:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.6.0_16\lib\rt.jar » ZIP » sun/util/resources/CurrencyNames_el_CY.class - decompression could not complete (possible reasons: insufficient free memory or disk space, or a problem with temp folders)

    What does this mean?
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  9. Bellavance

    Bellavance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    This happens to dozens and dozens of files ... never had this problem with Avast.
     
  10. Nick0

    Nick0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    this is most likley a problem with the permissions to c:\windows\temp.

    Please delete the c:\windows\temp folder itself. - safe to do so.

    then create a new folder, inside of c:\windows and call it "temp".

    Ensure your account has full access to this folder using permissions, but it should do by default when you create the folder anyway.

    RE-try the scan, it should not show any decompression errors, and therefore complete in the proper time.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.