Sandboxie Plus 0.8.5

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Jul 6, 2021.

  1. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    https://user-images.githubusercontent.com/3890945/105014988-575cb680-5a41-11eb-90d5-d942d28184b2.png

    This build reworks some internal mechanisms and fixes a lot of bugs as well as some new features.

    If you have issues with an update installation, just uninstall the previous version keeping the sandboxie.ini and reinstall the new build.

    Download:
    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.8.7b
    Download: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.8.6
    Download: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.8.5


    Changelog 0.8.7b

    Fixed

    • fixed issue with boxes that head auto delete activated introduced in the previous build

    Changelog 0.8.7

    Added
    • added option to always auto pick the DefautlBox sandbox #959
      -- when this option is enabled the normal behavioure with a box selection dialog can be achived holding down CTRL
    • added option to hide boxed form the run in box dialog
      -- usefull to avoidl listing for example insecure compatybility test boxes
    • added box options to sys tray #439 #272
    Changed
    • changed default terminate all boxed processes key from Ctrl+Break to Ctrl+Alt+Break #974
    • start.exe does no longer link in all that unused MFC code reduced file size form over 2.5MB to below 250KB
    • updated the main sandman and tray icon #963
    • improved the bov view tree style
    Fixed
    • added additional delay and retryes to kmdutill.exe to mitigate issues when unloading the driver #968
    • fixed issue with sbiectrl not being properly started after setup #969
    • fixed issue with explore sandboxed shell option #972
    • fixed issue when running sandman elevated #932
    • fixed new box selection dialog showing disabled boxes
    • fixed issue updating box active status
    Removed
    • removed Online Armor support as this product is deprecated since 2016

    Changelog 0.8.6

    Fixed

    • fixed performance bug introduced in 0.8.5

    Changelog 0.8.5

    Added
    • added global hotkey to terminate all boxed processes (by default Ctrl+Break)
    • the Run Sandboxed dialog can now be handled by the Sandman UI.
    • added "AllowBoxedJobs=y" allowing boxed processes to use nested jobs on Windows 8 and later
      -- note: this allows Chrome and other programs to use the job system for additional isolation
    • added librewolf.exe to the list of Firefox derivatives #927
    • added run regedit sandboxed menu command
    • added new support settings tab to Sandman UI for updates and stuff
    • added code integrity verification to Sbie service and UI
    • added template for Vivaldi Notes (by isaak654) #948
    Changed
    • Replaced the Process List used by the driver with a much faster Hash Map implementation
      -- Note: this change provides an almost static system call speed of 1.2us irregardless of the running process count
      -- The old list, with 100 programs running required: 4.5µs; with 200: 12µs; and with 300: 18µs per syscall
      -- Note: some of the slowdown was affecting also non sandboxed applications due to how the driver handles certain callbacks
    • Replaced the per-process Thread List used by the driver with a much faster Hash Map implementation
    • Replaced configuration section list with a hash map to improve configuration performance, and increased line limit to 100000
      -- not yet enabled in production build
    • the presence of default box is only checked on connect
    • the portable dir dialog now shows the directory #924
    • when terminated boxed processes now we first try doing that by terminating the job object
    • the driver now by default can terminate problematic processes without the help of the service
    • box delete routine now retries up to 10 times to fix #954
    • Replaced the Process List used by the service with a much faster Hash Map implementation
    • Replaced the per-process Thread List used by the service with a much faster Hash Map implementation
    Fixed
    • fixed faulty initialization in SetServiceStatus (by flamencist) #921
    • fixed buttons position in Classic UI settings (by isaak654) #914
    • fixed missing password length check in the Sandman UI #925
    • fixed issues opening job objects by name
    • fixed missing permission check when reopening job object handles (thanks Diversenok)
    • fixed issue with some Chromium 90+ hooks affecting PDF plugin in derived browsers #930 #817
    • fixed issues with reconnecting broken LPC ports used for communication with SbieSvc
    • fixed minor setting issue #957
    • fixed minor UI issue with resource access COM settings #958
    • fixed an issue with NtQueryKey using NtQueryObject instead #951
    • fixed crash in key.c when failing to resolve key paths
    • added workaround for topmost modality issue #873
      -- the notification window is not only topmost for 5 seconds
    • fixed an issue deleting directories introduced in 5.49.5
    • fixed an issue with box copies
    Removed
    • removed switch for "BlockPassword=n" as it does not seem to be working #938
      -- it's recommended to use "OpenSamEndpoint=y" to allow for password change in windows 10
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2021
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,300
    Location:
    UK
    64 bit Classic 5.50.5 installed 'over the top'.
    First opening of Vivaldi sbie'd resulted in a white page. Closed window, opened Vivaldi unsandboxed, closed it, then opened Vivaldi sbie'd.
    No problem now at all. Runs fine. Edge also runs fine sandboxed.

