Sandboxing/virtualization for my comp

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Francis93, Mar 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Hey guys,

    I need your recommendations on what sandboxing/virtualization app should I add to my current security setup? I have tried Sandboxie with drop rights enabled but it seems that sandboxed apps become unstable (e.g. Firefox doesn't have flash, Chrome without extensions, Yahoo! Messenger freezes, etc.) that's why I removed it. Could you tell me how to launch apps in a sandbox as if its normal or on my real environment without instabilities or could you recommend me a better virtualization/sandboxing program (similar to avast! SafeZone but with apps)?
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011
  2. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Francis93 :)


    Did you ever try Sanboxie Without Drop Rights enabled first?

    I've only been using Sandboxie for about a week.
    Mostly used it with Chrome
    Used it a few times with IE8
    Not yet tried it with Firefox

    Have NOT enabled Drop Right!
    & - So Far...
    Have NOT had any problems with Add-Ons!

    Zeena
     
  3. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Even without drop rights, applications are unstable.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Uhh, the truth is that there is no better Sandboxing than Sandboxie.
    There is no reason why you should not be able to use Sandboxie,
    you need to figure out what program is conflicting with it. It could
    be EMET or even AIS, you need to disable or uninstall programs in
    order to find out. There is no other way.

    Bo
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    What do you mean by similar to avast! SafeZone but with apps?

    Why don't you use that or the Sandbox provided by Avast Internet Security?
     
  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Francis,

    I see you are using the safe-admin tweaks. When you have also applied the "only elevate from safe places" UAC option. Chrome which is located in an "unsafe" place (C:\Users\[User Name=problably Francis]. So you will allways keep chrome in a medium level policy container.

    When you use newest chrome, use the chrome PDF-plugin (disable normal adobeplug-in when it is listed) and the Chrome flash version (is located in Chrome directory, go to plug-ins and disable other flash player). Next start chrome with --safe-pugins switch. Now you have a fully isolated browser (first instance running medium rights, other tabs running low rights).

    Altermatively you could send the guys from VMLite virtual apps player an email for the free beta, install firefox and run it sandboxed.

    Regards Kees
     
  7. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    VM Lite can be used with 64bit?

    Terry
     
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  9. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Thanks to those who helped but I'm running DW now and I'm having serious problems so I opened a new thread.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.