Sandboxie Technologies (SBIE Open source)

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by bo elam, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,214
    Location:
    Canada
    Great news that Tom is on the road to recovery. Thanks for the update, bo.
     
  2. Elwe Singollo

    Elwe Singollo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    114
    Thanks Bo, for the avoidance of doubt I for one do care. Firstly out of common human decency and the hope Tom's issues ease and secondly because llike others think it could be a positive development for all SBIE developers and users. He does after all have a history with the product that may prove beneficial to all as the product develops and the interest in this thread and comments in others suggests an interest in an alternative approach to the Plus version may gain some traction.

    Regards
     
  3. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I'm just glad to hear that Tom is alive. I was honestly wondering.... Sorry to hear he has been unwell and struggling. I wish him a speedy recovery and for life to settle down soon.

    As for returning to the Sandboxie project, I think that's good news, when he feels good and ready. Personally I'm very happy with what David has achieved with Sandboxie - esp in fixing at least ten security issues, which is a massive accomplishment.

    Thanks for the update Bo.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2021
  4. Dirk41

    Dirk41 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Posts:
    22
    Hi everyone!
    I am here because I was using sbie 5.33.3 and I found that Firefox was not displaying my addons (ublock origin and https everywhere) even if they were enabled.
    I can see them on the top right if I use firefox outside sbie.
    So I found SBIE wasn't able to find updates automatically or manually, I went here https://sandboxie-plus.com/downloads/ and downloaded the latest classic version, but I still can't display my addons in firefox just while I use sandboxie.

    Firefox 64 bit, latest version, windows 10

    could someone tell me why?

    thank you for supporting this project


    EDIT: problem solved by his own, I don't know how
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2021
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,887
    In case of private browsing or not using a history (which is same as private browsing) you need to tick to allow extensions work also in private browsing mode.
     
  6. getinmysandbox

    getinmysandbox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi guys, long time sandboxie user and new to the forums. I'm using 5.33.6 and thinking about upgrading. I've been reading up but I've been unable to find some of the answers.

    As I understand, I should backup the sandboxie.ini file, but if I remove sandboxie 5.33.6, will it remove my current sandbox and all the content? If so, what happens if I just overrite the installation like I used to?

    I've been experiencing memory issues with Google Chrome when using 5.33.6, and I do not know what is causing it. Has there been any links between Chrome/sandboxie and memory issues as of late?

    Is it possible to let googleupdate through the sandbox while browsing, or is there another way to keep chrome updated while using it sandboxed? As of now, I will have to go to chrome outside of the sandbox to update it, then go back in to use the updated version.

    Thanks, and a big thanks to everyone who continues to work on sandboxie.
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,969
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi. I think Sandboxie gives you a message reminding you to delete contents of all sandboxes before uninstalling SBIE. So, I don't believe you can unistall the program before deleting all contents. If you overwrite the installation, you won't have to delete contents.

    At this time, to upgrade Sandboxie you ll have to do it to David's version (Sandboxie Plus). I am not following his version very closely, I read sometimes you have to uninstall 5.33.6 first before doing the upgrade to Plus, but I also read that you dont have to uninstall 5.33.6 before upgrading, so I am not sure what is the current status on this. Regardless, it is probably healthier to start clean, so if it was me, I probably would delete all contents in all sandboxes, and uninstall SBIE. And start from point 0. Create new sandboxes and do the set up all new. Takes longer? Yes, but is healthier.
    I can't tell you anything about Chrome but I can about Chromium Edge. As of right now, Edge runs very well under Sandboxie 5.33.6, low memory usage, feels very light. The only reason why I don't move 100% of my browsing to Edge from Firefox is because of the automatic updates. Thats how good Edge runs under 5.33.6, IMO.

    For security reasons, Sandboxie doesn't allow browser updates to be done in the sandbox. So, lets hope that never changes. Not being able to do this updates in the sandbox is the reason I don't permanently switch to Edge from Firefox but at the same time I realize this works the way it should. Hopefully, no one changes how this works. Doing it would weaken Sandboxie.

