Scan in safe mode?

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by JonLezz, Mar 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JonLezz

    JonLezz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    For a virus deep scan (Eset NOD32 v. 3), is it better (more thorough) to do this in safe mode? Is it faster?
     
  2. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    You're better off using the SysRescue builder in v4 to build a bootable scan CD that can mount the drive and look it over. Even safe-mode won't save you from rootkits.
     
  3. JonLezz

    JonLezz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I have a v3 license for another couple of months, so I guess I will have wait to try that.

    However, I can scan in safe mode. Will this be more effective and/or faster than normal scanning?
     
  4. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    v3 licenses are eligible for a free upgrade to v4. Safe-mode would generally be more effective since it could stop some things from launching with the OS and messing with the scanning engine, but I honestly am not sure if you can do a scan in safe-mode or not.
     
  5. JonLezz

    JonLezz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Oh, I have missed that info, I will check.

    Yes, it is possible, but the help file doesn´t say much about it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.