Sandboxie Plus 0.7

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Feb 15, 2021.

  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,968
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    That's not a switch for sbie. That's a switch for thinderbird. Add it to "c:\program files\testdir/thunderbird.exe" --disable-gpu-sandbox, as an example.
     
  2. The Count

    The Count Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    176
    Location:
    France
    Did you manage to get Brave working? I am having the same "Aw Snap" message after updating Brave.
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,542
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for the update. And BTW, if you have the time perhaps you can look into a certain problem, turns out that anti-loggers can't protect sandboxed browsers. SpyShelter, KeyScrambler and GhostPress all have problems, seems like they can't ''see'' sandboxed applications and thus can't protect. So perhaps they need ''interprocess communications access'' to sandboxed processes.
     
  4. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    186
    Location:
    uk
    Sadly, doesn't work for me. Looks like SBIE is having increasing compatibility problems - add to Office 365 which won't run under SBIE
     
  5. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I don't know about the other softs you mention, but I am having no problems with Keyscrambler in any of my Chromium browsers or with Firefox. Using Sandboxie Classic 5.49.7, Keyscrambler Personal 3.15.0.0 and all latest stable versions of browsers.

    Version 90.x of Brave and Vivaldi are borked on all my machines with Sandboxie atm, and also Chrome on my machine with 11th gen processors (likely due to this). Nothing to do with Keyscrambler though. If the browser works with Sandboxie, then for me Keyscrambler does too, in other words.

    I think there is an option in Sandboxie to allow Sandboxie to work with Keyscarmbler. If you go to tools >software compatibility in Sandboxie control, you should see Keyscrambler listed with a + by it. If it's not there you may have to add it (not sure how to do that though - someone else might know).
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,005
    Some processes need localhost communication ports, in general its a 127.0.0.1:<port> And that will work within sandboxie, in+out, if you haven't locked it. Vivaldi is running here, but admin rights are mandatory.
     
  7. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Since Sbie is a free tool it would be unbecoming to make any demands and I have no intention of doing so.

    However, given the present situation of increasing incompatibility observed with updated browsers, it would be nice to hear from @DavidXanatos about the current "state of play" and if he already had time and a chance of looking into that matter or even could provide us with a realistic estimate, how complicated these problems are and until when a fix could be expected.

    We understand that a bread-winning daytime-job has absolute priority - but still, any info about this serious "hobby-activity" would be highly appreciated.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,542
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    LOL thanks, totally forgot about this feature probably because I never had to use it before. You're right, when this feature is enabled, KeyScrambler works just fine. So it would be cool if David Xanatos could also make new compatibility settings for GhostPress and SpyShelter.

    Yes correct, the newest Vivaldi als doesn't work sandboxed anymore on both Sandboxie 5.33 and 5.45, I'm sure this will be fixed. For me it's not a big problem because I have no problems with using older versions of browsers.
     
  9. Stelica

    Stelica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Romania
    For me, Edge 91 and Chrome 91 works sandboxed.
    I do not use Vivaldi.
    Windows 21H1 Pro
    Sandboxie Classic 5.49.7
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2021
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,005
    Vivaldi is the culprit, not sandboxie ;)
    Chromium is working either. But i dont use any keyscrambler, ghoster nor password tool which may need to inject a module.
     
  11. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Please support "MY" browser that has a 0.001% market share!
     
  12. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Would you mind telling us EXACTLY WHICH super-exotic browser you are talking about and (ironically?) cry for support of?

    Chrome itself - which will start no longer sandboxed on many machines using Chromium engine v90 or higher, as reported in this thread, would appear having a market share of even slightly in excess of one full percent.:rolleyes:
     
  13. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
    Just use your head a little, try reading above some and figure it out yourself, do you really think I'm talking about Chrome here?

    https://kinsta.com/browser-market-share/
    (and I'm sure you can find many other sources for "browser market share" as well, well maybe not...:rolleyes:)
     
  14. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    usa
    The following browsers are still working with David's Sandboxie and are not "Google Chrome".
    (And I like it).