    Bo
     
  8. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Austria
    Hi Bo,
    I could imagine that "getinmysandbox" simply meant the change to the latest version (as an ordinary "update") - not necessarily an "upgrade" in the technical sense (to a more advanced release of the software).

    From this point of view you are right that an upgrade would lead to Sandboxie Plus. But if a simple update is enough for the user, he has the option of David's Sandboxie Classic.

    Concerning the practical advices, I think you already gave the essential information. Just in addition for getinmysandbox:
    - As you write by yourself: Whatever you do, don't forget to backup your ini.file.
    - Especially when you are interested in using the Sandboxie Classic version, I think you can at least try to install over the existing version 5.33.6 in order to preserve all you want to. If during the setup an uninstalling of the old version is required, you will have to do it anyway. (But of course the most clean method is the one recommended by Bo: to install from scratch.)
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2021
  9. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    723
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Hi,:thumb:

    Watch when you get a second below: Sandboxie
    vs

    hxxps:// www. youtube.com/watch?v=yS9_PNSXwoQ
    Look good to me......:geek:
     
  10. grich

    grich Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    montreal
    How do I do the following?

    I got a Sandboxed application (let's call this application 1) that calls up another application (let's call this application 2).

    How do i get application 2 to be un-sandboxed, while leaving application 1 sandboxed? Reason is that application 2 runs too slowly in a sandbox.
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,969
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi grich. What you want is something that can't be done with Sandboxie. IMO, it is a good thing that it can't be done The reason being that if good clean programs that are running sandboxed were allowed (to be set up via settings) to open up other programs that are supposed to run under Sandboxie's supervision to instead open and run outside the sandbox, if this option was available, it is something that bad (malware) programs could take advantage of and make it easier for them to infect the computer. An option like this would weaken Sandboxie.

    Bo
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,969
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I just updated to 19043, Sandboxie 5.33.6 seems to be working well. So far I used Firefox and opened a Word file using Libre Office and opened a Zip file using 7Zip and all was well. It appears 5.33.6 is gonna keep going for at least a while longer. Right now I must go out but when I come back I will test all I do with SBIE in a daily basis to see what happens. :)

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
  13. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Sandboxie 5.33.6 still working well here also with the latest windows 10 update.
     
  14. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    MI
    Hi, sorry in advance if this is a simple and/or stupid question.

    Chrome has a .exe in it called the software_reporter_tool.exe

    This thing runs occasionally with high CPU and disk load, and it is an unnecessary tool for me.

    I've stopped it from running when chrome is not sandboxed, but when chrome runs in the sandbox, this file is run. Maddening.

    I clean my sandbox after every use and it gets regenerated.

    Is there a setting in sandboxie to stop this thing from running?

    The closest thing appears to be the program start/run restrictions but that appears to allow running and not prevent it?

    Thanks.
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,969
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hello g17. Yes, the closest thing for doing what you want is Start/Run restrictions. If you don't allow software_reporter_tool.exe, it shouldn't run (no ifs). Perhaps you should create a new sandbox, and enable the restrictions, and keep an eye on SBIE message 1308. This message tells you when something that is not allowed to run, tries to run. Also keep an eye on SBIE control, as whatever is running in the sandbox, appears in SBIE control. The reason for creating a new sandbox is because perhaps the one you are using now for Chrome is corrupted.

    Bo
     
  16. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    MI
    Thanks Bo. Why would you say the sandbox is corrupted?

    Also, I am having trouble understanding this option, here is a screenshot. This is v5.49.7 by the way.

    Capture.JPG

    The top line says the following programs will be the only ones allowed to start and run in this sandbox.

    The bottom line says they will never be allowed to start or run? Confusion.

    I just want to stop software_reporter_tool.exe

    It is a Google annoyance. It recreates itself in the sandbox after I delete it and runs with high CPU use. Thanks. Is there another way to block it?

    I can stop it from phoning home easy but I really want to stop it from running.
     
  17. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Poland
    I use this feature its for hardering security..
    Technicaly you can run all software in sandboxie and this software can launch other process/task ofc also in sandbox.

    If you configure it for example add only vivaldi.exe

    Only vivaldi will be able to start if you for example start downloaded text file in notepad.txt sandboxie will block notepad bc its not in the list process allowed.
    So if keyloger will infect your browser and start launch other process with this feature you will block other unwanted process.

