Sandboxie technical tests and other technical topics discussion thread

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by MrBrian, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,240
    For those who have CCleaner installed you can use its secure delete (overwrite passes) to automatically
    delete the sandboxes. Have used an older version of Eraser in the past though with Sandboxie.
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You would expect that "hh.exe" is opened whenever you open a CHM file, but that apparently does not always happen, I don't get it.
     
  3. 142395

    142395 Guest

    I wrote wrong English (and no more editable), I meant "When you open html file via Firefox, do you expect iexplore.exe to be invoked?"

    CHM is not sth special, it's just a compressed html file and hh.exe is default interpreter for it. Basically any file types can be opened by any proper interpreter, you won't expect word.exe invoked when you open it from LibreOffice. So unless your interpreter internally use hh.exe, it won't be invoked.
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I can't get Silverlight to work inside a sandboxed FF and Opera 12, installation goes correctly, but I can't play videos. Do you guys have the same?
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    No Problem here. I assume you have the silverlight stuff allowed to run and also to access the internet
     
  6. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    Ditto. Googling suggested it might be an old problem.
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You know, Silverlight has to be one of the crappiest apps ever to be made. I never could make it work on Win XP. With Flash I never had any major issues. M$ should be ashamed of themselves for producing such crap. The strange thing is that it install just fine on Win 8, outside but also inside the sandbox.

    I didn't know that you need to give it network access? I will check that.
     
  8. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    Is it the DRM aspect not working? Or any test video too?

    I can't install in a sandbox and do test videos.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Rasheed, I dont maintain Silvelight in my computers but I installed it sandboxed and was able to watch Microsoft videos like the one in the link below. If you have the link for a video that you cant play, please post it here and I ll check it out.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/help/getting-started#T1=tab01

    Bo

    Sin título1 - copia.jpg
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Good point, I can indeed also play the test video. But videos on rtlxl.nl don't work, like this one:

    http://www.rtlxl.nl/#!/the-voice-kids-274109/a1700558-1431-3358-ae5b-ef1e49f21b2d

    EDIT: Some videos on this site are presented in Flash and they do work, so there's no excuse.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2015
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I couldn't get to play either in FF or IE11
     
  12. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    Is DropMyRights enabled? That might interfere as well.
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Rasheed, I don't think Sandboxie has anything to do with why Silverlight videos are not working on the Dutch site. I installed Silverlight unsandboxed and ran Firefox out of the sandbox and couldn't play this video. I only tried with Firefox in W7 32 bits.

    http://www.rtlxl.nl/#!/alles-mag-op-vrijdag-337495/3566b57f-4eb3-43ed-ba0a-9c4d00bf4695[plain]

    Bo

    .
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, so looks like it's problem on the site, what a bunch of amateurs.

    No, I don't use this setting to avoid problems.

    Correct, outside the sandbox it also doesn't work, so Silverlight is indeed crap.
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Last edited: May 16, 2015
  16. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
  17. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  18. meatouph

    meatouph Guest

    Thunderbird sandbox for Thunderbird
    Firefox sandbox for Firefox

    How to make Thunderbird links open in Firefox sandbox?
     
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You might want to check this Sandboxie Contributed utility. I have never used it or tested it so dont know if it works now (No update in a long time) but it was designed for doing what you want.
    http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=12544

    Bo
     
  20. meatouph

    meatouph Guest

    Thank you for your reply. To be honest I don't get why people sandbox e-mail client. For what?
     
  21. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I am not using an email client now. But I was using one when I started using Sandboxie in early 2009. At the time I was still using an antivirus and for a long time before becoming a SBIE user I had gotten used to using Outlook express without the mail shield, protection from the AV. So, for a while after becoming a SBIE user, I didn't sandbox Outlook express. Then later, I said why not. Sandboxing the client did not slow down anything or make things inconvenient for me in any way. I never made a mistake using the client without protection from the AV but by sandboxing the client, if I made a mistake opening a bad attachment or clicking the wrong link, I was still safe. If I was to use an email client again, I would sandbox it.

    Bo
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Here's another interesting article, about the risk of CHM files:

    http://blog.checkpoint.com/2015/05/12/the-microsoft-help-file-chm-may-enslave-you/

    I must admit, MS Office 2013 still won't run sandboxed on my machine, I still need to post it on the SBIE forum. I'm currently running WPS Office inside the sandbox, but I'm not really happy with it, it's not stable.
     
  23. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I think you should post about your Office 2013 issues at the SBIE forum. I use Office 2003 in my XP and works great, same with Libre in W7. I recommend you take a look at Libre, it works really nice under Sandboxie. I think I told you a couple of times before, wont do it again, but in my opinion, running Libre sandboxed is so much nicer than running WPS. Whatever I want to do with any of Libres programs I can do under Sandboxie. Works really smooth. No issue whatsoever. I use the portable version.

    Bo
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Only problem is non of the other "office" programs have anything close to outlook, and I need to use outlook
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.