Sandboxie - using CCleaner for secure file deletion

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by luciddream, Sep 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Now you are telling me what I know!

    Sorry but I can't follow what my browser choices have to do the matter.

    Why are you name calling? hypocrite? obtuse? I guess you want to fight!

    It is possible to disagree about matters with out decending into names.

    But no matter. I use IE 9 for 99% of the time for the record and I'll bet M$ has it's reasons for bundling. I also use FF sometimes and Safari on the macs.



    My whole point on second guessing what vendors do without "knowing" what logical links they have made with other software is lost it seems on you. It must be my fault!

    Your post would carry more weight with me anyway if you avoided getting so personal and upset if somebody else questions your post. It is the content that matters not the messenger.
     
  2. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    I can't comment on Eraser 6 with Sandboxie but Eraser 5.7 works flawlessly on XP for deleting the sandbox. For now I've left it on the 3 pass overwrite that Sandboxie defaults to. Erasing the sandbox never takes more than 3 seconds here. Since moving the sandbox to a ramdrive, eraser 5 usually takes a bit over one second to wipe it with a 3 pass overwrite.

    I tried eraser 6 some time ago. It took less than a day for me to revert to eraser 5. IMO, the developer that took over eraser has ruined it. On XP, eraser 5 works flawlessly.
     
  3. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Could you be more specific please? Not sure what or where this option is? And is it in Sandboxie or CCleaner?
     
  4. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    473
    Location:
    US
    Hi lucid :)

    I think what Sordid stated refers to Ccleaner. If you go to Ccleaner, open it up and click "Options" then click "Advanced", there is an option to place a check that states, "Skip user account control warning".

    I found this setting creates a task listed in Task Manager for Ccleaner, and it skips any user account control warning when you have Ccleaner set to run from right clicking the Recycle bin and choosing "Run Cleaner", the task kicks in and runs ccleaner without the UAC warning.

    Hope that helps! :)

    Jim
     
  5. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Just a thought on this thread. Everybody knows that SBIE only securely deletes what's in the sandbox when you invoke the command right? Programs create and delete temp files all the time.

    By way if example if the browser uses a temp file to facilitate a download and then writes the download to the download directory it will likely delete the temp file. That temp file is therefore no longer in the sandbox to be securely deleted so open to recovery.

    Another advantage of the ram disc approach, its all gone.
     
  6. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    Interesting point. Another way around that would be have the delete command execute a batch script that wipes the files, then wipes the free space.
     
  7. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    This option doesn't exist in the XP version. I'd be interested in knowing if it works in Vista/7 though...
     
  8. The GLoW

    The GLoW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    USA
    After recently updating CCleaner on an XP system and on two Win7 systems, I was wondering why CCleaner was suddenly opening without UAC warning...but only on both of the Win7 computers.

    So I can confirm this is so for Windows 7 systems. No way of knowing for a Vista system.

    However, my setups do not have CCleaner running from the Recycle bin, unlike what Jim has stated. That's what seems to be working for me.
     
  9. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,060
    Why would i need ccleaner to securely delete the sandboxo_O
    When i close sandboxie everything is deleted anyway isnt it?:ninja:
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,024
    Location:
    UK
  11. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,060
  12. SSri09

    SSri09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    I have set the Sandboxie container folder on the RAM Drive. Do I still need the secure delete on the RAM Drive as every thing is lost on system shut down?

    Thansk
     
  13. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    No, for the reason you mentioned.
     
  14. SSri09

    SSri09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks.
     
  15. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    You're welcome. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.