    Don't forget also check option for restriction with network and file/folder access
     
  18. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,913
    Location:
    .
    Yes, by adding a restriction >
    "the following programs will be the only ones allowed to start and run in this sandbox"
    "programs that are installed (or downloaded) into this sandbox will never be allowed to start or run".

    Chrome browser (installed on your host) is not installed (or downloaded) into this Chrome sandbox.
    The files necessary for Chrome to run in your Chrome sandbox are copied over.
    Unwanted that finds it's way into your Chrome sandbox will not be allowed to start or run.
    -
    Add a restriction....for example: chrome.exe in your Chrome sandbox.
    png_10747.png
    -
    without a restriction
    "All program can start and run"
    png_10748.png
    Edit: I C Bo
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2021
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,969
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome, g17. A corrupted sandbox? Sometimes a sandbox goes bad over time, it can happen, or a setting you have put in place messes other things up. If something in Sandboxie is supposed to work one way but it doesn't, that would be a tell tale sign that a sandbox is corrupted. That was the impression I got that perhaps thats what happened after reading your first post, but now after reading your second post, I can tell that that is not the case, is just that you dont know how the Start Run settings work.

    Short and easy. By default, Sandboxie allows all programs to run in the sandbox. This changes once you add the first program to the list. When you do that, the sandbox becomes Start/Run restricted. That means that only the programs in the list will be allowed to run in this sandbox. Any program not on the list that attempts to run, will be blocked by Sandboxie (software_reporter included).

    Bo
     
  20. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    MI
    OK many thanks all, I got it now.
     
  21. mmlr

    mmlr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    n/a
    I'm slowly beginning to doubt that Tom's Sandboxie will ever be made.
     
  22. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,919
    Location:
    Mexico
    Are you waiting for it? If so why? I mean, @DavidXanatos fork is solid and well done. He fixes issues Sophos team never did, just one man job.
     
  23. mmlr

    mmlr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    n/a
    I waited because I was a hardened conservative and thought something would come of it.
    Unfortunately there has been nothing new for a year. Time to test David's compilation.
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,969
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I think that's OK mmir. My attitude with Sandboxie technologies is like this, if it happens it happens, if it doesn't, it doesn't. When tzuk left before he left, I thanked him and told him that anything we got from Sandboxie afterward, from my point of view, I would take it as gravy. I told Curt this same thought years ago, way before Invincea/Sandboxie was purchased by Sophos. From the moment SBIE was taken over by Invincea and later by Sophos, there were people in both companies that didn't care about SBIE and wanted to kill it. So, from my point of view, we been in gravy mood for quite a long time.

    I am not worried or even thinking about Tom. He knows Sandboxie needs him. I hope he gets everything with his health and life in a position that allows him to start working on SBIE. If it does, it does, if it doesn't, it doesn't. That's my attitude. He doesn't owes anything. I posted what he told me not long ago and asked him if it was OK to post here at Wilders what he told me and he said, yes.

    Anyway, Sandboxie 5.33.6 is working just fine with W10 21H1. It's not clunky, SBIE feels the same and works as it has always. Thats what I want from SBIE, nothing else. I see no reason to get desperate or to make a move, right now, I am getting from SBIE what I want and need. I read posts and the other threads about SBIE here at Wilder's and people are reporting problems with Firefox and Edge, Vivaldi, etc. I use Firefox and Edge, and both are working just fine along SBIE. With Edge, I am using the no-sandbox --test-type thing to start the browser but other than that, nothing else its happening. I dont know if people using Davids version are having issues caused by what he is doing or are non issues caused by rookie mistakes (this has always been the biggest cause of issues with SBIE) but as of today, the 6th of June, SBIE 5.33.6 is A1Ok with the browsers and programs I run in a daily basis. Why get desperate? No need.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2021
  25. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Austria
    I am conservative too. ;) And I can assure you that when using David's classical version of Sandboxie (currently 5.49.8 ) you will feel or see no significant difference to the last versions released by Sophos. As alternative, of course you can stay with the Sophos version like described above by bo elam. I simply would not do it because of security reasons.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.