Sandboxie Plus 0.7

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Feb 15, 2021.

  1. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,473
    Location:
    UK
    In that window for Recovery I just navigate to Downloads after clicking the Add Folder and it will then show Downloads folder for Recovery instead of the long default Windows number (which I then delete)
     
  2. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    387
    Location:
    VPN city
    How's the development been going? Have people been doing penetration tests of Sandboxie Plus? Has any penetration tester clued you in on holes they found?
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,473
    Location:
    UK
    You can keep up with issue found etc here

    https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/issues
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    The long number appears in Sandbox settings ONLY when you allow Direct or Full access to your user Windows Downloads folder. It doesn't show in Recovery regardless of what you do with it. FWIW, in my opinion, it doesn't matter what it shows for the Downloads folder in Sandbox settings>Resource access>File access>Direct or Full, as long as the setting works as its supposed to (which it always has).

    Bo
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,473
    Location:
    UK
    Are you sure the long number doesn't appear in Recovery options?
    I'm talking 5.49.5 here not 5.33.6
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    With 5.33.6 the number doesn't show in Recovery. I know bjm posted a picture that shows the number in the Recovery window so maybe it shows with 5.49.5 (depending on how you add the folder, see bjm post 150, read line at bottom). But regardless, it doesnt matter what it shows (IMO). :)

    Bo
     
  7. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    USA
    5.49.5 is great. Fixed several things including the conflict between Roboform and HMPA which was a major PITA here. Firefox seems faster too.
    Excellent work David.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,593
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see, so it's caused by Windows itself. Then it will most likely work the same in Sandboxie Plus. But like you said, you can always create your own folder with a name of your choice, so I guess it's not a big deal.
     
  9. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    Viena
    As the previous build changed a lot it was only a pre-release, here is the final build :D

    Download: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.7.4

    Changelog

    Added

    • added option to disable file migration prompt
    • added UI options for variouse security isolation features
    • added missing functionality to set template values in the plus UI

    Changed

    • Align default settings of AutoRecover and Favorites to the Plus version (thanks isaak654)
    • list of email clients and browsers is now centralized on Dll_GetImageType

    Fixed

    • fixed minor issue with logging internet blocks
    • fixed issue with file recovery when located on a network share
    • fixed ui issue with CallTrace
    • fixed crated sandbox links gettign double extension
    • fixed misplaced labels in the classic ui (thanks isaak654)
    • fixed separator line in Sbiectrl (thanks isaak654)
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,473
    Location:
    UK
    Build 0.7.4 plus on one machine, and 5.49.7 classic on another machine installed without issues over the top of previous build.

    Thanks for the hard work David.
     
  11. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,152
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    OK, installed the release version of .0.7.4 Plus over the existing build, had to jump thru a couple of SmartScreen hoops plus do the hoops for the Feedback (why do I think this is a safe file?)

    Done! Good stuff. :thumb:
     
  12. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    990
    No problems updating/upgrading v5.49.7 (no SmartScreen-alert). Thanks David.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2021
  13. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Any "core" changes/differences from this one 5.49.7 compared to the pre-release 5.49.5 classic? Because 5.49.5 has been rock solid for me.
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,473
    Location:
    UK
    Win 10 20H2 using Plus version of Sandboxie.
    This happens with 0.7.4 and the previous build.
    I have fast start up turned off and when I do a cold boot in the morning and open my browser sandboxed, I see this sbie message in bottom right hand side of browser window.
    Only happens on first use of the browser in the day.
    Anyone else seen this?
    EDIT>> I did replace the contents of the catroot2 folder in case it was corrupted... but it wasn't, same thing happened.
    Screenshot 2021-04-14 052435.jpg
     
  15. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    Excellent, magnificent, grandiose, superb job so far @DavidXanatos , Sophos' Invimcea's development (underdevelopment?) was nothing compared.
     
  16. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,152
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    No, stapp, nothing like that here--that certainly seems unusual. Using Firefox here but maybe that's irrelevant.

    I'm keeping my eye on another potential issue where Firefox crashes and a white error box names Internet Explorer as part of the error message. If it happens again, I'll give more info but so far, this has been a very good experience w/latest SBIE. Thanks again, DavidXanatos. :)
    ff crash sbie error.PNG
     
  17. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,473
    Location:
    UK
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,593
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, a general question but is it possible that sometimes a sandbox gets corrupted? I'm having weird problems with files that won't open and stuff. Or does this perhaps mean that there is something about to go wrong with my SSD? I'm purely talking about the folder that I save all of my downloaded files in. It's mostly EXE, ZIP, JPEG and MP4 files.
     
  19. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,559
    I am currently using Sandboxie x64 5.33.1 which I had obtained from Sophos. This version no longer works on Windows 10 with the latest Full Windows Update (20H2).

