Sandboxie Plus 1.0.0

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Nov 17, 2021.

  1. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
    Log name: Application
    Source: Application Error
    Date: 24-11-2021 08:02:46
    Event ID:1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level:Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: n/a
    Computer: ****
    Description:
    Application name with error: SbieSvc.exe, version: 5.55.0.0, timestamp: 0x6192a18d
    Module name with error: msvcrt.dll, version: 7.0.19041.546, timestamp: 0x564f9f39
    Exception code: 0x40000015
    Error code: 0x00000000ae22
    Id of process with error: 0x748
    Start time of application with error: 0x01d7e10113a8a610
    Path to application with error: C:³Program Files³-Sandboxie-PlusbieSvc.exe
    Path to module with error: C:\WINDOWSystem32\msvcrt.dll
    Rapport-id: 6c57d6bb-ac33-4136-8fa8-fd84afb296fc
    Full package name with error:
    Relative application id of package with error:

    Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
     
  2. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
    Application name with error: SbieSvc.exe, version: 5.55.0.0, timestamp: 0x6192a18d
    Module name with error: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, timestamp: 0x00000000
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Error code: 0x000001e59554fa70
    Id of process with error: 0x2318
    Application start time with error: 0x01d7dd1fc35efaf1
    Path to application with error: C:³Program Files³-Sandboxie-Plus³SbieSvc.exe
    Path to module with error: unknown
    Rapport-id: 6f51573b-1112-468f-9551-59f8944cec39
    Full package name with error:
    Relative application id of package with error:

    Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
     
  3. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Noted this setting in my Default Sandbox today, and saw that the option "Drop Rights for Administrators and Power Users" is recommended, is actually unchecked. I suspect this is the default setting, because I would not generally untick something like this which looks like a security thing and is recommended In big bold letters!

    @DavidXanatos (or someone knowledgeable with Sandboxie Plus and this particular feature) - is this unchecked by default in your settings? If I tick it, as per recommended, will it cause any particular issues? If so, what sort? I do run my machines as an administrator pretty much 95% of the time.

    drop rights admin SBplus.png
     
  4. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,175
    Location:
    .
    [DefaultBox] with default options.
    png_12800.png
    You may create new box with Default Presets and use the box as reference.
    png_12802.png
    Or, create new box/s for daily use and retain [DefaultBox] for reference.
    Or, remove [DefaultBox]. [DefaultBox] will be recreated with default options.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2021
  5. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    504
    Location:
    Austria
    Yes, it seems to be unchecked by default. (You can test it by creating a new sandbox.)

    But I use this "Drop rights" feature already a long time. So when I changed from Sandboxie Classic to Sandoxie Plus the box was checked automatically because of the transfer of the old Sandboxie.ini-file for my existing sandboxes.

    At least for my limited use of Sandboxie - more or less only for sandboxing my web browser - I don't have any issues at all with it.
     
  6. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Thanks Peter 123 and bjm_. Good to know it wasn't something that I unchecked at some time or another. I've ticked it in my default box for now, as it's easy enough to un-tick it if there are any issues. My default box is generally only used to run my default browser (Edge) on this machine - so just a mix of surfing, streaming,downloading etc.

    Good to know you've not experienced any issues with it enabled Peter 123. :)
     
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,175
    Location:
    .
    RE: v1.0
    Do web pages feel like they load slower with v1.0?
    Edge throwing "This page isn't responding" dialog.
    Just me?
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2021
  8. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Not for me bjm_ - just as snappy as normal. Mind you I've only upgraded to 1.0 on my Windows 11 machine, which is running noticeably more snappy in general than when it was on 10.
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,175
    Location:
    .
    Okay...my Edge has been intermittent wonky with Norton Community.
    as test: I'm back with 0.9.8d
    Edit: I'm back with 1.0.0
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2021
  10. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    322
    Using Win 11, Sandboxie Classic 5.53.3 and I use Force Chrome 96.0.4664.45 to run in a sandbox. Chrome does not appear to start, but Sandboxie recognizes that there are processes inside the sandbox. Task Manager shows chrome is running. But nothing appears on screen.

    I use the Force Chrome to run in sandbox because it is not the default browser.

    If I set Chrome to be the default browser, and use Sandboxie Classics's right click option to run the default browser, it correctly runs inside Sandboxie.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2021
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,804
    Location:
    UK
    Win 10 21H2 Classic 5.55 had a BSOD.