    Off to update new plus version on another machine.
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,300
    Location:
    UK
    64 bit Plus 0.8.5 installed 'over the top'
    When I right click and select Run Sandboxed on Vivaldi or Edge I get this. How do I proceed?
    I have 2 sandboxes called Default and Tester, Neither are listed.
    Screenshot 2021-07-06 083058.jpg
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,300
    Location:
    UK
    Okay I have solved the Plus issue above on my machine.
    I did a restart of the machine which then shows the Sandboxes in the list shown in the screenshot.
     
  5. superkryo

    superkryo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2021
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Anywhere
    Many thanks for continuing your work on Sandboxie. Running the plus in portable mode, 0.8.5 seems to run sandboxed apps a tad slower, less snappy. It's a feeling only, haven't done a quantitative check. Reverting back to 0.8.2, the difference is noticeable to me
     
  6. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    I can confirm the performance issue and the reason is a peace of debug code that weaseled its way into teh production build.
    There will be a hotfix release soon... stay tuned....
     
  7. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,073
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thanks because I have to uninstall 0.8.5, Firefox is almost unusable due to severe input lag and much slower opening. Also, every time I open Firefox, I get this message box. Went back to prior build.

    sbie catroot.PNG
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,977
    that folder is driver related, not firefox. firefox do not load such file here, sandboxie copy only "dberr.txt". needs to be verified with win10 x64. edit: no, also not on 10pro x64
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2021
  9. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    As expected - after no mention of fixed Chromium-issues in the changelog - I'm sorry for having to report that the presumed "11th-gen-Intel"-issue has not been resolved in this latest build.

    Here current Chrome itself as well as latest Opera-versions making use of Chromium-engine >=v.90 continue refusing to launch sandboxed with the same notorious error messages reported in previous posts.
     
  10. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
    yea also the newest intel machine i have at work bough just a couple months ago is a 9th gen

    so i need someone with an 11gen machine and remote access....
     
  11. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Didn't someone already offer that? Seems he somehow had forgotten the appointment as he later on explained in a previous thread.
     
  12. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,300
    Location:
    UK
    Can it go over the top of the 'broken' build?
     
  14. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,099
    Location:
    Viena
  15. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,300
    Location:
    UK
    Confirmed ok using update on Classic.
    Will update Plus over the top on other machine now.
     
  16. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,300
    Location:
    UK
    Plus running now 0.8.6
    After install over the top I right-clicked Vivaldi and selected run Sandboxed.
    Got the screenshot below.
    Closed the message and immediately tried again, everything was okay.
    Screenshot 2021-07-07 075512.jpg
     
  17. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    154
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Sandboxie Plus 0.8.6. all good on my machines thanks David. No errors this end on launching, but I make it a habit to reboot after the installation finishes, which might be why...
     
  18. soccerfan

    soccerfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Posts:
    199
    Thank you so much for implementing this very useful feature!
     
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,073
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Installed over 0.8.2, everything's back to normal. Thanks for the prompt fix.
     
  20. sevenstar

    sevenstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    Thanks for your continued work on Sandboxie. :D
     
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    0.8.6 install over 0.8.2
    png_11189.png
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,300
    Location:
    UK
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    Yes, I had read your post. Just sharing similar event.
    Edit:
    Trying to find global hotkey to terminate all boxed processes on my Dell Lappy? Dell document says Fn + B keys for Pause/Break function.
    Fn + B does not work for me? No biggy.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2021
  24. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,073
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I got that message too when opening Firefox boxed for the first time under 0.8.6. I just closed it and it hasn't been back since. :)
     
  25. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    uk
    For me a reboot and all was ok. I posted a similar message and deleted it once the problem cleared.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.