Sandboxie Plus 0.9.6

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Sep 12, 2021.

  1. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    This release fixes an incompatibility with windows 11 build 22449 as well as fixes many bugs, it also improves a lot on the recovery feature and adds some minor otehr UI features.

    If you have issues with an update installation, just uninstall the previous version keeping the sandboxie.ini and reinstall the new build.

    Download: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.9.6

    Changelog

    Added
    • added ability to rename groups #1152
    • added ability to define a custom order for the sandboxes, you can move using the move context menu, or holding alt + arrow key
    • added recovery to list to the recovery window: #988
    • added finder to the recovery window
    Changed
    • updated the BlockPort rule inside Template_BlockPorts to the new NetworkAccess format (by isaak654) #1162
    • default for immediate recovery behavioure is now th show the recovery window instzead of using the notifications window #988
    • the new run dialog now takes double click #1171
    • reworked the recovery window
    Fixed
    • fixed issue with create group menu #1151
    • fixed issue when renaming a box it lost its group association
    • fixed issue with Thunderbird build 91+ #1156
    • fixed an issue with file disposition handling #1161
    • fixed issue with windows 11 22449.1000 #1164
    • fixed SRWare Iron template (by Dyras) #1146
    • fixed labels position in Classic UI (by isaak654) #1088
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,306
    Location:
    UK
    Updated to 5.51.6 Classic on one machine and 0.9.6 Plus on another.
    Both seem to be running okay.

    Is there a reason why I have to agree to the License Agreement on the Plus installer but not on the Classic ?
    I don't get a License Agreement on the Classic Installer.
     
  3. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    booth should have one may be a bug with the install script
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,433
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, but still no fix for SpyShelter and GhostPress, a bit disappointing. But to be honest, I don't always upgrade straight away, as long as Sandboxie is working fine, it's all good.
     
  5. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    In general all seems well with v0.9.6, no major complications observed so fat.

    There seemingly have been introduced two minor inconveniences with the upgrade in connection with "immediate recovery" which beg 2 questions.

    1. The pop-up window in the lower right corner for immediate recovery seems to be gone for good. Or is there any hidden option to bring it back? In the new version everything seems to be handled by the main "quick recovery"-window. No big deal for me - except one small inconvenience: contrary to the dedicated immediate-recovery-pop-up which had been dedicated to only one (the last) file downloaded this file is no longer "auto-selected" in the quick-window which means one more mouse-click is necessary for each file downloaded to first select that last file before being able to recover it. Could that be easily remedied - or am I missing something?

    2. Likewise, after recovery of that last file the dedicated "immediate-pop-up" did close-down automatically. Contrary to that behavior the more comprehensive "quick-window" - while allowing for more complex operations - will stay open to wait for further instructions. As a consequence however for each file downloaded in the immediate manner another additional mouse-click will be necessary to manually closing that window down afterwards.

    As I have said - only 2 minor inconveniences - but in order to streamline a load of multiple file-downloads, since any additional per-file-mouse-click could possibly multiply by a factor of 10 or even hundreds, I have to admit that "the old way" seems having been a little bit more efficient in that regard. Just my 2 cents.
     
  6. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    @algol1

    Ther eshould be a setting to being back the old behavioure, i my have not merget that into the release tree sory for that, it will be in the next build, ald allow to have the ond behavioure, you can use an ini setting right now in the sandboxie-plus.ini

    [Options]
    InstantRecovery=0
     
  7. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    @DavidXanatos Tested looks all fine. Games OK, BTW I did with the last SB a new no mans sky box and it runs fine. Can be one of the typical creepy DLLs or whatever, which "messed" the GOG box up. One of the reasons I like SB, even hardcore games run, at least if they are DRM free, Dumbnovo prot. not sure, but DLLs and packs don't mess the system.

    Also grouping is looking OK now, create, rename, move in, delete and boxes stay out again. Well done.
     
  8. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
  9. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,073
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Installed Classic this time--build 5.51.6--and boxed Edge with it. So far: way better than I expected given my prior issues, esp with Plus. Thanks. It's nice to have Sandboxie back on here. :)
     
  10. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    uk
    Immediate recovery not working for me? And No "recover and explore" or "recover and run" options in file recovery? No time to investigate.
     