    On Thu 25/11/2021 15:43:01 your computer crashed or a problem was reported
    crash dump file: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\112521-14359-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: sbiedrv.sys (0xFFFFF80484644500)
    Bugcheck code: 0x50 (0xFFFFD78831615000, 0x0, 0xFFFFF80484644500, 0x0)
    Error: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
    file path: C:\Program Files\Sandboxie\SbieDrv.sys
    product: Sandboxie
    company: sandboxie-plus.com
    description: Sandboxie Kernel Mode Driver
    Bug check description: This indicates that invalid system memory has been referenced.
    This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    A third party driver was identified as the probable root cause of this system error. It is suggested you look for an update for the following driver: sbiedrv.sys (Sandboxie Kernel Mode Driver, sandboxie-plus.com).

    @DavidXanatos
    I shall send you a link to the minidmp in a pm.
     
  12. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Do you by any chance run Intel-Iris-Xe-graphics and have HardwareAcceleration set to "ON" (default)?

    In such an environment for me Chromium-based browsers with engine v.95 and above won't launch either.
     
  13. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    New Zealand
    @algol1 Chrome, Edge & Brave all load and work fine for me on my machine with Iris Xe graphics & HW acceleration enabled. Sandboxie 0.9.8d. Haven't got round to updating to 1.0 on that one yet, but I read you've been having this issue prior to 1.0, so....
    OS is Win10 on my Iris Xe machine.
     
  14. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Fine if it works for you. Actually I've been replying to @lunarlander for whom it doesn't to maybe give him a hint that he might have run into the same problems as I do. Because for me it doesn't work (in Sbie-standard-default box on a win10_pro_for_Workstations system with Intel-Iris-Xe-graphics and an 11th-gen-Intel-processor). This refusal to launch Chromium-based-browser has been (reproducibly) introduced by Chromium-engine being updatet to v.95.

    Of course it is interesting to compare your configuration - which seemingly doesn't show this issue - to mine (and maybe others) which do. But still - the fact that you don't have problems doesn't make mine go away.

    Addendum: interestingly enough - as with the 11th-gen-Intel-engine Sbie-incompatibility-problems with "CET/Stack Protection" solved earlier this year by @DavidXanatos - MS-Edge was then and is not now affected by those launch-refusal-Chromium-problems and WILL run with "HW-acceleration=ON", even in v.96, without any hassle, while Chrome itself and Opera won't.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2021
  15. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Oh my gosh. I never said my experience would make yours go away, and I'm aware you were talking to another user. But this is a forum and we share to help others and of course the developer in finding the cause of issues.

    "Of course it is interesting to compare your configuration - which seemingly doesn't show this issue - to mine (and maybe others) which do." << Yeah that was all I was trying to do. Let you know that for me Chrome browsers with Iris Xe & HW acceleration were working OK, in the hopes that that might help in perhaps looking at another cause or possibility, or perhaps in combination. I was actually trying to help. Please watch your tone.
     
  16. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    That's what I'm doing all the time. I strongly suggest you do the same.
     
  17. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    New Zealand
    My "tone" was in response to your snarky response to me, which was totally uncalled for. If it was me with a browser refusing to launch and I was suspecting my GPU combined with a particular settings as a cause, I would actually appreciate knowing about anyone with that same GPU & setting not having an issue, as well as those that might, in an effort to try and narrow down the cause. It's called helping. I'm not sure why you took it as some kind of attack.

    Since you don't appear to be owning your rudeness and this is not the first time you've been unnecessarily snarky to me (previously I've not taken the bait), I'm going to ask you to to refrain from replying to me and save your snark for someone else. Someone deserving perhaps. In future I shall refrain from contributing to issues you post about since my replies don't appear to be welcome.

    Sorry other forum members. Back on topic.
     
  18. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    It has been the "master himself" who brought the GPU into play as a suspect - and it is not combined with any particular setting other than default.

    Other than that - again squeamishness and reproof, also uncalled for. After all it was you who didn't refrain from replying to my answer to someone else in an unsolicited, little helpful way, kind of boasting that you didn't have problems at all in a comparable environment. To me it sounded an awful lot like thereby calling ours into question.

    Refraining from replying to your statements will be gladly accepted, yet only on condition of reciprocity.
     
  19. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,392
    Location:
    Viena

    Well fixing most compatibility issues is not part any rad map they are fixed as they come along, hence no major bug fixed in the 1.0.0 build I tried to cram all i could into the previous 9.x.x builds. I cant work on the Intel-Iris-Xe-graphics issue as I don't have a matching system yet.

