Sandboxie Plus 1.0.0

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Nov 17, 2021.

  1. soccerfan

    soccerfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Posts:
    253
    This options menu is really cool!
    The button for 'Start Restrictions' may be more appropriate in green perhaps (just nit picking)?
     
  2. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    504
    Location:
    Austria
    No, not green - better red. :D
    I am joking a little bit, but indeed it would be more consistent in red than in green because the button concerns restrictions - that means something that shall not run.
     
  3. soccerfan

    soccerfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Posts:
    253
  4. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,392
    Location:
    Viena
    Well that depands on the sellected radio button one mode is allow all except i.e. block something and the otehr is block everythign except, i.e. allow only something
    so than the icon should change teh color?
     
  5. soccerfan

    soccerfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Posts:
    253
    This could drag into an 'opinion war', please leave it be.
    I'm sure there are other issues you are working on
    to resolve for the next build that take precedence!
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, so in other words, it might work for some people and for others not. About Vivaldi, it's quite easy to test. Just install it and surf to a couple of websites, exactly as you would do on Edge, Opera and Chrome. Installation should go rather quick and obviously it's safe to use. And of course it should be installed outside the sandbox, but you probably already knew that.
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thanks, then I misunderstood. I thought that sandboxing was completely disabled and Sandboxie would only virtualize software installation similar to Symantec Workspace Virtualization for example. I wonder if this less secure mode would fix the problem with browsers like Firefox and Vivaldi starting to malfunction after a while when they are installed inside the sandbox.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Application_virtualization
     
  8. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Yummy! Thanks a lot!
     
  9. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,471
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Is anyone noticing Plus is using slightly more cpu than prev. versions? Now, pls. don't poo-poo this but the prev. version to this one had the cpu never going above 0% on idle. This version is 1-2% when system is idle. No boxed browser would be open then.

    I exited out of Plus and cpu immed. went to 0% in Task Manager--simple cause and effect. This is a fairly strong cpu so it's all relative. Is there anything about this latest Plus version that would justify the admittedly slight increase in cpu demand while idle?

    Edit: another crash. Only things I recall doing are exiting out of the Plus UI and Disabling Forced Programs.
    sbiesvc crash 1252021.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2021
  10. sevenstar

    sevenstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    BSOD today Windows 10 with PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA with Sandboxiw Plus version 1.0 :(
     
  11. Monica2000

    Monica2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Spain
    If you read previous posts you will see that you are not alone in this.
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,800
    Location:
    UK
    @DavidXanatos
    Any update on the BSOD's and the SbieSvc crashes that we are getting if we use Plus 1.0 or Classic 5.55?
     
  13. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,800
    Location:
    UK
  15. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    268
    In the latest Windows 11 (version 21H2 build: 22000.348 Sandboxie Plus (ver 1.00 and 0.9.8.4) does not work. Firefox (94.0.2 (64 bit) launches, but I don't see it in Sandboxie among the running programs. The yellow frame is not visible in Firefox either. I tried a completely clean install for both versions, but that didn't work either, it didn't run the program, the situation is the same. I usually start with a batch file:

    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie-Plus\Start.exe" "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -no-remote -P Karcsu
    or:
    Code:
    Target: "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie-Plus\Start.exe" "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -no-remote -P Karcsu
    startup location : "C:\Program Files\Sandboxie-Plus\"

    On the first startup it works a few times, then it doesn't, if I run it in two copies, the second one starts correctly. I do not understand.
    It doesn't run other browsers (edge, chrome) too, but it does run other programs.

    I also tried "run default web browser" within Sandboise, but it still doesn't run in sandboxie.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2021
  16. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    322
    It seems the sandboxie classic thread is closed. So I have to report it here.

    In Sandboxie Classic 5.53.3, Win 11, Firefox 94.0.2 doesn't run in a sandbox. I have tried it Forced. I have tried it non-forced. I have tried setting Firefox as the default browser and using Sandboxie systray menu > Firefox sandbox > Run Web Browser. They all try to run WerFault (the windows error reporter)
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2021
  17. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,392
    Location:
    Viena
    Sorry for that to many channels of communication + poor social skills a good combination doe snot make.
    So the BSOD's reported in github seam to have the same reason and I'll release soon a new build where this should be fixed.
     
  18. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,800
    Location:
    UK
    And are the SbieSvc crashes caused by the same reason do you think?
     
  19. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,392
    Location:
    Viena
    No its its not relates to the BSOD, but i think its the new OpenClsid handling which I'll also roll back in the next build
     
  20. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,800
    Location:
    UK
    Thank you for the info David.
     
  21. sevenstar

    sevenstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    Thanks for your update. :shifty:
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,800
    Location:
    UK
    I had a SbieSvc crash using 5.53.3 yesterday.
    I had been on 5.55 but after the BSOD and SbieCrashes I went back to 5.53.3 (installed over the top of 5.55)
    Perhaps a clean install of next build may help?

    Source
    Sandboxie Service
    Summary
    Stopped working
    Date
    ‎06/‎12/‎2021 10:54
    Status
    Report sent
    Description
    Faulting Application Path: C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\SbieSvc.exe
    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: BEX64
    Application Name: SbieSvc.exe
    Application Version: 5.53.3.0
    Application Timestamp: 617d91af
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_ace2
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
    Exception Offset: PCH_9B_FROM_ntdll+0x000000000009D8C4
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Data: 0000000000000008
    OS Version: 10.0.19044.2.0.0.256.48
    Locale ID: 2057
    Additional Information 1: ace2
    Additional Information 2: ace27bfbf11f10352ee51d1cbccf6190
    Additional Information 3: 7b29
    Additional Information 4: 7b2905ace7e749f517959c8ba22716a6
    Extra information about the problem
    Bucket ID: 9abd04f299e4363c9c1dd0ecfdf3936d (2026005123678049133)
     
  23. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,392
    Location:
    Viena
    Fixes should not be features, they are fixes.

    The validity is as write on the shop page
    Small: 1 year, after expiration new features get disabled in all builds
    Medium: 1 years, after expiration new features get disabled only in builds newer than the expiration date
    Large: 2 years, new features added after expiration don't get unlocked but exclusive features added before that date remain functional even in newer builds
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.