    Questions:
    1. What Sandboxie version should I switch to?
    2. Do I need to fully uninstall 5.33.1 and the install the new version or can I just install on top of 5.33.1?
    3. If I need to do a full uninstall, will a backup of the Sandboxie ini file work on the new version or do I need to rebuild from scratch?
    4. Any other tips/suggestions?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2021
  20. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hi @DavidXanatos

    Since updating to Edge 90.0.818.39, Brave 90.1.23.71, Chrome 90.0.4430.72 I can no longer open these browsers with Sandboxie 5.49.7 x64bit on one of my laptops. Sandboxie 5.49.7x64 worked fine with the previous versions of all three browsers. All browsers were updated outside of Sandboxie, and the contents of the sandboxes were emptied prior to updating (I have auto empty enabled, but always double check).

    When I launch these browsers I get an error window pop up, which I cannot progress from. Closing the error windows just closes the error, but no browser opens. Leaving the error to see if it rights itself doesn't work - I have left it 1 hour but the error remains and no browser opens.

    This is the error, which is the same on all three browsers:

    Chrome sandboxie error.PNG

    Steps I've tried include trying various sandboxes, rebooting, running c-cleaner, uninstalling and reinstalling both Sandboxie and Chrome (including previous versions of Sandboxie and starting over with a new ini file), running a SFC & DSIM restore health command. Windows version 20H2 19042.928. Windows Defender only. Only sandboxie settings I've changed is to allow autorecovery and auto delete of the sandbox on recovery, otherwise it's out of the box. None of these things have worked.

    (I made a post about Chrome failing yesterday, but since it's now affecting other Chrome browsers on that machine I thought I'd start over rather than make my lengthy post lengthier).
     
  21. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Yes, sometimes sandboxes get corrupted. It's rare but it can happen. A good practice that helps avoid developing corruption in sandboxes is to get in the habit of using dedicated sandboxes for each program (run programs in separate sandboxes). Obviously in your download folder sandbox all kind of programs are going to run and that is the way its supposed to be.so that good practice don't apply to Force folders. In my personal case use, I never had a corrupted sandbox that is used for forcing a folder (Download folder, USB drives, etc).

    All Exe's with no exception, should run sandboxed when located in a forced folder. Zip files, if your default program is 7Zip or WinRar, files should run sandboxed out of a forced folder. Years ago, there was a glitch with 7Zip, files would not run sandboxed but that was fixed. If you are using Windows to open Zip files, I think (and maybe I am wrong, and dont want to test, I am using memory on this) I think Windows opens Zip files using File explorer, then there might be a problem and files will not run sandboxed out of a forced folder. So, to take care of this old known glitch (nothing can be done about it), you have to switch to using something like 7Zip or Win Rar as your default program for Zip files. For JPEG and MP4, if you default programs are the Apps, they will not run sandboxed as they are not compatible with SBIE. To solve this issue, you have to switch to using a program like Irfan view or KMPlayer or VLC or something like that. And make this programs your default picture and video players or viewer.

    Bo
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    As far as I knew, 5.33.1 has been obsolete in W10 with latest updates for a long while but Version 5.33.6 works fine in 20H2 in W10 with latest updates. If this is what you want, finding the installer should be easy. If it's not, just ask.

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
  23. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    186
    Location:
    uk
    And Office/Excel 365 is bust too by the latest MS updates - could be Windows, could be Office I suppose.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2021
  24. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,972
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    @DavidXanatos

    I can no longer use Chrome-based browser with SBIE 5.49.7 either. I think the issue started with chrome version 90 because any version about that will not run in sbie; things act like they are going to load but never do. Using Vivaldi, chrome base 90.0.4430.58, nothing loads at all. I am also using Windows version 20H2 19042.928.
     
  25. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yeah it's 100% a Chrome 90.x issue. At first for me it was only Google Chrome that wasn't working, it started when it moved from version 89.x to 90.x. I get the attached error in my post when I try and launch it in Sandboxie. Then as other Chrome browsers have updated to 90.x, they too, now fail to open with the same error. Vivaldi still works for me, but that is still on v 89.x on my machine. It's not a Sandboxie 5.49.7 thing because all Chrome based browsers worked fine on 5.49.7 until they updated from 89.x to 90.x. Also, I've tested clean installs of 5.49.5 and 5.49 , but they fail too. FF and all other apps behave as expected though.

    What I don't understand is why it's just one machine for me - my fastest and newest one. All my machines are configured identically in terms of updates, settings and software. The only difference between the working ones and not working one, is that the not working one has an 11th gen CPU and Iris Xe graphics (though not sure what that would have to do with it - probably nothing).
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.