    The check boxes are on my todo, but its a bigger change as ideally i should add them for all the lists in the box options.
     
  20. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    504
    Location:
    Austria
    Just a short general remark to the conflict above:
    That's my opinion too.

    Therefore an information like the following is not something bad. On the contrary - it may be potentially useful for other people:
    --> User "lu" reports a problem --> user "al" mentions a possible cause for the issue, based on his experience --> user "ca" reports a different experience.

    So @algol1, please try to see it so simple and harmless (as it was obviously intended by catspyjamas).

    Because we should avoid such consequences:
    It could mean a loss of useful information for others. ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2021
  21. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Thank you for your calming words.
    And I explicitly said so.
    If it only were that.;) But then we already knew that, right? FYI see:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/sandboxie-plus-0-9-8.441287/page-3#post-3045657
    What I don't appreciate are those constant insinuations that I somehow blew it myself by making some stupid configuration-changes to introduce the problem.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2021
  22. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Thanks a lot for the information. Will be waiting patiently. Although some inner voice tells me that the issue might not be related to Intel-Iris-Xe-graphics as much as to another incompatibility in old Sbie-code concerning 11th-gen-Intel-CPUs and "CET/Stack Protection".

    Ideally, yes, but for the browser-update-problem described earlier it would be a giant leap in usability to have them in the GUI-forced-folders section alone to begin with. Because from my point of view that would be where they are needed most.
     
  23. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    504
    Location:
    Austria
    Yes, such insinuations can be really annoying and some people have indeed the attitude to react automatically with something like "On my system it works fine. So you must have made a mistake if it does not work on your system." I do not like this too and so I understand fully what you mean. But I am sure that catspyjamas did not write with such an attitude. That's not only my interpretation of her posts but also the conclusion from her explicit statement above:

    I think you can (and you should) trust her statement. ;)

    Sandboxie and David deserve users who cooperate; and we all benefit when you report us your experiences - either the ones of the type "I have a problem" or the positive ones like "For me it works o.k.".

    Indeed I wonder about myself. Usually I am no big fan of harmony. That must be the magic of Sandboxie. :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2021
  24. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Thanks @Peter 123

    Your interpretation of my intent is correct. I actually have never insinuated once, let alone constantly, that they have done something stupid or changed any settings, including in the new comment linked above from a month ago. Rather baffled to learn that it was taken that way, but that does explain the attitude that followed in subsequent comments. Again, on that occasion my intent was to offer help and a possible reason why a sandbox may suddenly become corrupt, when that was offered as a possible reason for the problem. A browser update took place behind the scenes for me once while running in a sandbox, and it resulted in a corrupted sandbox. The side effect of that was an inability to launch the new version of the browser in the affected box, but I could do so from a newly created one. Have also heard of a similar problem when updating from one version of SB to another, when the sandbox isn't fully emptied (which I've found on rare occasions can happen in spite of settings to automatically delete the sandbox).

    I'm not sure how my words were taken to be an attack in that comment either, but I have no control over how someone chooses to receive something and respond. Once I have explained my intent, if they continue to take it as something otherwise, that's on them. I'm not taking this personally from here. It's starting to seem as though I've become a target for other frustrations. My integrity is intact.

    btw I'm a girl :)

    I'd forgotten that comment a month ago as linked above, so forgotten that I'd already advised David/anyone affected that my own 11th gen machine with Iris Xe was launching all Chromium browsers OK, including with HW acceleration enabled as per default settings. I wouldn't have shared my experience yesterday if I'd remembered already saying that. If I do run into problems in future I will continue to report it here, because I would like to share useful information that may help others or help David troubleshoot bugs. But I will make comments generally. I won't invite grief by directing comments to anyone who is going to disrespect me in return. (That's actually only one person).

    I'm going to trust that if anyone n the forum takes something I've said in a boastful/blaming/attacking or otherwise negative way, that they ask me what I mean and what my intention is, me rather than assume my intent.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2021
  25. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    504
    Location:
    Austria
    First of all:
    Sorry for my opposite assumption. Computer matters are still more associated with males. Obviously for this reason I think usually of a male, unless the user name (or the picture in an avatar) indicates a female member. ;) [I have corrected now the "his" to "her" in my above post.]

    I hope that you two will also find to a reconciliation. (If not here in public, perhaps by PM.)

    That's a good suggestion, I think. :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.