Sandboxing MPC-HC with CCCP

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Hungry Man, Aug 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    If I sandbox the MPC-HC process will it still be able to access the codecs/ other stuff necessary?

    Seems to be working so far. Wondering if anyone has experience.

    I figure if I CAN sandbox something I should sandbox something. And there's also the fact that media codecs can be malicious.


    To clarify, I'm talking about Comodo's sandboxing.
     
  2. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    I have not used Comodo's but I very often use it under sandboxie, with restrictions and dropped rights. So far no problem here, been using over a year. Also I would not bother about infected codecs, CCCP pretty reputable, though I use K-Lite MCP myself. I have often opened media files those are designed to download malwares when run under WMP, but those never worked with MPC, at least here.
     
  3. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I gotcha. Thanks.

    Also, I realize the threat of a malicious codec isn't exactly great but if it doesn't hurt to sandbox I may as well.
     
  4. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I used MPC for a long time sandboxed (sandboxie) and it never had trouble with CCCP nor KLite.
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats my thinking. Just a couple of days ago I used a program that don't
    use often, HJsplit. As I opened it, I realized that it was not sandboxed,
    add it to forced programs with the restrictions in place, right away.

    I don't use MPC but I know that it plays well sandboxed under Sandboxie
    supervision as I have tried it in a sandbox. In my honest opinion, if you
    want to run MPC sandboxed, use the best, use Sandboxie.

    If you decide to use SBIE, its better to have the registered version as
    it gives you the option to force MPC sandboxed but if you rather use
    the free version, as you are doing now, then create a sandboxed
    shortcut on your desktop.

    If I was using MPC I would stay away from codecs packs as I dont trust
    them but would install Real player alternative and Quick time alternative.
    You can get those from File Hippo and should have you cover pretty well.

    Bo
     
  6. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I would use sandboxie if the free version allowed me to force it. It doesn't, so I don't.
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats one of the few features that are different on both versions and a
    very, very nice feature but there is something you can do about it on
    the free version. Create a sandboxed shortcut for MPC. Its not the same
    but that way you ll open MPC sandboxed as you click on the shortcut.
    You could also use a sandboxed Windows Explorer and open all downloads
    sandboxed. The options are there for you. You don't want the shortcuts,
    right click on the file you want sandboxed or register your version:D .

    If you want to use the real thing, you know what you got to do.;)

    Bo
     
  8. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    A fair question I beleve; why would you use CCCP when MPC-HC have all necessary codecs included? MPC-HC itself works excellent with Sandboxie.
     
  9. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Except that I wouldn't be able to simply double click my video file and have it open in a sandboxed MPC. I've tried using the free version, it's too much of a pain. I may not be getting the full sandboxing features of Sandboxie when I use Comodo but at least it's a "set it and forget it" program... which sandboxie would be if I were willing to pay for 3rd party security software.

    Sometimes different codecs work better for different films. Though right now I don't think I'm using anything that isn't native, I have before though (such as Haali.)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.