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,306
    Location:
    UK
  12. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    uk
  13. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    this is an option for the Sandboxie-Plus.ini in the ap data not the old sandboxie.ini under windows
     
  14. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,073
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    These are just some idle comments b/c I haven't run Edge sandboxed before now. Searched the forum a bit before posting.

    Seems one cannot enable Drop Rights without errors while running Edge boxed, correct? OK, fine. However, if I'm on the About Microsoft Edge page just wanting to get the version number, there's an Edge error message and an Sbie error message 2191 scolding you for trying to update inside Sandboxie. I'm simply looking for the version number. Too bad there's no toggle or "update" button which could then invoke the error message when you click it instead of automatically appearing as soon as you open the page.

    Edit: is there any way to detect whether Edge is downloading an update and then that error 2191 could happen?

    Hiding this SBIE message doesn't do diddly-doo. Classic version on Windows 11/Edge v. 93

    sbieandedgeupdate.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2021
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    I'll open Edge session with Disable Forced to check Edge version, update Edge, update extensions...etc.
    I run Edge with Drop Rights. I have several SbieCtrl_HideMessage= for Edge.
    Just sharing.
     
  16. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,073
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Right, so do I. My point was: if you merely go to that page to get say, the version number while Edge is boxed, you get the error 2191. It would be nice if that error box occurred only when there's an update in the queue, not every time you open "About Microsoft Edge.' Too bad the Edge update schedule isn't set in stone, right? Anyway, it was just an observation.

    OK, that's good. I'll try to hide more messages, then, to get to that point. Thanks! :) I think I got that idea while looking at an older SBIE thread.
     
  17. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    uk
    Hurrah, thank you David! :thumb: :D

    I missed it was a -Plus.ini setting - is it available from within Sandman-Plus, or just direct, for editing? I've only ever edited the original ini file.

    [Edit] and thank you stapp for the pointer
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2021
  18. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    it was ment to be in the settings window but i mist to pull that change into the current release
    so it will be in the next
    for nor you need to edit
     
  19. Ritzter007

    Ritzter007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I have installed V-0.9.6 in hopes that it would fix my issue of the Chrome browser not launching when sandboxed. It didn't resolve the problem. Chrome still won't launch. Current Chrome version: 93.0.4577.82 (64 bit). I have uninstalled & reinstalled Sandboxie and Chrome. I don't know what else to do or what I'm missing. Thanks for your help.
     
  20. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,306
    Location:
    UK
    I am using Sbie 0.9.6. on Vivaldi. It has Chrome 93.0.4577.83 on it. and it runs no problem.
    However I sometimes have to make sure that Vivaldi is fully updated unsandboxed or it won't run sandboxed. This is because for me Vivaldi is downloading the update in the background and waiting for me to install it.
    Sbie-plus must somehow sense this and won't run until I do.
     
  21. Ritzter007

    Ritzter007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    My default browser is Firefox and it launches and works without issue. When I try to launch Chrome the window stays blank and gives a Google Chrome (Not Responding) message. Chrome launches with no issues when unsandboxed.
    upload_2021-9-20_10-29-11.png
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,306
    Location:
    UK
    @Ritzter007
    What operating system are you using?
    Did sbie-plus work for you before? If yes, which build stopped working?
    Did you try fully uninstalling Plus including .ini file before installing new build (save it first elsewhere if you need to)
     
  23. Ritzter007

    Ritzter007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I'm not sure where to look for the .ini file
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,306
    Location:
    UK
    On Plus I think it's in a couple of places (I'm on a Classic machine at the moment as I type this)

    C\Windows\sandbox.ini (scroll right down to see it)
    c\users\yourname\AppData\Local\Sbieplus\sandbox.ini
    Reboot
     
  25. Ritzter007

    Ritzter007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I've followed the suggested steps. Chrome still won't launch. It remains in a white window status. Something in the Sandboxie code is not letting Chrome load. This is beyond my pay grade.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.