Says my copy of Windows isn't genuine, but it is

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by luciddream, Nov 7, 2015.

  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    It's a Dell reinstallation disc w/COA & Key I got along with a machine I purchased from them. The prompt comes up once every 2-3 days, in the bottom right corner of my desktop, and says:

    Windows 7
    Build 7601
    This copy of Windows is not genuine

    Yet when I registered it it accepted it as genuine after installing the OS. When I go into Control Panel > System, there's a WGA image right there telling me it's genuine, along with a message near my Product ID at the bottom of the page saying it's valid. And also when I go into there that irritating message goes away, as if it realizes - "oops, my bad, it is genuine after all, please carry on now..." Until it comes back a couple days later.

    Every time it happens I just go into System to make it go away, but I'd like to find a more permanent solution, along with an explanation as to why it's happening.
     
  2. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    202
  3. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Thanks a bunch... although my issue sounds different, I tried that method too and a prompt did come up afterward saying it was automatically authenticated. Let's see if it lasts. I'll report back.

    Unlike that other guy when I go into System the change settings link is there, and so is my product key/ID... it's not blank like in that persons case. I just get that same message he gets on the bottom right corner of the screen. And unlike him mine goes away every time I go into System.

    Well let's hope this fixed the issue for good.
     
  4. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    You're welcome. NoelDP and company are adept with these type of issues and generous with their time. The two things to try I previously linked to are generic 'solutions' to activation problems.

    If that doesn't resolve things for you, you could try combing through that sub-forum for problems that more closely mirror your own. If you decide to ask for help there, that sub-forum's posting instructions for activation issues are HERE.
     
  5. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Unfortunately this didn't work for me... thanks for the help though.
     
Loading...