Sandboxie Technologies (SBIE Open source)

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by bo elam, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    69,470
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,592
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks a lot, totally forgot about this site, I really hate GitHub, such a stupid design with no clear download links.
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,470
    Location:
    UK
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,592
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK so that's the trick, you need to scroll to the bottom. But believe me, I have often been to GitHub sites, with no clear download link, as if it's the least important thing, doesn't make any sense.
     
  5. SpywareBlasterUser

    SpywareBlasterUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    ok it looks like the sophos community has referred me here if i need any help with sandboxie since the official forums are closed and sophos' own sandboxie forums are set to read only mode....

    ok, my issue is i get a SBIE2327 error and according to this forum, its to do with adobe software compatibility but i took that off as suggested and error still comes up. i look more into it and an old archive site says it could be because i have 32 or more characters in the sandbox name, except i did a count and had exactly 31 characters which according to the page should work. This forum goes nowhere and thats the only other place that makes mention of it. so im not sure what do... it doesnt seem to effect browsing but the error popping up everytime i launch firefox in it is starting to get annoying....
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,470
    Location:
    UK
  7. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    Viena
  8. SpywareBlasterUser

    SpywareBlasterUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    In the past when someone had some sort of compatibility issues between Sandboxie and adobe software one of the things to try was to disable Protected mode in Adobe. I don't know if adobe still comes with PM but if it does, try disabling it and see what happens. Protected mode is like the sandboxing protection that comes with Adobe. If you dont see any setting in adobe with the name PM, it is possible it is using some other name for it. That you need to figure out. Basically what I am saying is that disabling sandboxing in Adobe might fix your issue.

    You should post the actual build number of the W10 you are using. For example, right now latest stable is 21H1 19043.1202.

    Also, you could install Sandboxie version 5.33.6. FWIW, all is well between this version of SBIE and the latest stable version of W10. No recovery issues, no deleting issues, no nothing issues, etc.

    Bo
     
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,840
    @bo elam
    may i ask a question ?
    seeing sandboxie is opensource , is there a develop of the code adding more security or mostly is a fix of several issues (i mean sandboxie classic )?
    thanks
     
  11. SpywareBlasterUser

    SpywareBlasterUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh you mean windows 10 build number? I thought you meant sandboxie build version... Mine is 20H2 19042.1165
     
  12. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    Viena
    See the changelog: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/blob/master/CHANGELOG.md
    everything not Plus UI releated (most of the stuff) is also improved in the classic release
     
  13. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,840
  14. Moreudomoreuget

    Moreudomoreuget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Posts:
    20
    Sandboxie (5.31.6) works with my Firefox, but Chrome doesn't seem to be working. The Chrome browser opens for a second, doesn't load and instantly disappears. Wondering if anyone else has had this issue with Chrome?
    I am on Windows 10

    On second thought, maybe I should try switching to the Plus version in case that smooths out the issue.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2021
  15. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    Viena
    for most users it does
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Not long ago you posted about this same issue, at that time I wrote a reply for you with the solution. You did not acknowledge it so perhaps you didn't see it. But anyway, to workaround the issue you need to change the target path of the shortcuts you are using to open Chrome. With this version of SBIE, you must do the workaround, otherwise when running Chromium based browsers in a sandbox you ll experience what you described. With the Plus version, I am not sure if you have to use the workaround.

    I don't use Chrome, but the path below is what I am using in my shortcut to run Edge in a sandbox named Edge. Change msedge.exe to chrome.exe, and change the name of the sandbox to the one you are using for Chrome.

    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" /box:Edge msedge.exe --no-sandbox --test-type"

    If I wanted to run Edge in the Default sandbox, the path below is what I would need for that. If this is what you prefer, delete msedge.exe and write chrome.exe instead.

    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\Start.exe" msedge.exe --no-sandbox --test-type"

    Other than this, everything else is working great between SBIE 5.33.6 and Edge in W10 21H1 with latest updates. It should be the same result with Chrome.

    Bo
     
  17. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    Viena
    No you don't the chrome sandbox works just fin in modern sbie builds
     
  18. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    877
    Location:
    usa

    Bo,

    I've started using Osiris browser. It's a new browser based on Chrome.
    The only one issue (so far) I have with Osiris - when using Osiris with Sandboxie, I can't add bookmarks.
    How could I add Osiris browser to Sandboxie's Web Browser settings, like Firefox, Chrome, etc.?

    Thank you.
     
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    For browsers like Osiris (Not included in Sandbox settings>Applications>Web Browser), to save bookmarks out of the sandbox, you must give the browser direct file access to the files where the browser stores the bookmark data.

    Give access to the files below. Those are the files I give access to Edge for saving bookmarks (Edge is like Osiris, a chromium based browser that don't have settings in Sandbox settings>Applications>Web Browser. So, look for the similar files in the same location for Osiris, after you give the access, you ll be able to save bookmarks.

    %Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Bookmarks
    %Local AppData%\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\Favicons

    Bo
     
  20. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    877
    Location:
    usa
    Thank you. I'll take a quick course, "101 - How to give ACCESS to a Sandboxed Browser."
     
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,002
    Location:
    .
  22. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    877
    Location:
    usa
  23. SpywareBlasterUser

    SpywareBlasterUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Finally got around to installing version 5.51.5 classic and I still get the issue.....

    [​IMG]

    Maybe I should downgrade back to 5.33.6....
     

    Attached Files:

  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,002
    Location:
    .
    Direct File Access (OpenFilePath)
    Full File Access (OpenPipePath)
     
  25. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    That is really the preferred way. For better security, IMO, Full file access should be avoided if it can be avoided. Try to use only Direct file access. Some programs you install might require (for compatibility) you to implement Full file access to something. I think is better to stay away from this type of programs. Remember, File access settings open holes in the sandbox, while the one that's opened with Direct file access is a nothing hole, the one that's opened with Full file access is larger and potentially dangerous (all programs running in the sandbox, will have access to the file, this includes programs that might be downloaded into the sandbox, malware included).

    If you want to see an example of Full file access (OpenPipe Path), tick the setting for Google hangouts in Applications>Miscellaneous (you ll be able to do this if the SBIE version you are using still has this set of settings). And go to the Full file access setting Window afterward, you will see something like this (below). This setting was implemented by Curt or tzuk years ago at a time when some people were reporting issues between SBIE and Google. At the time, and ever after, I never had this particular issue so I have always unticked that setting.

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.