    Maiar
    Dissenter
    SRWare Iron
    UR.
    Even FIREFOX.
     
  15. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    386
    Location:
    VPN city
    I can't log into firefox sync from a sandboxed firefox anymore. Happens with the latest stable firefox.
     
  16. EspressoGuy

    EspressoGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    When I went to the GitHub website today to look for the latest version, I got a red warning page in Chrome about dangerous software that may change your system without your knowledge. I clicked through to the site and the Chrome address bar has a red Dangerous to the left of the URL. I did not experience this the last time I went to David's GitHub site in early March. Is this something new in Chrome or is there a problem with David's releases?
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,995
    Location:
    .
    You'll see a warning if the content you're trying to see is dangerous or deceptive. These sites are often called "phishing" or "malware" sites.
    https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/99020/manage-warnings-about-unsafe-sites-computer

    New protections for Enhanced Safe Browsing users in Chrome - June 3, 2021
    https://security.googleblog.com/2021/06/new-protections-for-enhanced-safe.html

    Maybe, pull Sandboxie+ from:
    https://sandboxie-plus.com/downloads/
    File: Sandboxie-Plus-x64-v0.7.4.exe
    File size: 15.7 MB (16,436,888 bytes)
    MD5 checksum: AB64D6DE05ED0783C5B593AA48950528
    SHA256 checksum: C48E23D3DB8AD3023E3FA477A9B9FC3994A69CA52C667717559BFBD3E9D403C8

    File: Sandboxie-Classic-x64-v5.49.7.exe
    File size: 2.81 MB (2,950,520 bytes)
    MD5 checksum: 73E622FC58623C85D28EDAF52A12C0B3
    SHA256 checksum: E754C0CC4F4F6B0CCA6A52DA7A9FD6F3734E6A4E65FBB993F3D58E9CB751EB13
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2021
  18. dekey

    dekey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    .
    Why does sandboxie not delete files directly but instead into the $RECYCLE.BIN folder created inside the box?
     
  19. EspressoGuy

    EspressoGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    I have David's classic installed. If I want to replace it with plus, do I simply install plus and it will overwrite classic? Or do I first need to uninstall classic?
     
  20. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,005
    I second that.
    (although firefox is not boxed here)
     
  21. Monica2000

    Monica2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Spain
    Is Firefox installed out or inside a sandbox? Because i can log in into Firefox Sync unsandboxed, and then running Firefox sandboxed (an logged in) normally. Never had that problem, try to log in using a virgin sandbox.

    The only problem using Firefox until now was this: Sbie+ Chromium 90+ compatybility analysis but i fixed it quickly: Sbie+ Firefox .89+ compatybility
     
  22. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    386
    Location:
    VPN city
    always been doing it in a clean sandbox. I log into firefox sync from a sandboxed firefox. That way I can have a totally clean firefox disconnected from my sync for other boxes.
     
  23. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    386
    Location:
    VPN city
    install over the top or clean install, doesn't matter.
     
  24. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,005
    It is a clean box. outside logged in, inside not logged in. (firefox was ended regular each time)
     
  25. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,123
    Location:
    Viena
    This build fixes many issues with chrome and chromium based browsers

    Download: https://github.com/sandboxie-plus/Sandboxie/releases/tag/0.7.5


    ChangeLog
    Added
    • with "OpenClipboard=n" clipboard access for a sandbox can be now disabled
    Changed
    • now by default the OpenBluetooth template is enabled to enable compatybility with unity games
    • "PreferExternalManifest=program.exe,y" can now be set on a per process basis
    Fixed
    • fixed compiled issues with the most recent vs2019 update
    • fixed issue with vivaldi browser
    • fixed some issues with box options in the plus ui
    • fixed some issues with hw acceleration in chromium based browsers
    • the stop all command now issues "kmdutill scandll" first to solve issues when the SbieDll.Dll is in use
    • workaround for electorn apps, by forcing a additional commandline argument on the gpu renderer proces
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.