Sandboxie users, where do you allow access?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Hungry Man, Nov 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hungry Man

Hungry Man Registered Member

Question for Sandboxie users, where is it that you allow access to most often?

Is there a folder you usually let programs read or write to? Is it completely per-application with no method? Usually in /user/*? Usually in program files? etc

Very curious.

2. Keyboard_Commando

Keyboard_Commando Registered Member

No access. Not even browsers for bookmarks. I am using a 3rd party bookmark application now so.

That used to be the only hole I let open.

3. Hungry Man

How many programs are you running in sandboxie? Which, if you don't mind?

Have you run into any compatibility issues? Are they installed to the sandbox or just running in it?

4. Keyboard_Commando

I have been using Sandboxie since early 2005'ish (off and on back then, but now permanent). I can probably count on one hand the amount of programs that I've had to allow direct access to folders/files because of a conflict. These have mostly been chat clients, and for their voice servers, and, mainly to do with Yahoo Messenger. Everything else has been practically faultless. And that is pretty remarkable, because, sometimes I have 3 or 4 different applications running all at the same time with Sandboxie (can be a resource hog). Apart from a few bluescreens and lock ups when I first started using Sandboxie ... I have had amazing reliability with it.

I run everything that connects to the internet inside a sandbox - Windows Live Mail, Yahoo Messenger, Skype, all browsers. For instance, I have Live Mail set up with defaults, so I do wonder which access rights have been given under this default setting (for deleting emails, and changing settings, etc) these settings are not displayed in the folder access rights. This is my only slight niggle that I am going to look into.