Sandboxie -- Who has stopped using it and why?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Frank the Perv, Aug 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    hmmm, why not.
    check your PM.

    i will destroy my license when you tell me you have received it.
     
  2. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    Who has had bad experiences with Sandboxie?
    I didnt have a bad experience. Ran fine for me. I stopped using it because of the browser slow downs I was having.

    Is it a hassle?
    It is to do it right. I had a sandbox for all sorts of things. Browsers, email client, other internet facing apps, etc.

    Is it hard to learn?
    It can be tricky to get all of your programs to interface correctly within a sandbox. Some programs create temp files and cant write outside the sandbox to access them. I had an error with TheBat when this happened even though its got a spot in the compatibility settings.

    Are there conflicts with other common programs?
    Only ones I received were from TheBat and Outlook.

    Is the value that much greater than the built-in sandbox of Chrome?
    Dont use either. Cant comment.
     
  3. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    moontan, you're a gentleman!
    Thank you.
     
  4. noobian

    noobian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    If there are any more gentlemen out there, my PM box is also open! ;)

    (Now I feel like a Sandboxie whore :D )
     
  5. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    no problems!

    at least it s gonna be put to good use. :thumb:
     
  6. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    There are lot of gentlemen here :) I am also waiting for a PM from a gentleman....
     
  7. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i just hope Tzuk does not have a problem with this, transferring licenses.

    if Tzuk is ok with this and you are not using SBIE, maybe it can be put to good use by someone else.
    hopefully by a Wilders member. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,902
    Location:
    USA
    It looks like the newest beta support Windows 8, even though Windows 8 says otherwise. Reinstalled Sandboxie and it seems to be working.
     
  9. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Sandboxie Beta 3.81.07 x64 is working very well here. Tzuk has added an information box at the end of installation that this build is compatible with Windows 8 RTM, although MS need to release a patch to updated Windows 8 compatible programs. We may not have such update before GA of Windows 8 (Oct 26, 2012). For my installation, I am just waiting for a gentleman...
     
  10. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    I dont know why anyone would stop using this wonderful program,as for the license its a steal,you can use it on all computers you own and lifetime updates.

    If you have not bought it,then i would highly recommend you buy it,its the best piece of security software i have bought,and cant imagine going without it.
     
  11. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    :thumb: My thoughts exactly. I just hope Tzuk will not stop development of this great program, bacause of current licencing plan...

    I'm even willing to pay yearly subscritpion to use this program.
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,752
    Location:
    USA
    Me too. But putting such a plan in place might mean a decrease in program purchases, from people who would have been induced to buy because of the lifetime license. :doubt:
     
  13. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I don't do annual fees for software. That is leasing, and I don't lease.

    I buy software, and do what I please with what I bought. I would stop using Sandboxie if it went to a yearly lease.

    Sul.
     
  14. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    513

    You can still got for a one year licensing plan for 13 euros i think, and 29 euros for lifetime license.
    some people opt for one year license so that they can support the developer each year!
     
  15. ESQ_ERRANT

    ESQ_ERRANT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    In a previous thread -- "Post Your x64 Security Setup" -- I explained that I attempted, unsuccessfully, to use "SANDBOXIE" on my WIN7 PRO 64BIT RIG; that it made my system unstable and, ultimately, unbootable. Hence, I gave up on "SANDBOXIE," and have been looking for an alternative to it. Probably, the best bet is virtualization. I do have a license for "VMWARE WORKSTATION" and have used it in the past; however, as the program is so resource and space intensive, I have grown weary of it. I use the CHROME BROWSER which is, hopefully, more secure than IE9, and I regularly scan for malware and, as well, periodically, reformat my computer to its original pristine state.
     
  16. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I haven't had any problems putting SBIE on x64 win7 machines. I wonder what the cause is for those that do? Other security software, like AV maybe?

    Sul.
     
  17. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    944
    If you still want to use it, maybe try a clean Win7 install, add SB and check whether it works OK before adding your other programs. As Sully says, there may be friction with another program that you can narrow down this way.

    Just a thought...
     
  18. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Agree.
     
  19. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,101
    Sully, I totally agree, that's my one gripe! software that turns from being one that you can keep and have control of (on your own pc) which then (by increment when you upgrade at some point) insidiously "morphs" into a "service" and takes control and ownership away from the user. I hate rentware/leaseware. Some operating sytems are going this way, (more like spying/monitoring systems at default settings) wanting to immediately feedback to "home". This is one of the worst aspects of this type of licencing model and software structure. It shows a distinct lack of regard/respect for the privacy, security and independence of the customer.

     
  20. Snowden

    Snowden Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Posts:
    68
    I've been using it for a while just for the extra security of web surfing alone..I've gotten to the point whether I need multiple sandboxes so I'll be buying a yearly license soon.

    ...besides, it'll be nice to get rid of that popup message ;)
     
  21. ESQ_ERRANT

    ESQ_ERRANT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Thanks for the kind suggestions. I would not rule out instability resulting from incompatibilities created through installation of other security software since, as I will here acknowledge, I have attempted installing "SBIE" only as the last of my security software on my computer. Even so, I am not so certain that I would wish to refrain from using those security programs that I have been using for years and which include, "MBAM," "SUPERANTISPYWARE," and "EMSISOFT."

    Moreover, I am not employing unusual software on my RIG -- that is to say -- I am using programs that have been dealt with favorably and at length on this forum and have been or are, I assume, being used by others together with "SBIE," without associated compatibility problems.

    Perhaps, more likely, the problem has to do with particular hardware -- my choice of MOTHERBOARD, RAID CONTROLLERS, VIDEO ADAPTER and so forth and so on. If that is the case I would not be able to use "SBIE" in any event on my computer short of rebuilding the entire system from scratch.
     
  22. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    229
    Sandboxie is a great program, but since I started using AppGuard I found SB to be unnecessary. Been running AppGuard alone for almost a year now with no infections, although I run a daily scan with Hitman just to make sure.
     
  23. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Kid do you have any browser start up like you do in sandboxie? Also are you running in Lockdown or High?
     
  24. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Is AppGuard a lifetime license or an annual license?
     
  25. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Kind of lifetime. You don't have to upgrade till a new version. I believe bard said that they won't have a version 4 till next year sometime. It's a great little program. Similar to sandboxie, once you configure it, its pretty rock solid. It's worth the price of the license.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.