Sandboxie - Useful Configuration script

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by nanana1, Oct 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    Since there are a good number of sandboxie users here, let's share what are your added scripts in your sandboxie.ini file to allow/disallow programs and files, print, etc.
     
  2. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    To exclude Opera bookmarks changes, add this

    OpenFilePath=C:\Program Files\Opera\profile\opera6.adr
     
  3. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    How to allow print to fineprint and pdffactory drivers ?
     
  4. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    That's interesting, since as far as I am aware the default location of opera6.adr and indeed the Opera Profile is not in Program Files, so I am not sure how tthat would work.
     
  5. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    Add this.......

    OpenPipePath=\Device\NamedPipe\FPP3_Dispatcher_*

    OpenFilePath=%Local Settings%\Temp\~FP*
     
  6. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    To exclude Opera bookmarks changes, shouldn't it be this...

    OpenFilePath=C:\Documents and Settings\user\Application Data\Opera\Opera\profile\opera6.adr
     
  7. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    That looks closer, I don't actually know, just the other one looked wrong since it wasn't a path to the Opera profile. I've never had any luck with these things, too dumb I guess. ;)
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    This has worked for me. Latest beta of Sandboxie does away with need to add these lines manually. Menu items update the file for you.
     
  9. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    I use my Opera in a single user setup, hence the profile is in the program files folder. For those who uses multiple users setup in XP, the other setting by brother 19monty64 should be used.
     
  10. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    With the latest beta v3.02.27, you can do as Pete said but you can also do it the previous usual way by adding these scripts in the sandboxie.ini file (just don't add at the top, add these scripts somewhere in the middle of the .ini file and they will work.)

    Note : Beta 3.02.27 will NOT work in a domain environment, regardless if it is registered or free version.

    Any more useful scripts brothers here can contribute ? what's about file printing ? what's your script ?
     
  11. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Thanx nanana1 for that explanation, the mists of my confusion clear ;) I learn something new on this site every day.
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,283
    Location:
    England
    I am a single user but my bookmarks are in the docs and settings area.

    If when in opera, if you do help>about opera, it lists where everything is kept on your computer and my single user bookmarks are in....

    C:\Documents and Settings\User\Application Data\Opera\Opera\profile\opera6.adr
     
  13. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    That means when you install opera, you've selected the multiple user configuration.
     
  14. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    When 9.5 comes out, I'll install your way. I'd rather have everything together in the Programs folder, thanx!
     
  15. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,283
    Location:
    England
    To be honest, I don't recall being offered a choice. I cannot see why I would have chosen multiple user configuration when there is only one computer in the house, but there you go:)

    Edit.. Just read this Nanana1 so you were right.

    http://www.opera.com/docs/operafiles/
     
  16. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    the option shows up when you first install, something like if you use multiple profiles, you will need to uncheck it. I've done both configurations on different computers. :)
     
  17. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I just did the same for Firefox
    Open file path=C:\Documents and Settings\Rodney Rodriguez\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\w4zik7jy.default/bookmarks-1.html :D
     
  18. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    ClosedFilePath=%Personal%

    This keeps a sandboxed application from accessing My Documents. A good privacy addition if you have sensitive data in My Documents.
     
  19. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947

    Very nice !.....thanks for sharing.

    Anyone knows how do I configure it to access my home and office printers?
     
  20. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,283
    Location:
    England
    I did that a few weeks ago, but then when I wanted to do a screenshot for a forum while surfing in opera, I couldn't access my pics which were in my documents!

    Obviously I could have come out of the sandbox and copied my pic to the desktop as a workaround.
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    That is indeed the beauty of that approach. Your data isn't available to anything running sandboxed. Your right stapp, all you needed to do is minimize the browser and move the picture.
     
  22. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    Latest beta version 3.02.29 is now out !:D

    Should be final soon.*puppy*
     
  23. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    Latest stable version 3.20 is now out....everything is configurable in the GUI now and configuration script will be rather useless for the most part except for some of you with some specific and unusual applications.

    Hence, this thread is declared closed.:ninja:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.